Yapsf Neutral Newbie August 14, 2006 Share August 14, 2006 Quote Why is it dangerous and illegal? I admit I don't know why.. but since driving school never taught me, i suspect a number of people out there don't know either. the typical L-plater gets zero opportunity to overtake from the left. and thus driving instructors tend to miss out on this point. when one overtakes "safely" even on the left, why is it dangerous, assuming one signals n checks blind spot before doing so? If overtaking from left lane is illegal, then it also makes sense that cars on the left lane MUST NOT travel faster than cars on the right lane, coz by doing so, it creates the opportunity for you to overtake from the left?? Sigh. If you see the left lane is clear, but a stupid vehicle occupying the right lane, must you be stuck behind the bloddy vehicle on the right? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear August 14, 2006 Share August 14, 2006 Quote sometimes, no choice bt to overtake on the left.. I don find it dangerous leh.. ==================== U will once u have a serious accident. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged August 14, 2006 Share August 14, 2006 Aiyoh just don't see it as over-taking. Just filter to the slower line and travel as per normal lor. If need to, filter back to the right lane once you have driven passed the road hogger. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carndablues Clutched August 14, 2006 Share August 14, 2006 Quote That explains why traffic flow is better in melb even during peak hour since we're allowed to overtake on the left here. As boy put it... it because of co*k drivers that such a rule is in place. I would suggest you read the traffic regulations again, overtaking on the left in Melbourne is illegal! The traffic flow is better because road-hogging on the right lane on the freeways is illegal! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear August 14, 2006 Share August 14, 2006 coz by doing so, it creates the opportunity for you to overtake from the left?? Sigh. If you see the left lane is clear, but a stupid vehicle occupying the right lane, must you be stuck behind the bloddy vehicle on the right? ============================= When u drive a "right-hand drive" vehicle, your visiblity is much better on your right side. U can still overtake on the left but u r taking a risk, cos if u have an accident, u will b in the wrong & most prob your insurance premiums will go sky high. U can also drive against the flow of traffic, dont switch on your lights at night, overtake when reaching the top of a hill. There r so many things u can do. Enjoy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Getzoooom Neutral Newbie August 14, 2006 Share August 14, 2006 (edited) Quote Just do it when got emergency...else dont so it dangerous la....can check better BS.. if there is no road hogger on lane 1.. who would want to overtake from left... so, if you see someone overtaking from left.. that means there must be some road hogger on the right. Edited August 14, 2006 by Getzoooom Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beanoyip Turbocharged August 14, 2006 Share August 14, 2006 My theory would be, there might be some cars stopping on the left of the road. Thus its dangerous. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic August 14, 2006 Share August 14, 2006 Quote I wish I'm still a student... You think I overtake from my left for the fun of it?? Yes, don't harm others by not overtaking from the left and continue smelling the butt of road hoggers at lane 1. So road hoggers are harmless and those who overtake them from the left are harmful?? Whatever u do is at your own risk and please dun harm others in the process. Have safety in mind. My mistake i should have put "whatever" in my sentence. But still I dunno how u interpret my sentence into what u've mentioned above??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sunray Neutral Newbie August 14, 2006 Share August 14, 2006 No worries, bro. Btw, who causes one to overtake from the left and what should one do if overtaking from the left is considered a risky act? Of course most drivers know that overtaking from the left can be dangerous. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wontonman70 Neutral Newbie August 14, 2006 Share August 14, 2006 unless u are driving in vietnam or taiwan, or else die-die also must stick to "overtaking only on right" rule...i guess it's due to blind spot issue - right-hand drive easier to see blind-spot on right side than left, and vice-versa. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic August 14, 2006 Share August 14, 2006 Actually I've encounter b4 a driver trying to overtake using the left lane by filtering out of the middle lane and hit a motorcyclist in the process (Not me lah). Just dun loose your cool even when there's a so call road hogger in front of u. I believe a lot of accidents are caused by drivers who are impatient rather than caused by road hoggers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blu_g Neutral Newbie August 14, 2006 Share August 14, 2006 Quote sometimes, no choice bt to overtake on the left.. I don find it dangerous leh.. ==================== U will once u have a serious accident. Choy!! I checked everywhere b4 I overtake.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sunray Neutral Newbie August 14, 2006 Share August 14, 2006 Thanks for sharing your encounter. If road hogger in the center lane, can just overtake from the right. I will get impatient caused by road hoggers at lane 1 but of course, must check clear before overtaking from the left. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gantan88 Clutched August 14, 2006 Share August 14, 2006 Actually i find there is nothing wrong overtaking from the left as long as path is clear. During learning phase, we are taught only to overtake from the right because if all drivers are 'mould' to become a driver who only overtake from the right, there will be uniformity and consistency, accidents then will reduce. I believe most P plates drivers after they just passed and got their license, they are more inclined to follow what is being taught in school - overtake on the right. So, P plate drivers - lack of experience - overtake from right = less chance of accident. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
W2K_83 1st Gear August 14, 2006 Share August 14, 2006 Quote Why is it dangerous and illegal? I admit I don't know why.. but since driving school never taught me, i suspect a number of people out there don't know either. the typical L-plater gets zero opportunity to overtake from the left. and thus driving instructors tend to miss out on this point. when one overtakes "safely" even on the left, why is it dangerous, assuming one signals n checks blind spot before doing so? Simple cos we are driving on the right, we may be able to see the left side mirror if any cars coming from behind but may not be able to have a clear view of the cars in front on the left, example you are travelling on a 2 lane traffic, you are on the right lane and in front of you is a truck, you gonna overtake that truck so you look at your left side mirror and sees that there's no car coming, but what you cannot see is the front left as the truck blocks your view, can you imagine if you overtook the truck and there's a vehicle or truck or motorbike on the left?? or worst a breakdown vehicle/truck? you probably see stars after that.... In places where they practice left hand drive, they may be asking the same question as you, how come cannot overtake from the RIGHT??????????hehehee Cheeers! I don't think that is the reason. By right, you shld be keeping a safe distance away from the vehicle in front such that you can a good angle of the view infront and not restrict yourself to only see the vehicle in front. When driving behind a truck, you shld keep a further distance away so that you have more time to react because you hardly can see anything directly in front, and also so that you can have a wider angle of the front view that enables you to see what is in front on the lanes beside you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahbengdriver 6th Gear August 14, 2006 Share August 14, 2006 Boyboy ah, Me overtake by left 50% of times n by right side 50% of times . bcos hor, the problem these days hor, is that a lot of people cruise lesiurely on the middle n right lanes.....some even road hogging. U horn at them they deaf, u flash high beam at them they blind. So instead of wasting time behind these arses, I just signal left n overtake these days I go to work by CTE I also end up driving faster on the left most lanes. for some reason, our right overtaking lanes every morning sure got some kuniang drivers cruising, must be listening to class 95. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Turbocharged August 14, 2006 Share August 14, 2006 Quote A lots of things driving school didn't teach us but at times, we're forced to do something that is not taught from the book. Just be careful, it should be ok to overtake from the left. I will do that as I can't stand following behind road hoggers. Anyway, practice makes perfect. In Msia, we overtake from the left driving on the grass patch. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Megalord Neutral Newbie August 14, 2006 Share August 14, 2006 I guess it doesn't take long for a patient driver to turn inpatient behind that of a road "hogger". ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...