Megadark 2nd Gear August 14, 2006 Share August 14, 2006 If I'm on the center lane(s) I always overtake on the right. If I'm on the first lane and I wish to overtake, wouldn't it be more dangerous to do so on the right then on the left? But seriously, motorists who drive on the 1st lane at the speed limit when the road is clear is really lame. How do you expect other motorists to overtake on the right in times of urgency? Motorists who travel below the speed limit on the 1st lane really need to have their driving tests retaken. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rustyz 5th Gear August 14, 2006 Share August 14, 2006 Ya lor left overtaking wasn't taught as a illegal thing. I think as long as traffic is clear, U signal your intention with ample notice. Left overtaking is fine. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Takanori Neutral Newbie August 14, 2006 Share August 14, 2006 (edited) Normally I will travel between left & middle lane at nite where there's not much vehicle. I do tat coz tat's the only way I can zoom pass lots of hoggers on the 'overtaking' lane. I can get my destination faster in this way lolx. Nowadays car so cheap, lotsa kuku ppl got $ buy car n coz so much hazard on the rd. Still rem 1 occasion when 1 lady driver holding a packed box eating n happily chatting wif co-pilot, travelling at 80km/h on the 1st lane. I need to tail gate behind her 4 quite sum time til middle lane clear of car. Juz to remind u nowdays honks n high beams r useless coz dey tink dey paid rd tax so can yaya on the rd. The other prob I encounter is the speed camera at PIE near BKE exit. Though the speed limit there is 80km/h but the legal max speed we can go is 90km/h. Noticed lotsa auntie or ah pek lyk to brake til less than 80 and coz sudden jam on the rd. Got 1 time maintaining 80km+/h behind a MERC(auntie) suddenly she jam brake upon the speed camera, lucky my speed not so fast n react in time. I see my meter n show 70km/h but tat merc still not travelling away from me any distance. Supposing she's at ard tat speed lolx. Edited August 14, 2006 by Takanori Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear August 14, 2006 Share August 14, 2006 Why is it dangerous and illegal? I admit I don't know why.. but since driving school never taught me, i suspect a number of people out there don't know either. the typical L-plater gets zero opportunity to overtake from the left. and thus driving instructors tend to miss out on this point. when one overtakes "safely" even on the left, why is it dangerous, assuming one signals n checks blind spot before doing so? i did not know it is danger... why do u say its danger??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nissy Neutral Newbie August 14, 2006 Share August 14, 2006 Why is it dangerous and illegal? I admit I don't know why.. but since driving school never taught me, i suspect a number of people out there don't know either. the typical L-plater gets zero opportunity to overtake from the left. and thus driving instructors tend to miss out on this point. when one overtakes "safely" even on the left, why is it dangerous, assuming one signals n checks blind spot before doing so? -------------------------------------------- According to basic theory handbook, overtaking on the left is NOT illegal...but you should follow certain rules.. *take precaution *watchout for potential danger *notify the vehicle in front *overtake normally and safely (as how you overtake on right) and also as quicly as possible overtaking on the left is illegal only when you do it in a reckless manner. most of the time I overtake on the left ...bcos kukus, aunties and taki drivers force me to do that... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madwolf Neutral Newbie August 14, 2006 Share August 14, 2006 The other day I was travelling on the right most lane overtaking a Lorry on the center lane. I was travelling at about 5kmh above the speed limit and suddently a car out of nowhere come behind me and high beam. Immediately I signal my intention to filter to center lane. This impatient guy already try to overtake me on the left lane and nearly crash into me as I was moving to the center lane. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Irene Neutral Newbie August 14, 2006 Share August 14, 2006 Can i just check... Morning on PIE, traffic police around. Most cars became mice and travel 80km/h. There was this sunny in front slow like nobody's business. So i signal left to move to middle lane, which now l'm in front of the TP and went 110km approx to overtake the slow sunny on the right... is it ok? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gantan88 Clutched August 14, 2006 Share August 14, 2006 I guess if the TP didnt catch up with you and ask u to pull over, u r fine. Those on-the-road TP usually ask u to pull over at the shoulder and summon u. Those TP stationed at the roadside. expressway shoulder will catch u using camera. Logical? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joneses Neutral Newbie August 14, 2006 Share August 14, 2006 of course its okay.. since already break the speed limit, break another overtaking by left also no problem. Thats why when i travelling at speed limit, and got car behind pushing me, i wun give way one.. since they break 1 traffic rule already, another one also sup sup sui right? the worst are those pushing me despite me also overtaking other cars, just not as fast as he/she wants to.. this ppl i will just Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear August 14, 2006 Share August 14, 2006 sometimes, no choice bt to overtake on the left.. I don find it dangerous leh.. ==================== U will once u have a serious accident. Choy!! I checked everywhere b4 I overtake.. ========================= Didn't mean that I wish u to have an accident but even if u checked, sometimes someone else might just shoot past on your left which will cause it. That's why it's called an "accident". