Why do you not buy Civic FD?  

148 members have voted

1. 1.

• Over my budget
    • Target Civic as my next ride
    • Weird exterior design
    • Under power
    • Others

SHC has a poll for nowadays the hotest topic Civic FD: why do you buy Civic FD? [mad]

here for non-civic owners, how.. [confused]

Actually I wanted to buy BMW 3 series but pocket not deep enough that's why ended up buying civic 1.8 vti-s. [laugh]

Ppl like to compare the power of today's civic with civic of the past. Yes I agree 10 year old civic has more power but it emits more CO2. Today Japan emission standards are much higher than 10 years ago. Engineers have to work hard to meet not just emission standards but also FC & reliability. Emission standards always get higher over the years. Not just Japan but Europe too (now EuroIV).

To meet these standards of course performance will be compromised. I know all of us wants the best of both worlds as in affordable price and good performance. But where got such thing. This is where Honda Civic comes in. [laugh]

As for styling, HECK I did not style the car, some car designer did. I'm only driving it. Whether u think it's ugly or pretty it does not concern me, I like can already.

I know ppl will say crap just to spike me. I wun drive this car forever. After paying up for the loan and car by then will be other attractive makes and models for me to choose again.

It's just a car why can't u ppl get a move on. [hur]

Sometimes it is because of sour grapes. They just wish Civic was cheaper so they could afford too. Getting from point A to point B at low cost is budget car owners' thinking. So I feel they should talk to my hand if they want to tell me their reason of not choosing a civic. The civic is a great car. I tried the 1.6 manual and auto. They are not underpowered as what many claims. In fact, I feel the 1.6 engine has been tweaked in the low rpm zone for greater drivability and comparable to 1.8 (I tried them all). Of course higher rpm may lose out to 1.8 but heck, do you spend so much time in that high rpm zone?? If you want to convince yourself rather than just sit infront of your laptop or pc to talk crap about civic, go test drive it yourself. I did and I am darn impressed by the 1.6 because it really drives like a 1.8 on the road. I did not try the 120+ speeds because I do not drive that fast. If you want more kick out of the peppy 1.6 engine, get the manual version.

If Honda referred to as the "BMW" of Jap cars

WHich one is "Mercedes" of Jap cars?

Aiyah ! Needless to mention, the answer is clear cut ! - the best selling !

Wah, like that 50% of us driving mercs (jap) liao. And 90% of Thais too. laugh.gif

Sometimes it is because of sour grapes. They just wish Civic was cheaper so they could afford too. Getting from point A to point B at low cost is budget car owners' thinking. So I feel they should talk to my hand if they want to tell me their reason of not choosing a civic. The civic is a great car. I tried the 1.6 manual and auto. They are not underpowered as what many claims. In fact, I feel the 1.6 engine has been tweaked in the low rpm zone for greater drivability and comparable to 1.8 (I tried them all). Of course higher rpm may lose out to 1.8 but heck, do you spend so much time in that high rpm zone?? If you want to convince yourself rather than just sit infront of your laptop or pc to talk crap about civic, go test drive it yourself. I did and I am darn impressed by the 1.6 because it really drives like a 1.8 on the road. I did not try the 120+ speeds because I do not drive that fast. If you want more kick out of the peppy 1.6 engine, get the manual version.

Agreed, they shd check out the $$ when those who buy EK 1.5 Vti at 118K and today's 1.8 iVtec only at 70+K.

Those still shout Gui shd just get Cherry !

Wah, like that 50% of us driving mercs (jap) liao. And 90% of Thais too.

Can't try to console ourself doing that.

The features, equipment level, performance, & $$ are diff for the Merc, BM as compare to the Jap counterpart.

So it will never be the same after all.

The only comment can be is : the wannabe put it that way !

depends on what feature is your first priority lah, if you are racer boy, the new civic may be slightly disappoint comparing to old civic [shakehead], but if talk about handling, comfortable and FC etc, new civic definitely is a good choice [thumbsup],

new civic oso has its racer version as attached pic[thumbsup]

equipped the K20A 2.0 liter i-VTEC with a supercharger, bringing up total power up to 295 horsepower (300ps) [sly] .

post-2-1156994140_thumb.jpg

post-2-1156994141_thumb.jpg

post-2-1156994142_thumb.jpg

racing not so much .. as long as its one of the better 2L cars around can liao hehe

i like the interior very much. the other brand cars look very dated to me leh

at least this one is more 'futuristic' looking.

the exterior not too bad too mah... y pple dont like leh

i wanna zhng like this

wp01_800.jpg

don't take it too literally on that oft-quoted phrase- it is meant that way because Honda has got the closest philosophy of driver enjoyment than many other Jap marques and it is continuing to strive towards that with forward thinking designs and driver oriented engineering.Of course every car has to be built to a price point so please again dun take it too literally- BMWs still a class apart and priced that way, just that both are relatively smaller cos with an engineering slant. I am not the first to say it is like the "BMW" of jap cars, many have liken it that way before, and long may it be that way. If Honda stops doing what it is doing, it will be a sad day for the Jap car buyers!

Cheers,

It's definitely a nicer overall package than many of the bread and butter models out there, so no worries.flowerface.gif

But if u r getting the auto, better have patience to tahan the wait. sweatdrop.gif

Tat means more FD buyers are opting for the Auto instead of the Manual?

yes, 1999 Civic Sir can produce 170 or 180BHP( not suer exactly) in 1.6L engine [thumbsup], new Civic 2.0L only 155BHP [sweatdrop]

Engine wise, I prefer the older Civic. Lower rd tax but higher performance [thumbsup]

Not only FD buyers like Auto lah, all the car buyers are keen to auto [thumbsdown], this is why most models don't have manual at all [furious]