Amazon777 3rd Gear August 28, 2006 Share August 28, 2006 (edited) perhaps we can create a list of what to do & what not to do in the event a tyre burst ?? Looks like the seat belt is the major factor, better belt-up when on NSH. This civic most likely destined for the scrapyard? Quote from newpaper "But at the 173km mark along the highway, a punctured back tyre threw the five-month old 1.8cc Honda Civic into an uncontrollable spin. The car then hit a tree by the side of the highway. She was in the back seat, was not wearing a seat-belt. She was flung out of the car by the impact of the crash and was found 8m away from the wreckage. The rear windscreen was shattered. Her sister, who was seated beside her, was also flung out of the car, but she suffered only minor injuries. Her niece had bruised knees and her nephew suffered a burst blood vessel in his eye.The nephew was the front-seat passenger. Both the nephew and niece were wearing seat belts" ================================================================================ ====== Newpaper guide to tyre bursts Don't slam on brake if a tyre bursts 1)If a tyre bursts whilst you are driving at a high speed, keep the car as steady as possible and get to the side of the road. 2)Do not panic and do not brake suddenly. This will only cause the wheels to lock and cause the car to skid. Let the car slow gradually by applying the brake gently. 3)Before heading out on a long journey, check the tyre pressure to make sure they are not over-inflated. 4)Certain types of tyres cannot take pressure on a heated and bumpy road. When travelling over a long distance, an over-inflated tyre is a time-bomb waiting to explode. 5)A reading of 200psi is safe, but check your tyre specifications to be safe. For heavier cars, check the manufacturer's specifications. 6)If the air pressure of your tyre is too low, your car will pull to one side while you are driving. 7)If your car is not travelling in a straight line, something may be wrong with your tyres. Pull over and check. Edited August 28, 2006 by Amazon777 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarkLord 1st Gear August 28, 2006 Share August 28, 2006 Dun play play when it comes to tyres.. The only 4 contact points with the road.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Amazon777 3rd Gear August 28, 2006 Share August 28, 2006 (edited) Should I upgrade to 17" rims & low-profile tires? I suppose it will help in road-holding? Also RFT tires very expensive. 4WD/AWD also very expensive option. If I remember correctly, there was a new Ford Focus that turn turtle recently, minor damage to roof, really sturdy car Edited August 28, 2006 by Amazon777 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Khee Neutral Newbie August 28, 2006 Share August 28, 2006 it was a female driver, I think if it was a male driver, it might be another result male or female... if not trained in reacting, the result is the same... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cmsense Neutral Newbie August 28, 2006 Share August 28, 2006 you mad ah??? just one accident like tis makes you wary of civic? in the world, every car model tat you know, got involved in serious accidents b4.... so how? you never ever want to drive again? Whatever the cause of the accident, whether the car or the tyres, the "damage" has already been done. Honda has just suffered a huge dent to its image and branding that has been carefully crafted by their public relations/corporate communications/marketing people. As an aside, personally, I think that Honda owners here on MCF should learn to take it easy and not over react whenever anyone makes any sort of valid criticism about Honda cars here on MCF. And it is about time that Honda owners here should be more gracious towards owners of other car makes by not insisting at every opportunity that Honda is better than other cars. Honda cars may have the famous and much talked about VTEC engines, but Honda cars are not perfect and infallible in every way. No car can ever claim to be perfect and infallible in every way. Not even Honda. Here is the Expert view based on conversation (not official reply) According to the expert, people at Honda can not sorry enough for the lost of life caused by the accident. The tragic accident is not an excuse to point fingers but until the authority completes its investigation we rather not speculate on the matter. He added, contrary to the amateurs opinion, the fact that the car flip over few times on high speed without being a completely crushed like a sardine can shows that G-Con technology and the new high tensile steel (50% stronger) used in the latest Civic works well and superior (true?) The preliminary report shows that the fatality is not caused by the safety aspect of the car but most probable due to negligence (not wearing seatbelt?). The bursting tire can happen to several factors. 1. Negligence of the owner to check the pressure. 2. The tire hit sharp objects on the road that torn the side of the tire. 3. Manufacturing flaw, but let Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueblack Neutral Newbie August 28, 2006 Share August 28, 2006 Usually low profile have a higher tendancy of bursting on impact on stone or kerb. Anything lower than 50 is consider thin. Rally car seldom go lower than 50. