How to protect front spoiler??

Super7

Hi Guys,

My spoiler below the front bumper hits the kerb easily if i park my car head-in wherever the kerb is taller than the normal height. The lower edge of this spoiler doesn't face the front directly, it faces 45 degrees downward and hits the kerb.

I am thinking of adding/glueing a piece of rubber strip thick enough to cushion the impact and also protect the paint work. Ideally a transparent rubber felt/strip should be good and look nice. Alternativelly, a colour matching strip/felt should also be ok. Any other methods for protection??? Where can i get the strip/felt or other material??? (thought of adding the common side strips, but they may look too "obvious" n unsightly)

Thankssmile.gifsmile.gif

gd mrng super 7,

err..why not just reverse park always ? best solution i think. but i have to confess i got a front parking sensor installed exactly for the same reasons you mentioned. thats one solution without unslightly paste on.

front parking sensor??? how is it activated? last i heard it is not good to have it coz when on highway and at highspeed, it activates the sensors and it will be beeping all the way.

thanks for the suggestion, but, but......same problem with the rear spoiler also........ sweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gif .... only parallel parking doesn't give me the problem, but my usual breakfast parking lots are all vertical parking........ dizzy.gifdizzy.gifdizzy.gif

Edited by Super7

maybe should install a bypass switch and de-activate the sensor when driving on the road...... idea.gifidea.gif

my sensor* has a switch which you can turn on if you want the sensor to work. it has not happened that the beeper activates itself whether at high speeds or when in tight situation. sorry, but i dun quite believe those things you hear are really true. maybe more to do with some tripping and not the "mere" installation of the sensors, possible ?

*not mentioning product name but its the no drill hole type.

ok, got what u meant. but no experience with those kind so cant comment. eh, btw did u see a merc hit the back of a toyota this morn at incline before shears bridge ? that toyota was just behind me - phew. everyone in my lane made a sudden stop but that merc was slower to react. poor fellas.

no leh....today wifey drove me to work, so got out at fort road to nicholl highway. Heng man or sure kanna jam.....sweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gif but Nicholl today also got slight jam, wonder if its because people all detour

Uncle..

Don't put those rubber thing. I used to have it, infact, the impact will make it worst as the dent area will be BIGGER and needs knocking out. I rather it scrap the paint and respray so you don;t incur additional panel beating cost.

Inaddition, prolong putting those rubber protectors will cause the pain to discolor or the glue will eat into the body painwork. Once you remove, it is very ugly.

I have removed my car side rubber trims.. damm ugly !! Can show you next meetup.

Put reverse sensors to the front via a manual switch. When you park, turn it on.

You remember my rear has 4 sensors..you need to put one at the corner if you do parallel parking often.

if i install this 'concealed' sensors front n back, any idea if it will cost more than $100?, or $200 labour n parts???

thanks

I think he needs those computerise adjustable height suspensions and springs.

Cost about $15K for a Tein Set.

Good idea.... i think Lester may have lobang..... thanks thumbsup.gifthumbsup.gif .....

how's spring coming along??..... got cherry blossom ornot??

tweaked your wheels?? ....

Edited by Super7

[thumbsup][thumbsup]

Spring is really wet (literally), now still raining....at least not freezing cold liao [nod]

Maintaining Luna, still have to sort out some maintenance issues and just DIY-ed Crimestopper alarm in Luna [pirate]

btw, going to view a Ford Thunderbird later this week, 4.6 V8 baby!!! for a measly US$1.5k[sly]

Edited by Turbobrick