Chromas 1st Gear August 31, 2006 Share August 31, 2006 My father in the past told me to go and buy a convertible Merc or get a Camry or Accord... ... well, a Euro-R would be ok for me, but a Camry is not my style Me in a Camry???? Erm.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jusnel 6th Gear August 31, 2006 Share August 31, 2006 aiya... basically the reason is due to $$$ la.... if got no budget and money, ppl buy toyota if got extra money to spare, ppl buy honda this is the ACTUAL reason imagine honda is same price as toyota? what will happen? ppl will rush to buy honda! they will puke at toyota! coz same price now, and in their hearts, ppl will prefer honda..... ppl now buy toyota coz of cheaper price, affordable, value for money car. its true honda is more expensive, but price comes with quality. so if honda is same price as toyota, BM will close down liao....... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vit4wd 1st Gear August 31, 2006 Share August 31, 2006 I find it plain silly and an act of absolute stupidity to support any car brands. These car manufacturers are making tonnes of money out of you and don't even pay you a single cent for publicising their brands. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tanjkp Clutched August 31, 2006 Share August 31, 2006 $$ is not the main reason to decide the sales vol. Maybe in SG for this case. Those own N do a lot of DIY will prefer Toyota. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged August 31, 2006 Share August 31, 2006 actually hor, cannot blame human lar.... that's the power of marketing and branding....and the weakness of human being... just like some people will die die buy only timberland shoes.... just like why those teens who will call and supporting singapore idol, superband lar, which to me is the stupiest thing to do.... dont they have other better ways to spend their money????. juts like some people have all those MU or liverpool or arsenal stuff in their living room, their car, printed on their mug...blablabla... just like how people will Q for hours just to buy something or some food they like (example..helo kitty toy or some so call nice bah kut teh...)... the list can go on until it reaches the moon.... it's like idolising something....but one thing for sure, the preference will change over time..... i can die die buy only toyota now, maybe next ride, maybe next 3 or 5 rides but im sure someday i will want a change when i felt like it... it's only matter of time, some marketing guy make their product so attractive which make my heart move over and when i take the first step over and IF that product proven to be real good, i will stay with it for sometimes...... i use Oral B mouth wash for 10+year but i change to listerine recently (2-3years ago..) and i forsee listerine is here to stay.......dont ask me why cause i dont have the answer.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Requiemdk 1st Gear August 31, 2006 Share August 31, 2006 As do I. I get a laugh every time I see a car covered with all the Recaro, Greddy, Apexi, etc etc stickers. I can't imagine people paying money to companies to publicise THEIR product. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gabriel 1st Gear August 31, 2006 Share August 31, 2006 believe focus is on safety now bah... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atlantis_boi Clutched August 31, 2006 Share August 31, 2006 I find it plain silly and an act of absolute stupidity to support any car brands. These car manufacturers are making tonnes of money out of you and don't even pay you a single cent for publicising their brands. I've de-badge my ride Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear September 1, 2006 Share September 1, 2006 honda??? overated... not as good (performance wise) as they used to be. Where are cars like the ek type R's, DC2 type R's, and NSX R???? These were all cutting edge... At least the DC5 isnt half bad... but gimme a DC2 with a K20A instead... toyota?? relatively boring all the way but at least their older cars were over engineered thats why they were super reliable plus with a few pretty farn good performance cars.. thank god for the SS2. Nissan?? lagi the worst... after cars like the N15 pulsar vrz and vrz N1 (direct competitors to the Sir and Type R civics), plus the silvias and skylines what do they have now??? Just one boat called the 350z. Bah give me back my performance cars... jazz, vios, wish, stream, accord, civic, latio, *pui* all these softies can go back into the sewers they came from... or remain as the grocery getters they were meant to be. performance grocery getters??? SI/SIR, ek SIR/VTiR, ep82 starlet GT, N15 Nissan pulsar VZR (never came to sg unfortunately), AE111 Corolla, Nissan micra super turbo Now these are the grocery getters to mod!!! Edit: in case you havent noticed, i'm being the devils advocate here I will probably say the same thing if I am in AUSTRALIA! No lah.... what i meant is we need cars like those new!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Veryfree Clutched September 6, 2006 Share September 6, 2006 No need to fight...ppl buy Hondas for the sportiness, they pay higher $ for them. Toyota buyers are uncles who are mostly buying them because they have 4 wheels and conservative looks. But one thing i dun u/std. why so many vios and altis have body kits? they look like bread van....look at those small rims hahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evildoer Neutral Newbie September 6, 2006 Share September 6, 2006 vtec My arse... only the ITR, CTR and S2K (is it still being sold???) have real Vtec... the rest are either economy or normal... All these softie crap from all the manufacturers now CMI gotta agree, drive a honda myself... vtec is nice but nothing to rave abt... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quantum 5th Gear September 6, 2006 Share September 6, 2006 vios and altis c/w body kits look look nice mah! even if honda so expensive, so vios and altis c/w body kits also cna enjoy sporty feeling Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Veryfree Clutched September 6, 2006 Share September 6, 2006 nice. but the bodykits make the rims look very small. look like elephant with deer legs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Supercharged September 6, 2006 Share September 6, 2006 Bah give me back my performance cars... jazz, vios, wish, stream, accord, civic, latio, *pui* all these softies can go back into the sewers they came from... or remain as the grocery getters they were meant to be. No choice. Softies sell. Performance cars doesn't sell as much as softies car. If you are a manufacturer, what will you do? There is a simple reason why those car manufacturers cut down on performance cars. Simply because of the baby boomers. 15-20 years back the baby boomers are around 30-40 years old....have the money and the urge to try performance cars. Today they are 50-60 years old, you think they still wanna play performance cars? Honestly the car manufacturers are catering more towards the needs of the baby boomers. They are the largest group of consumers, so no choice. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quantum 5th Gear September 6, 2006 Share September 6, 2006 (edited) elephant with deer legs stage by stage upgrading mah, bodykits first after getting enough money then rim...etc Edited September 6, 2006 by Quantum Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Veryfree Clutched September 6, 2006 Share September 6, 2006 Good rims may cost as much as $2000, more than the bodykits. anyway, i respect their tastes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sleepyberz Neutral Newbie September 12, 2006 Share September 12, 2006 though i might be driving a subaru, i still vote for honda vtec power ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...