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear August 14, 2006 Share August 14, 2006 was the TP on the bridge holding a camera or rding a bike then??? if he was holding a camera on the bridge,u might kena... cos the max in sg is only 90km/hr...plus another 10km/hr is the most 100km/hr... if the tp was riding and did not stopped u,u shd be fine... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic August 14, 2006 Share August 14, 2006 (edited) Why is it dangerous and illegal? I admit I don't know why.. but since driving school never taught me, i suspect a number of people out there don't know either. the typical L-plater gets zero opportunity to overtake from the left. and thus driving instructors tend to miss out on this point. when one overtakes "safely" even on the left, why is it dangerous, assuming one signals n checks blind spot before doing so? -------------------------------------------- According to basic theory handbook, overtaking on the left is NOT illegal...but you should follow certain rules.. *take precaution *watchout for potential danger *notify the vehicle in front *overtake normally and safely (as how you overtake on right) and also as quicly as possible overtaking on the left is illegal only when you do it in a reckless manner. most of the time I overtake on the left ...bcos kukus, aunties and taki drivers force me to do that... Hey guys, must we paste our mobile phone numberson on our rear windscreen so as to sms or "notify" each other when overtaking? I cannot believe they put this in the theory book. Edited August 14, 2006 by Watwheels Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear August 14, 2006 Author Share August 14, 2006 That's bcos lanes on the left have cars which are travelling at a "slower" speed since right lanes are for overtaking puposes whereby cars travel faster. U switch lanes to the left usually is to slow down and filter to exit the highway. If ppl can also overtake on the left dan the highway would be in chaos. See the light? That explains why traffic flow is better in melb even during peak hour since we're allowed to overtake on the left here. As boy put it... it because of co*k drivers that such a rule is in place. aust is right hand drive just like Singapore,so overtaking on the left is really legal there? now i'm confused.. argh! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear August 14, 2006 Author Share August 14, 2006 over taking on the left....Lets say u wanna cut into the second lane. Happen so there is this car wanna cut into the second lane from the third lane too.. cnt imagine wht will happen if both cars do it at the same time.. this is wht happen to me before.. i get it, but sometimes u just have to filter left, won;'t you be just as likely to encounter this scenario? Another reason is left lane is full of slow n big vehicles..if yur left view is block.. chance are when u wanna overtake. yur speed is high. Wht if u cant see and the speed is to high and one might Bang into a slower vehicle. Proably thts y fast vehicles on the right. slow on teh left.... ok this makes sense, esp when overtaking, one speeds up and when filtering, one slows down. ok i think now i get the first part.. me SLOW Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear August 14, 2006 Author Share August 14, 2006 Why is it dangerous and illegal? I admit I don't know why.. but since driving school never taught me, i suspect a number of people out there don't know either. the typical L-plater gets zero opportunity to overtake from the left. and thus driving instructors tend to miss out on this point. when one overtakes "safely" even on the left, why is it dangerous, assuming one signals n checks blind spot before doing so? i did not know it is danger... why do u say its danger??? a lot of pple here have given explaination. i just learnt from this thread myself. my lao ba only tell me it is illegal and dangerous. if everyone (considering a number of sensible folks!) here says otherwise then i must correct him. seems like my old man is correct! hahahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear August 14, 2006 Author Share August 14, 2006 actually not every traffic rule is spelled out in the basic theory handbook. can anyone confirm this? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear August 14, 2006 Share August 14, 2006 notify the vehicle in front ========================== Think this refers to flashing your headlights or tooting your horn to get his attention. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nissy Neutral Newbie August 14, 2006 Share August 14, 2006 Why is it dangerous and illegal? I admit I don't know why.. but since driving school never taught me, i suspect a number of people out there don't know either. the typical L-plater gets zero opportunity to overtake from the left. and thus driving instructors tend to miss out on this point. when one overtakes "safely" even on the left, why is it dangerous, assuming one signals n checks blind spot before doing so? -------------------------------------------- According to basic theory handbook, overtaking on the left is NOT illegal...but you should follow certain rules.. *take precaution *watchout for potential danger *notify the vehicle in front *overtake normally and safely (as how you overtake on right) and also as quicly as possible overtaking on the left is illegal only when you do it in a reckless manner. most of the time I overtake on the left ...bcos kukus, aunties and taki drivers force me to do that... Hey guys, must we paste our mobile phone numberson on our rear windscreen so as to sms or "notify" each other when overtaking? I cannot believe they put this in the theory book. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- *notify the vehicle in front Friend, this point is not in our local Basic theory book, but one of the driving theory book that I read b4 mention this point. notify doesn't mean sms or email or phone call.....use road signals like high beam, indicator etc. to alert the vehicle in front ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...