Tips Needed for Smooth Drive on Manual Transmission

Weixiang_06

for gear 3, i use it for slowing down.... that's the lowest i would go.. and let it roll for tens of metres, below the speed get low <30km/h.. that's where i apply brakes and clutch in.... i seldom engage in the lower gears... not sure whether my method is correct or not... but for me. i find no need to engage to gear 2 for slowing down.. gear 3 sufficient.. then roll until <30km/h then brake in, clutch and complete stop.

your are driving an accent right?

my previous ride was a marchie...

how about half clutch at gear 1, then upshift to gear 2?

mine is diesel engine, so gear 2 still very powerful. that's why if i let go the clutch at gear 1, the vehicle will jerk badly. but if i stick to gear 2, the engine also vibrate badly.

not sure which is the best method too, if half clutch too much also not good for the clutch [dizzy]

Yes mine accent.

For me, i nvr used gear 2 to slow down(unless its downslope). Only for pickup.

Gear 3 is more than enough to brake. 30km/h is gd enough to use brakes fully to bring to stop. Can clutch in. No probs.

For jams, try put to gear 2 and let it roll off by itself. Dun wory, should not stall. Mine can roll at 15km/h at gear 2. It will not stall.

So normally, i creep behind at gear 2. And by the time i reach the car infront, they would have move off. so no braking and continue. [laugh]

Unless the front car complete stop. Then LL gear 1 again. [shakehead]

ur engine vibrate badly @ gear 2 w/o stepping gas?

If u have tat prob, u can always half clutch in with gear 2 as well, then use it like gear 1. should have smoother pace.

usually i just slow down the car purposely to less than 10km/h, then engage 1st gear and catch up. not necessary to maintain constant distance frm the car infront mah [:/]

do that during the jam and the car behind probably think u road hog [shakehead]

driver become more impatient during jam, if cannot keep a close distant with vehicle in front, surly will let other cars cut in (esp cab), then got to jam brake will be even worse [shakehead][shakehead]

[laugh][laugh] No worry lar. let them cut they cut lor. Why u want to keep up with front car. Behind car think u hog? Let them think lor. Safety and wallet more important that those behind cursing u. [laugh][laugh][lipsrsealed]

ya lor.. so i tend to stay away from half clutch... for me, i would prefer the shifts to be clean cut... so upshifting and downshifting is good

but for the downshifting to the lower gears (1st and 2nd) that i usually dun do... its a bit tricky for me... if i want smoothness.. have to use the clutch delay thing... [shakehead]

i dun want premature clutch wear leh...

but i think at least i can pat my shoulder.. coz my friend asking me you are driving a auto ride, i say no... why leh? she said coz feel smooth... but those were in situations without the super massive jams....

come to jam hor, quite a bit different le..

after get used to it i can feel if i should half clutch or let go all the way. the engine wont vibrate at gear 2 or gear 3 w/o stepping gas, provide that the speed match.

think singapore traffic really getting bad to worse... next time, i think i will opt for a auto ride... driving 40 months of manual.. i feel abit tired le... haha...

next time need to keep my left hand free for some other things le...

For jams, try put to gear 2 and let it roll off by itself. Dun wory, should not stall. Mine can roll at 15km/h at gear 2. It will not stall.

provide that you are not on an up slope.

flat or slightly downslope surly can work. if up slope, better change to gear 1, wait engine stall and u start to roll backward [sweatdrop]

Edited by Kwchan

no wory bro. ur clutch is not as weak as u think it is. Anyways, replace clutch is not as exp as serving a broken auto tranny. Auto tranny cost over $3-5k to replace.

mmz.. that was what i taken into consideration... its like the clutch (fully assembly) is 1k right?

and servicing cheaper and simpler compared to auto....

some more, manual more power, better FC... better control.... can use engine brake, reduced brake pad wear and etc.... and cheaper somemore... that's why i chose back a manual again..

If 10km/h and u feel lag in gear 2. Clutch in and rev harder, then release it as if were gear 1. But have to have gd leg muscles. And dun cramp. LOL!!! [:p]