Does a P-plate count for anything?

Boyboy

Does a P-plate count for anything?  

67 members have voted

1. 1.

• Damn those P-platers! I'll cut them off and squeeze them like no tomorrow!!
    • I'm not a P-plater, and I treat them like any other driver
    • I'm not a P-plater, and I give more leeway to P-platers
    • I am/When I was/ a P-plater, people purposely cut me off
    • I am/When I was/ a P-plater, they treat me like normal drivers
    • I am/When I was/ a P-plater, people gave way to me more

My P-plate days are drawing to a close, and I have some thoughts as to whether this stupid piece of plastic costing abt 10 bux is of any use whatsoever.

When I was newer, I don;t think most drivers gave me any leeway. Now of course i can hold my own anywhere [sly].

I don't suffer non-p-plated idiots lightly, but i will give way to ding-dong p-platers when i encounter them, cos i was once a greenhorn, and probably have been guilty of such stunts on the road at some point in time.

Opinions, from experienced drivers and triangle plates alike?

i never put on a p-plate before, cos i only bought my van 5 years after getting license

luckily i still can remember everything that i have learnt [:p]

actually the bloody sign makes other drivers drive faster IMHO esp when u wanna lane change.......

last time I still scared LL stuck cannot cut in now got room just cut in as long as I know enuff for my car to get in front of his. dun give way got guts bang my ass lor I need the $$ [sly]

but seriously I think drivers are getting very siao recently.

just now drive from PIE paya lebra to tamp got 2 "gentlemen" cut lane like madman [hur]

make me jam brakes [sweatdrop]

bro, if its during slow traffic that u do the "just cut in as long as I know enuff for my car to get in front of his" stunt might be ok, but please don't do this on fast traffic moving situations... [:|]

I do have more patience for p-plate drivers eg. give them more time, more space, etc. But if they drive rectlessly, I'll also make sure they know it.

Edited by Silver_blade

why the focus on P-platers then? or maybe u meant all reckless drivers, regardless of P-status? [;)]

but somehow, it irks me more if the reckless driver is a p-plater, even though i am a P-plater myself.

i wonder who say they will cut the p-platers off. own up! hahaha..

p-platers are like "kids" of the road, i dun mean childish, but "blur" and have poorer judgement. sometimes we may not judge speed and distance accurately, just try to bear with it. but if we pull stunts, show no mercy [sly] (for me, i will generously horn any driver, P plate, lady etc.. if they do stupid stuff)

i must say that is quite amazing [thumbsup], esp the manual gear part. even though i started driving manual a few months after i passed, i had some problems initially. will stall on practically every trip [furious][shakehead]

Being a P plate is sign to warn other driver...So the old bird will never allow to let P plate driver cut in their lane...They will speed up to avoid P Plate cut in to their lane.

For Me I am neutral toward P plate....since they are licence driver so I don't see any difference

Edited by Rustyz

but what i wonder is do we get bullied *because* of the plate or because we are simply not skilled/inexperienced.

I used to have to horn/highbeam a lot soon after i started driving (at very first i was too stressed to even react and give people what they ask for). now i find some uneasy co-existence with fellow road users.

my dad who drives the family car most of the time doesn't mention any more problems than before the p-plate.. [:/]

of course this thread is not meant to come up with concrete findings.. that will really need a real study. wonder what this field comes under [laugh]

a p-plate is like a sign saying " i'm a nub noobie, PLEASE eat for for breafast, lunch, dinner and supper!!!!"

Edited by Evildoer

Yap..totally agreed..its inviting other people to bully u esp the taxi drivers. [whip][furious]

I used to put on the P-plate when i just got my license for 2 months. Then when i realised the sickening pattern of being bullied almost all the time, i decided to take off my P-plate - I've not regretted taking that action for the last 1+yrs of driving.

I think it depends on the car u'r driving. If u'r driving a jag, porsche or a prancing horse with a p-plate i think...ok I think ppl will tend to give way. Of course if u drive very slow as if u'r learning how to drive anyone will definitely loose patience.

Somemore u'r driving a van.... ppl wun give u a second look whether u p-plate or not. Our society is like that, just like work environment when ppl see u got that blur sotong newbbie face surely kena pushed around what.

Dun u agree? Likewise when u become lao jiao u'll also take the chance to walk all over the newbbie.

As for the p-plate thing, it's like telling other drivers to siam dun get too close. [laugh]

when i just passed, i drove my dad's mpv with a p-plate 6 yrs back, drivers than seem to give way more to me, of course there will be a few encounters with arses who simply does the opposite.

then recentely, my wife passed, and put on her p-plate, and i noticed drivers nowadays don't give way, in fact, they become more aggressive around you, few give way.. [shakehead] and thats when i'm driving..

so now i make use of the p-plate [idea] and drive like a ding dong [sly][:p][laugh]

As for the p-plate thing, it's like telling other drivers to siam dun get too close.

=============================================

[laugh][laugh] ya i have to agree but not for everyone!

when i become lau jiao i dun want to walk over newbie. cos i was once one. and besides, no kick. i do feel shiok whenever i get to bully taxi drivers though [sly]. usually manage to squeeze them when i want cos they dun expect a p-plated van to do this to them. but those who drive sensibly or simply too powderful then i will give way