Ncss Clutched August 22, 2006 Share August 22, 2006 (edited) V-power is good enough and also more convinent, no need ron100... I think the different will not be too much. Add booster everytime you pump is quite troublesome. Edited August 22, 2006 by Ncss ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eching21 Neutral Newbie August 22, 2006 Share August 22, 2006 (edited) You can use Toluene. That is RON 114 "petrol" (it is not petrol per se so don't dump a whole tank of toluene and try to run your car). You can probably mix it with RON98.. Computation of RON is based on a linear scale, so you can essentially control quite precisely what RON fuel you are running on after mixing. it is quite expensive however, and only certain places in singapore carry it. Edited August 22, 2006 by Eching21 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atlantis_boi Clutched August 23, 2006 Share August 23, 2006 U can try the octane booster frm Best Chem. It costs $75 for 18litres. Recommended mixing ratio is 1L of Best chem to 4L of petrol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyrofillica 1st Gear August 24, 2006 Author Share August 24, 2006 so.. i pump one tank 60L i have to put in 15L! So my full tank will cost 150 DOLLARS!!!!!! If my mileage is 50km/l maybe i consider.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iforu Neutral Newbie August 24, 2006 Share August 24, 2006 dun be silly, if u driving jdm car, like celica or dc5, with the 100ron than will get the the full power claim by them, e.g. 220hp from dc5 if pump 100ron else with the 98ron, the hp drop, actually with the kind of temperature & Humidity in spore, with 100ron, e car will not get 220hp also. if u can find 100ron, u put into ur car, u cant get the FC becos of the temperature & Humidity diff btw spore & japan. so no need waste $ on 100ron fuel or octane booster. if u really dun believe & wan try, i know GR got sell v high ron fuel, i heard people say 120ron!? but cost $180 per tank.zzzzz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atlantis_boi Clutched August 24, 2006 Share August 24, 2006 (edited) Just for ur info la If u do hit 50km/L, I recommend u to take part in the shell best mileage challenge. 1st position is bound 2 b urs cos Sonata only manage 42km/L Edited August 24, 2006 by Atlantis_boi Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear August 24, 2006 Share August 24, 2006 If I remember corrcetly Avgas is 105 RON. But u cud only get in Seletar Airport. Maybe u sud consider joining the Flying Club & see if u can divert some of the fuel from a Piper to your car? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adawang 1st Gear August 24, 2006 Share August 24, 2006 as u can see, its not economically viable. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acel Neutral Newbie August 24, 2006 Share August 24, 2006 Yah, it doesn't make money sense. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyrofillica 1st Gear August 25, 2006 Author Share August 25, 2006 sonata? reach 42km/l????? he push his car 22km ah b4 driving the rest? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atlantis_boi Clutched August 25, 2006 Share August 25, 2006 Yup. Do a search. Sometime back, MCf-ers were discussing abt this. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear August 25, 2006 Share August 25, 2006 U can try the octane booster frm Best Chem. It costs $75 for 18litres. Recommended mixing ratio is 1L of Best chem to 4L of petrol That BESTCHEM octane booster is toluene. Yes, it is darn good and ex as well. I only used like 4 ltr mix with 50 ltrs of 98RON..... Wow The exhaust coming out is hotter than normal though with a strange smell, and I even got my leg "singed" accidentally while doing some stuff in the boot with the engine running. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seanboi 1st Gear August 25, 2006 Share August 25, 2006 cfm jack the car up and let the wheel spin. Wads Hyundai's best FC? U all shld noe la... Even run 100% highway oso cant get 42km/L Y dun shell keep track of how often he goes to pump after the competition since he got 1yr free petrol. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fortress Clutched August 25, 2006 Share August 25, 2006 Caltex used to sell that...have not use it for more than a decade. Do not know do they still do. You might like to know that fuel additives are only to replace chemicals taken out of the fuel by oil companies, hence you might like to know what to add to your fuel, do not claim to know a lot on the additives but each type give you different range of 5 from light means it burn faster and heavy mean economy...each of our fuel is mixed depending on how each companies add the additives to their fuel and it is not constant, depending on cost. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyrofillica 1st Gear August 25, 2006 Author Share August 25, 2006 ERM.... other than getting burnt , any other observable effects on your car's performance/FC? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear August 25, 2006 Share August 25, 2006 FC suffer lah..... because more power potential = more heavy footed. Never did try driving normally with it as it defeats the purpose of putting it in, in the 1st place. Other noticeable effects are:- 1. Boost builds up faster. 2. Slight boost spike. 3. More torque across the RPMs. 4. Exhaust smells strangely sickly sweet. 5. Engine seems smoother & quieter. (This one could be perception..... ) These were what I felt in my ride. You might experience different thuogh... depending on whether your ride has been optimised to utilise the higher RON/MON. Cheers! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyrofillica 1st Gear August 28, 2006 Author Share August 28, 2006 OK. where u get your octane booster. im interested. Need to experiment with RON 101. Most impt now is the extra cost on top of the already expensive Ron98. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Normal_aspirated Clutched August 28, 2006 Share August 28, 2006 Use ethanol. tolulene is much more caustic to fuel lines seals etc. and if your car is post 1996, it will be able to take at least 10% ethanol.how about methylated spirit (85% ethanol, 5% methanol, etc).......cheaper and easier to get. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...