Fitmugen 5th Gear August 22, 2006 Share August 22, 2006 Hi bros, Me quite clueless about ICE so would like to seek some advice. Is HU very impt to achieve good sound quality? I'm on very tight budget so feel like changing just my front speakers to component speakers and leave the HU alone. btw, my HU is a cannot make it Panasonic 1303 model, however it claims to be able to pump 50W to each speaker. I dun really need fantastic sound but something which you can at least enjoy while driving. Appreciate your advice bros ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Protege 1st Gear August 22, 2006 Share August 22, 2006 Bro, HU is the source of your sound. HU consist of a "CD Player", "Radio" and a "Amp". The CD player will be playing the source (CD) you put into it and the your Amp inside the HU will amplify it. So if your CD player is crap, then your amplifier will be amplifying the crap to bigger volume. Therefore if you have a good source like a HU, it will have good CD playing quality. However, most bros here into playing ICE will not use the HU amplifier as to them, its not as good as external one. For budget conscious, you can look at a reasonably good HU and then invest in a reasonable pair of speakers. IMHO, speakers should give the biggest different in terms of sound. However, a underpowered pair of "Good" speakers will not sound good. Happy ICEing!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear August 22, 2006 Share August 22, 2006 heya, a HU is important as its the source of the signal. if u have a lousy source to start with, ur signal that is sent to the amp will be that clean. its like giving a sports car a lousy engine to start. even if u give it a large intercooler, exhuast and turbo, u will not get much performance as ur engine also buay tahan, but if u got a good engine, and u go zng a mini turbo, the car will fly liao.. Thats y all those audiophile SQ pple all wack high end HUs, even if they are pure decks and have no functions at all, but have a CLEAN and STRONG output. BUT to the everyday listener, if u cant tell the difference and u just want a bit better sound, then IMHO, a normal HU like urs should be ok lah. just invest in an amp, set of spkrs and a sub and u will be more than satisfied. did yours come stock with the car? aniway, u've got PM too. cheers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sarong1 1st Gear August 22, 2006 Share August 22, 2006 Invest in a really good HU, its a long term investment. You won't go wrong with it. HU is a one time investment while speakers are not. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fitmugen 5th Gear August 22, 2006 Author Share August 22, 2006 Thanks bros. My current HU is stock. Should have asked SE not to install and give me discount. btw, my car is Honda Edix. I went to Autobacs and they showed me this Eclipse HU and CDT component speakers which were not bad. Am considering as can pay by instalment, so not so siong. Total about $1k incl installation. But I very scared Autobacs cos their things are not exactly cheap. Any recommendation on other places which also offer instalment payment? If 1k can include amp will be good! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sarong1 1st Gear August 22, 2006 Share August 22, 2006 Some installers do have packages offered by banks for a one or two year term installment at 0% interest free. You can check some of these out. Look for threads that talks about installers in this forum. Best is not to get installment. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kwchan 1st Gear August 22, 2006 Share August 22, 2006 Hi, if i am going to play mp3 most of the time via ipod (lazy to burn mp3 to CD) can i still make use of those advance features like time alignment? I am planning to upgrade my stock HU to Alpine 8256 with ipod connector. or I can actually do away with HU, and connect the ipod directly to my preamp?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
User12343 Clutched August 22, 2006 Share August 22, 2006 (edited) never pay by instalments to feed ur hobby, even though they promise interest-free monthly payments. this is a trap that is too easy to fall into. buy what u can afford with cold hard cash and not with plastic cards. cannot afford, save up until u can afford. not too difficult to do. that fancy HU wont run away one... the car is already a liability which most of us have to pay instalments to repay bank. same for housing..... Edited August 22, 2006 by User12343 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Protege 1st Gear August 22, 2006 Share August 22, 2006 It would be good to have a HU that can have time alignment. Always make soundstaging easier. As for HU, I would recommend a HU with Ipod connector. Cheers!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Imuya Clutched August 22, 2006 Share August 22, 2006 "IMHO, speakers should give the biggest different in terms of sound." I am ICE noob..no, make that ICE idiot. I've heard that HU makes the most difference and also some frens have installed Alpine HU into their otherwise totally stock ICE and the difference is like...WOAH. So speakers or HU? Reason i'm interested is cos I am unable to change my HU cos it's integrated (Civic FD). Well, actually you can change it but the additional cost and hassle and not to mention losing the functionality of the steering remote makes the idea a whole lot less attractive. ICE Gurus, What will be a ideal way to improve my ICE? Speakers? Amps? Or something i'm not aware of? Budget is of course a consideration because i'm still a stoooolent..... I don't need ICE nirvana, my Ayumi songs already give me nirvana but you can always improve on that, right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
User12343 Clutched August 22, 2006 Share August 22, 2006 (edited) i would also agree that upgrading ur speakers are your best bet in improving SQ, given ur reluctance to change out the factory HU. Edited August 22, 2006 by User12343 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sarong1 1st Gear August 22, 2006 Share August 22, 2006 Well, to make Ayumi sound even "sexier", you can opt to change your speakers, add a amp and some sound processor. That should set you back about less then $3k...nope, you don't have to spend it one time. Do a progressive upgrade to notice the change. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lukie102 Clutched August 22, 2006 Share August 22, 2006 (edited) he student leh...i suggest speakers and a amp. from what i know...dont think he need a processor. maybe in future when he upgrade his standards Edited August 22, 2006 by Lukie102 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
User12343 Clutched August 22, 2006 Share August 22, 2006 maybe show matric card got student price and discount? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear August 22, 2006 Share August 22, 2006 HU very impt esp if u wanna do setting ....choose Alpine,wont go wrong Next,component speakers with matching amp....2 channel should be enough to drive the front. For the rear can just tap power from HU. Next,Sub with amp Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Homey Neutral Newbie August 22, 2006 Share August 22, 2006 'clean and strong' like 8V / pre-out huh?! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear August 22, 2006 Share August 22, 2006 nono 8.5 Vrms pre out.. hahaha.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sarong1 1st Gear August 22, 2006 Share August 22, 2006 Thats why I said progressive Ms Lukie......Short of changing HU (so as to blend in with the interior face), speakers first, want better sound...get an amplifier...if still not good enough...then consider sound processor... There will be tons of suggestions, simply ask yourself just how deep you wanna dig into your own pocket... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...