HELP.. Electrical Problem onboard my car..

Branong

Story goes like this. I realised that one side of the H4 headlights and H1 on the other aint working thus i brought it to my trusty workshop to get it changed. Was told that the wiring for the headlights went loose and my mechanic was not able to repair it. but he said can go to someone to repair the front light wiring problem, but i tot heck it. since one light side still working and all others (including tail lights functioning) shouldnt have any probs.

just then yesterday night, when i tried turning on the headlights, it came on, but my speedometer lights did not. Shocked.. i quickly went over to the back, no rear tailights on when the front headlights were on. luckily after testing, the brake lights did light up when i stepped on it. Lan lan no choice but to drive home all the way on the left lane with hazard lights on(as its perhaps the only lights i can flash other than the L/R signals and brake lights) but other than that i did not dare go out at night liao.

called up mechanic, he say check if the electrical fuse was blown in the main circuit board, but all ok leh.. I was wondering if anyone had such similar problems? and if you have any lobang to recommend in SG or Johor.

Thanks.

have you check all the related fuses? i believed it could just be the fuse itself.

Would suggest you tackle the loose wiring on the headlight 1st. Any burn marks on the connector itself? if it is just a loose connector, would suggest you add more solder to reduce the gap in the connector as a quick fix. Hope this helps. [:)]

yes. one connector to a H4 bulb kindof melted near the contact point.

U know where to repair in SG?

it should be quite straight forward...just go to check if any of the car spare parts shop to source for replacement connector. Connector should be standard item should have no prob in getting it. DIY yourself lah...very easy, just cut wire and connect accordingly.

if not, just follow the method i suggest earlier to add more solder to make contact tighter at the contact area with the headlight. Should be arcing thats why connector melts.

have fun! [;)]

you can try those stereo shops.. you can replace your bulb there and get them to check for you.. should not be too ex.. just pay for the bulb and some labour.. [thumbsup]

I encountered almost similar experiences a few yrs back. It turn out to be a loose wire which I didnt remove after uninstalling a meter gauge. The exposed wire sometimes hit against the vehicle's metal body while on the move and cause circuit to short. Removed, change fuse and everything back to norm. If you have removed any equipment recently that has electrical connectivity, do check them. [flowerface]

went for a check today.

its a fuse thats blown below the steering wheel.

it caused the entire speedometer not to light up

and also the tailights.

phew.. lucky that the last 2 days nothing happened.

hope my problem serves as an experience for u guys.

thanks for ur help

apparently my mechanic who tried to change the bulb for me

pulled the black cable too hard and it kindof fused the circuit.

thank god its over..

hahha.

cheers man