Hyun Neutral Newbie August 13, 2006 Share August 13, 2006 trying to dampen my license plate but only need that amount of bitumen sheet (or any other suitable material?) .. but how to buy just that small quantity.. i suppose Cable Hunter is a good budget brand that's effective? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eddy216 Neutral Newbie August 13, 2006 Share August 13, 2006 (edited) I have some aluminium backed bitumen sheets leftover from my DIY, 'bout 1m x 1m. Let me know if you're interested. Edited August 13, 2006 by Eddy216 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hyun Neutral Newbie August 13, 2006 Author Share August 13, 2006 hehe i finger itchy went to use 1mm thick double sided tape to pad it already. so far so good, will observe, see if need thicker material, but looks stable. thanks! btw u interested in using aircon foam to surround ur front midbass? focus the sound more instead of letting it diffuse within the door panel. thinking of sharing some airfon foam - one piece i think 3 x 4 feet quite big. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eddy216 Neutral Newbie August 13, 2006 Share August 13, 2006 Hmmm, I'm interested. I think this foam can also serve as insulation too? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hyun Neutral Newbie August 13, 2006 Author Share August 13, 2006 ya u can insulate ur subwoofer voice coils.. then the heat is on, then can smell bbq... i'm actually also looking for aircon tube insulation foam, hopefully with silver foil on the outside. maybe can find both items at the same place. there's a place at Bras Basah called Asia something, don't know much about it, will try to hunt it down. tricky thing about these aircon shops is they tend to open only office hours .. hard to hunt them down after office hours ... it looks like foam about 3 x 4 feet, 1 inch thick might be costly at about $24, but if get thinner ones maybe cheaper. and since we're surrounding the speaker, a 1 inch thick strip forming a circle would be harder to bend into a circle than 2 layers of 1/2 inch strips bound together.... so maybe 1/2 inch is a better idea. more cost effective too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eddy216 Neutral Newbie August 13, 2006 Share August 13, 2006 haha, no what I meant was to use the aircon foam as padding between the door panels. How 'bout this Asiatic Refrigeration, the place where you can buy Superlon, perhaps they also sell A/C foam too? I think they are open on Saturdays. Perhaps we can arrange to go down this Saturday, 'cos I also want to get some Superlon material for my car's roof. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear August 13, 2006 Share August 13, 2006 u want armaflex ah? its called "north west refrigeration company".. (or maybe north east).. its in ubi area. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hyun Neutral Newbie August 13, 2006 Author Share August 13, 2006 if the asiatic ref is at whampoa area, that one only open saturday office hours. if it's the bras basah one, i dont know. cos i work office hrs on saturday, so i cant go unless after work ... door panel? oh u feel singapore not hot enuff, u want to insulate urself in ur car ah, hehehe then can cook with the subwoofer coil together to a ripe crisp :) u want to use it as soundproofing isit? sarong has interesting soundproofing ideas, i dont know in detail, maybe gotta ask him. headshok: cut door panel at midbass area to put in a grill (use back my CDT grill) wonder where to do, wonder how much huh .... i realised the hole letting music out in my door panel is about 30%-40% of the midbass surface area. most of the sound not coming out hehehe. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eddy216 Neutral Newbie August 13, 2006 Share August 13, 2006 Hey thanks! Btw, did you find that 0GA ring terminal for your grounding? Armaflex or Superlon, which one is best for the roof? Basically, to reduce heat in the cabin when parked under direct sunlight. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear August 13, 2006 Share August 13, 2006 i found one shop at SLT, outside got big poster with all the actual sizes of the ring terminal, but not gold plated one., but it was closed. what the name of the shop again ah? sorry ah.. forgot. as for the armaflex and superloen, that one i duno man. but i hear pple say put dynamat on ur roof, it will keep the car cooler. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eddy216 Neutral Newbie August 13, 2006 Share August 13, 2006 (edited) I'm ok if you like to meet up after work on Saturday. Precisely, it is Singapore that is hot thus I want to see how I can further reduce heat in the cabin. I'll be coming down for the meetup on this coming Wednesday, so I will ask Sarong then. Edited August 13, 2006 by Eddy216 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eddy216 Neutral Newbie August 13, 2006 Share August 13, 2006 (edited) I see i see, ok thanks man! Off topic a bit, where did you buy your RF T1 from and if you don't mind sharing, how much did you get it for? Edited August 13, 2006 by Eddy216 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear August 13, 2006 Share August 13, 2006 haha.. RF T1 i hand carrie dback from BKK. i went on a community trip to china last june and after that, i stopped by BKK for shopping, so when my other team mates go MBK to shop for clothes, i roam the streets lookin for ICE, haha. i got a GOOD DEAL for the T1.(too good until cannot say), but it was definitely cheaper than singapore back then. now price drop a lot liao. u can go diachi and check it out. heheh.. the reason why its my little baby is cos, i had a hard time carrying it back (cos i bought 6 neo tubes from china too). haha.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eddy216 Neutral Newbie August 13, 2006 Share August 13, 2006 Oh I din know Daichi got bring in RF T1s. Ok, I'll go check them out. Thanks for the info man! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eddy216 Neutral Newbie August 13, 2006 Share August 13, 2006 Hey I misread your post, pai seh pai seh. I see if there are any other places that sell the insulation stuff and open till late on Saturdays. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hyun Neutral Newbie August 13, 2006 Author Share August 13, 2006 > Hey I misread your post, pai seh pai seh. misread? dun have midread leh .. got meh? anyway the post (which is a different topic from the actual topic liao) now is more about the aircon foam, heh. since i already did the license plate thing. since u're one of the DIY kings, know of what good place to cut door panel to incorporate a speaker grill? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Room430 Neutral Newbie August 13, 2006 Share August 13, 2006 Quote I have some aluminium backed bitumen sheets leftover from my DIY, 'bout 1m x 1m. Let me know if you're interested. You still letting go your bitumen sheet? I just need a little and your sheet is just the right size. PM me if ok. Thanks! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eddy216 Neutral Newbie August 14, 2006 Share August 14, 2006 (edited) I guess most ICE installers should be able to enlarge the hole in the door panel to fit the speaker grill. But if you DIY, then you'll need a jigsaw, a drill and someone to hold on to the door panel while you cut it up. I don't think you can buy circular cutters that can cut a diameter of up to 6.5"... well, I've not seen one that could do so anyway. Edited August 14, 2006 by Eddy216 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...