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear August 28, 2006 Share August 28, 2006 (edited) yup.... if the tyre burst, the vehicle will steer towards the side of the burst tyre. So it is very impt that the driver holds onto the steering wheel firmly once the vehicle starts to slide. i also kenna once before 6 years ago.. was driving a passenger van (mini bus) in melbourne. The rear left tyre burst while i was travelling along highwway 1. The van then pulled towards the left and went onto the sand/grass patch.... I was merely tapping the brakes to slow it down when i realised the van was heading towards a big big longkang... so lanlan, had to turn the steering to the right... BAD MOVE... the whole van started spinning before it flipped a couple of times. Luckily, all my passengers were not injured... just badly shook up!!! I had a frd who was thrown out as well!!! DAMN HENG!!!! From this incident, i learnt not to underestimate the importance of tyres!!! Tyres are just like condoms!!! Once the rubber breaks!!! Good luck!! Edited August 28, 2006 by Altivo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tinyredleaf Neutral Newbie August 28, 2006 Share August 28, 2006 it was a female driver, I think if it was a male driver, it might be another result Accidents and disasters always happen to "other people", so I guess you think it's funny to insert a blatantly insensitve, and not to mention, a sexist remark like that. Not so funny, when the lady driver in this case happens to my cousin sister, and the deceased happens to my beloved aunt. My cousin lost her aunt in a car she was driving. Before any more of you jackasses out there shoot off your "wise" comments, think on that for a moment. I don't think I need to elaborate further on the details about the accident -- the various newspaper reports covered them accurately enough, even if they got much of the other personal details about the people involved wrong. If there's a lesson to be learnt from this unfortunate accident, it's that, yes, your seatbelt can save your life. Please put them on at all times, even if you're a rear seat passenger. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueblack Neutral Newbie August 28, 2006 Share August 28, 2006 Normal lah. even my MIL think seat belt will keep them from running away when the car catch fire. This case both airbags activited and petrol never leak and burst the whole thing consider lucky liao. Maybe sgp should look into using run flat tyre. Since driving test can go auto gearbox nowaday... everything made simple wat u expect of this in this kind of situation from a young driver. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quantum 5th Gear August 28, 2006 Author Share August 28, 2006 so sorry heard about that Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carstyle Neutral Newbie August 28, 2006 Share August 28, 2006 Here is the Expert view based on conversation (not official reply) According to the expert, people at Honda can not sorry enough for the lost of life caused by the accident. The tragic accident is not an excuse to point fingers but until the authority completes its investigation we rather not speculate on the matter. He added, contrary to the amateurs opinion, the fact that the car flip over few times on high speed without being a completely crushed like a sardine can shows that G-Con technology and the new high tensile steel (50% stronger) used in the latest Civic works well and superior (true?) The preliminary report shows that the fatality is not caused by the safety aspect of the car but most probable due to negligence (not wearing seatbelt?). The bursting tire can happen to several factors. 1. Negligence of the owner to check the pressure. 2. The tire hit sharp objects on the road that torn the side of the tire. 3. Manufacturing flaw, but let Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear August 28, 2006 Share August 28, 2006 You know what... it could have been much worse... WARNING. EXTREMELY DISTURBING PICS. DO NOT CLICK THE LINK IF YOU CANNOT LOOK AT BURNT REMAINS!!! http://www.tuning-forum.org/viewtopic.php?t=37656&start=0 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tanjkp Clutched August 28, 2006 Share August 28, 2006 Probably the rear passengers didn't put on seat belts thus being thrown out. So be warned, don't ever think the belts are just to avoid being summon or push kopi money to the cops. Years ago my bro was involved in similar acc (also in MY) when a smaller cabin car flip but sustain no injury because the belts were on. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Godibado Neutral Newbie August 28, 2006 Share August 28, 2006 my bro keeps forgetin to put on his seat belt... i have to keep reminding him Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Odyssey02 Clutched August 28, 2006 Share August 28, 2006 Did that happen in a race track or on the open roads? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear August 28, 2006 Share August 28, 2006 Open road. the driver was a test driver for lambo too, and the passenger was his son... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tanjkp Clutched August 28, 2006 Share August 28, 2006 Another sad story. Maybe like the Rex case, trying to test the limit ? Can tell which country -- can't figure out from the langg Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Oneofakind Neutral Newbie August 28, 2006 Share August 28, 2006 Dun know what are the speed ratings on the tyres the Civic 1.8 came with. But just to be safe, it is important to align the performance of your tyres to the max speed of your vehicle if you are a barnstormer. It is also important to check tyres for embedded nails, stone ships, weakened/buldging side walls--indicative of side wall damage through kerb trauma, exposed plychords before going on a prolonged high speed run. Speed rating are the max spped a tyre can tolerate for a continuous time span of 10 mins before damage occurs. Also, do change your tyres every 2 years even if the thread is still thick, rubbers hardens and gets brittle, very bad for high speed runs. Speed symbol Maximum speed km/h mph N 140 87 P 150 93 Q 160 99 R 170 106 S 180 112 T 190 118 H 210 130 V 240 149 W 270 168 Y 300 186 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...