What is the penalty for installing HID kits?

Garlic

Hi guys,

Just wonder, what is the penalty if one is caught with HID lights? Be it during inspection or ROV checks.

Noticed an increasing number of motorists are using aftermarket conversion kits and its really blinding.

Ever saw a Toyota Wish with HID main and fog lamps ... [rifle][rifle]

Anyone ever heard of anybody got pulled over and fined for it? Seems like a lot of people are doing it, and getting away with it.

sure got ppl kena caught la... just tat we havent heard of them yet...

one more trick is those cars due for annual inspection, drivers just changed HID to stock headlights for inspection purpose.

Instead of ROV n TP clamping down hard on those with over-intensify HID that can probably lit up the whole PIE, i think for the safety of our road user, cars with these HIDs should remove it. True, it looks great but it can get quite hazardous when the vehicle with ultra strong HID is shining its light at you. It actually blinds you and what is more dangerous than a blind man driving on e road beside you !

sorry.. but i think otherwise.. the whole darn singapore is overly lit. wasting electricity. I have nothing against HIDs but just that in order to show off their HIDs the stupid drivers aim their lamps up afraid that ppl don't know they have HIDs installed.

If the lamps were properly adjust and installed I don't see it as a problem

True. Probably i was not precise enough. Im fine with factory fitted HID eg. Evos, 7series etc. THey look really great and dont affect road safety. But problem lies with many other which has over-density HID. Recently juz encountered a few MPVs with HID so strong that u had to keep ur eyes off the back mirror.

To have HID install is nothing wrong even if they are factory fitted or not,it's just that the user must adjust to the best position not to aim at ppl's rear window.Adjust till is aiming at the road i dun c it will be a problem.That's wat i think. [cool]

it's only legal is fitted by manufacturer or agent. for example, if u can get Borneo to change the halogen in your camry 2.0 to the HID found on 2.4, it's legal(however, not all agents would do it. toyota wouldnt do it. but PML would. thats how some 320i have original HID) otherwise, all aftermarket HID conversion kits are illegal. for the rd block issue, as long as it's not to glaring and doesnt attract too much attention from TP, u'll go thru it smoothly -unless u're drunk [sly] . Inspection, most ppl get away with it (they're many ways, one example is how one gets away from speeding in NS)

Edited by Carcraze

Hi guys,

Just wonder, what is the penalty if one is caught with HID lights? Be it during inspection or ROV checks.

Noticed an increasing number of motorists are using aftermarket conversion kits and its really blinding.

Ever saw a Toyota Wish with HID main and fog lamps ... [rifle][rifle]

Actually HID is not blinding.

No doubt its bright cos' its focused light hence properly adjusted its will not be glaring.

I have used Xenon HID since 1999 (5 of my cars have HID only 1 came stock, most have HID for headlamp and foggies).

Its the user/installer which need to be educated to "tune" the focus.

HID emits clear/sharp end points hence its much easier to fine-tune than halogens (hence no glare).

As for getting pull over...so far never...even wif Angel Eyes (only on foggies), police stop oso never comment.

Well at the end of the day, its how one chooses to use it/have it properly done.

EA

i've encountered a getz with HID. i dun understand it n worse, i dun see getz is that high for the headlights to glare at our eyes.....btw, does getz has HID pre-installed? unsure.gif

Its the installers.

The drivers themselves need to be aware of it too lah.

Generally fitted with HID, you can actually lower the light quite abit cos' now its so bright and sharp that you can see very very clearly.

For my cars I adjust such that the lights shine between the bumper->license plate level of the car in front of me (1.5-2m).

Alternatively if taking the wall as reference (same distance), I adjust such tat the highest point is no higher than my own bonnet (headlight itself) hence at most level.

EA

>>>>>>Inspection, most ppl get away with it (they're many ways, one example is how one gets away from speeding in NS[laugh] [laugh][laugh]