Octy Dipstick Holder

Kinetics

Hi

Mine just broke into few pieces [sweatdrop] when I tried to check engine oil. Can DIY to replace or gotto go back workshop? Dreaded to go back workshop cos of the wait [:p]

Common problem with my ex-Seat,or VW Boro, material cannot stand our heat! [furious]

Some workshop can glue it back for you, if it does not break into too many pieces, you might want to try some spare part shop to get a replacment. Cheer!! [sunny]

Alamak bro, mine broke long time ago. Go Servo to change no need to wait lar. 1 min to change it thats all. [laugh] And its not expensive.

Ok, thanks bro. Yours so fast broke? Not the dipstick but the holder whoa. My dipstick olso long long time ago broke [sweatdrop]

Tks Soleution. When I pulled up the stick, the holder 'disintegrate' into many pieces and drop into the bottom. [laugh] Guess I long time no check engine oil

Ya, the top plastic part broke. Not the metal lar.. [laugh]

Btw, my broke into 5-6 pieces lor.

Edited by Relak

No sweat bro, as mention, common problem, replacement should not be a problem.

When I first encounter this saga, I was shocked bcos Japanese car never have such problem, still wondering why VW have such issue! [furious]

Fixed mine using heat resistant glue, those mainly used in the engine compartment. Used the similar ones on the door seal. Gotten it from Fit It at about S$4.50

Hi

Mine just broke into few pieces sweatdrop.gif when I tried to check engine oil. Can DIY to replace or gotto go back workshop? Dreaded to go back workshop cos of the wait tongue.gif

Bought mine at XinZhong for 10 bucks. Drive there use plier to remove the old one and replace with new one then and drive out. Not more than 5mins, can still park along the double yellow lines

Edited by Dudemobile

Ermm, it says "Neuspeed Billet Aluminum dipstick cap covers the top of your factory plastic dipstick ...."

Cover is different from replacing. If the original plastic disintegrate into pieces, then this thing that covers it would simply drop off ? sweatdrop.gif

hi bro

agree. However, because the dipstick cap is aluminum, and so when you hold on to that versus the plastic brittle parts, maybe it won't give as easily? also, because the cap encases the entire plastic and shields it from ambient exposure to a larger degree, so the degradation may be slower? just my humble guess.

My guess, is this cap is most probably used before the thermoplastic on the dipstick disintegrates. Of course if it is already disintegrating, then this cap is useless. Much like wearing our combat helmet. haha!

bless

tashi

Hi

Mine just broke into few pieces when I tried to check engine oil. Can DIY to replace or gotto go back workshop? Dreaded to go back workshop cos of the wait

Bought mine at XinZhong for 10 bucks. Drive there use plier to remove the old one and replace with new one then and drive out. Not more than 5mins, can still park along the double yellow lines

That's where I bought it when it broke, donkeys years ago liao. Watch out when parking on double yellow, that area quite hot.