Sei_fei_loh 1st Gear August 16, 2006 Share August 16, 2006 Hi all, I am driving a 1yr 8mths proton gen 2 with mileage of arnd 60500km. My front left wheel has this clok clok clok sound whenever i steer my car to the right. It is not the same sound we always hear when an old and un-maintained car does a U-turn. its not a continous sound; to be exact. Whenever i turn the steering to the right, the sound will come even when the car is stationary... I have checked the CV joint rubber cover and it looks perfectly fine. I looked for any signs of oil leakages arnd the wheel arches and fortunate not to find any.. All gurus, pls advise, dun wish to kena 'chop carrot head' when bring to workshop... This is getting so sickening. My car's warranty is only 60k and NW after i have done my 60k servicing, this sound comes on. haiz.. think got to repair from my own wallet. thks! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic August 16, 2006 Share August 16, 2006 The ball bearing is going to fail. Quickly get it replaced. Gets quite dangerous if it breaks into several pieces. Worse is damage on your drive shaft or whatever shaft u call it connecting to your wheel. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dipstick Neutral Newbie August 16, 2006 Share August 16, 2006 (edited) Sounds like worn drive shaft or wheel bearings. This is a typical problem with first generation front wheel drive cars such as the old Mini's from the 60s. Nowadays, drive shafts are usually quite durable and typically last up to ten years. The Presea I was using had no drive shaft prob even up to the time I scrapped it.....nearly ten years. Edited August 16, 2006 by Dipstick Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged August 16, 2006 Share August 16, 2006 Why don't you try and see if you can still claim warrenty, even tho your warrenty may have just exceeded...cos the wear rate is a little too fast. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sei_fei_loh 1st Gear August 16, 2006 Author Share August 16, 2006 "The ball bearing is going to fail. Quickly get it replaced. Gets quite dangerous if it breaks into several pieces. Worse is damage on your drive shaft or whatever shaft u call it connecting to your wheel" oohh.. okok.. ball bearing?? this is new.. where is this ball bearing? is it expensive to replace just like the shaft?? thks.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic August 16, 2006 Share August 16, 2006 Yeah man. If cannot claim than get a quotation from the dealer and use it as a benchmark and compare it with the elsewhere workshops. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sei_fei_loh 1st Gear August 16, 2006 Author Share August 16, 2006 "Sounds like worn drive shaft or wheel bearings. This is a typical problem with first generation front wheel drive cars such as the old Mini's from the 60s. Nowadays, drive shafts are usually quite durable and typically last up to ten years. The Presea I was using had no drive shaft prob even up to the time I scrapped it.....nearly ten years. " oohh ok.. it seems that quality of late products are going down. damn!!! thks for the input... any estimation of damage to repair that?? dun wish to be ripped Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic August 16, 2006 Share August 16, 2006 It's located behind the brake disc. Definitely cheaper than the shaft. The best is to get a mechanic to look at your car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sei_fei_loh 1st Gear August 16, 2006 Author Share August 16, 2006 "Why don't you try and see if you can still claim warrenty, even tho your warrenty may have just exceeded...cos the wear rate is a little too fast. " That's a good idea, but becos i have quitted servicing my car at Proton singapore due to some unhappiness. I have been servicing at an authorised workshop in johore!! haha.. Batu pahat. seems far to go in again. cos came back just last sat.. anyways, will make an attempt to call and beg them to do something... hehe.. thks for the inputs anyways! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sei_fei_loh 1st Gear August 16, 2006 Author Share August 16, 2006 "It's located behind the brake disc. Definitely cheaper than the shaft. The best is to get a mechanic to look at your car. " behind my disc?? hmmm.. anyways, will ask some mechanic to assess.. hopefully they can find out the prob at one look. still thinking of driving up to cameron highlands next mth lor.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic August 16, 2006 Share August 16, 2006 Your drive shaft should be ok. Cos u mentioned the rubber joint which is the ball joint is well intact. A worn one most likely the rubber joint will be torn, grease found around the joint. Like I mention get a mechanic to look at it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched August 16, 2006 Share August 16, 2006 Sounds like a power steering problem I thought? Have you tried locating the source of the sound? ie, get someone to turn the wheel while you hear where it's coming from? I also got some sound problems. But its a suspension thing and I need to drive till some speed, ie 40kmph and over a hump then I can hear it. Can't locate the sound easily leh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear August 16, 2006 Share August 16, 2006 The grease from a leaky CV generally does not get into or near the wheel arch... but sometimes even if theres no grease or the boot isnt torn/broken the cv can be worn. you check for it by seeing if theres any play in the driveshaft. but since the noise is there even when the car is stationary i doubt its them. Its definately not the bearings... those make a whirring noise, and only when the car is moving... I would say steering rack, itself or the steering rack ends. Also check the linkage on the steering linkage that goes to the rack in case a nut had worked itself loose or if there is anything coming in contact with it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sei_fei_loh 1st Gear August 16, 2006 Author Share August 16, 2006 sure that! will be getting a mechanic to look into it Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sei_fei_loh 1st Gear August 16, 2006 Author Share August 16, 2006 "Sounds like a power steering problem I thought? Have you tried locating the source of the sound? ie, get someone to turn the wheel while you hear where it's coming from? I also got some sound problems. But its a suspension thing and I need to drive till some speed, ie 40kmph and over a hump then I can hear it. Can't locate the sound easily leh. " haven really get someone to turn the wheel and i listen.. but its definitely coming from the left front of my car.. if its a power steering problem, its gonna be a expensive one.. d: < hehe.. thks for the inputs.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sei_fei_loh 1st Gear August 16, 2006 Author Share August 16, 2006 hi there, u sure sound like a technical guy.. having read ur post. im getting alittle afraid its something not too simple.. any rough gauge on hw much will the repair cost to be if its really the steering rack or its components? thks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Teddi Neutral Newbie August 16, 2006 Share August 16, 2006 Can go JB to fix. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sei_fei_loh 1st Gear August 16, 2006 Author Share August 16, 2006 haha.. can consider.. MY car mah.. but need to get some info.. cos SG, scared workshop chop me.. if price almost the same, will do it in sg.. save the hassle.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...