Chisiang 2nd Gear August 5, 2006 Author Share August 5, 2006 I think that guy who got up the police van was me sometimes ago. But I pass the test at cantoment station so I drove home after that. What a waste of time. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jusnel 6th Gear August 5, 2006 Share August 5, 2006 its was you??? serious ar? you know where or not? its the Duxton Hill area, got a small car park in middle of the pubs. got valet service.... i swz tat guy is not young guy, wearing office long sleeve shirt.... drivin merc.... was you ar? oh dear.... small world... hope you no problem with TP tat night.... those 2 TPs. sibei K L, right? farking KL faces.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Woodlands Neutral Newbie August 5, 2006 Share August 5, 2006 True. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seevic Neutral Newbie August 5, 2006 Share August 5, 2006 Police is not allowed to set up road blocks or check ppl just outside drinking places. there are certain guidelines to where police is allowed to set up road blocks or even check for alcohol levels. hmm..so does anyone knows what are the "guidelines"? pretty sure if they wana catch, they can easily set up the roadblock around the vicinity of the pub areas.. wonder where can i get a breath analyser? at least i can drive with "a peace of mind". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chisiang 2nd Gear August 5, 2006 Author Share August 5, 2006 oh, not me liao. me kena along the parking by the street just opposite Duxton Hill Hotel. Embarrassing moment. It was a rainny night around 12 am. Parked the car and as me and my friend were walking towards maxwell market, a guy came out of nowhere shouted at us. We thought he was crazy person so ignored him. Then he blocked a squad car that happened to pass by in the rain withou an umbrella! Then he shouted to the police 'they drink driving' and pointed at us. My friend just tug me say 'let's go he's crazy'. But then the police stop us. Took a breath test on the spot. First time, green light. Ask to blow again. Second time also green light. Officer getting impatient. Ask to blow again and insist I blow harder. So I blew really hard this time.... yellow!!!! Suddenly the officer looked very happy and radioed for van to pick me up. Then just stood there and waited for the van to arrive. Then another officer ask me how much I drank. I told him we had some beer at dinner which was like around 6 plus which was like 6 hours ago. So he sigh and said that actually the other officer can let us go but now got alot of pple watching so cannot lose face. I was told that I cannot eat, drink, smoke, or go toilet between now till they took a breath test with a bigger machine. So went to cantoment station and give the bigger machine a blow. Past! But the machine registered some alcohol so they said TP reservered the rights to charge me still!! Was told to report to TP the next day for report. Then gave me phone and call my friend to bail me ($5000) out! My friend came and did the paper work. When I was out it was already 3.30am liao. There goes my supper! I then request the police to drop me back at where they had pick me up but they say cannot Next day I reported to TP. Kena fine $300 and 9 demerit points!! But the charge is dangerous driving!!? After paying fine I was greeted with 'Have a nice day' Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear August 5, 2006 Share August 5, 2006 well it depends what you had to drink, how many you had to drink, and how your body reacts to it. everyone is different, so there really is no "set" time. The reason I ask is because sometimes I have a few beer during dinner say around 6 pm, then shop around, then catch a movie, by then come out already almost 1 am liao. 7 hours in between so can still drive not?? If even after 7 hours also cannot, then imagine this scenario... Car park at home and went drinking. Last drink at 1 am at pub then take taxi home zzz. Then next morning wake up, drive to work at 8.00 am. Like that also 7 hours in between so theoritically cannot drive Sometimes I wonder why clubs like Zouk built such a big car park for? And if police really want to enforce the drink driving law they should setup road blocks immediately outside clubs and pubs. Police is not allowed to set up road blocks or check ppl just outside drinking places. there are certain guidelines to where police is allowed to set up road blocks or even check for alcohol levels. my own experience in Duxton Hill area, 2 TP bikes purposely wait at the small carpark with all the pubs there. anybody driving out of that carpart, TP will stop the car and take the breath test. this frustrates alot of ppl there. my personal friend, one of pub owner there, called 999 and complain abt the 2 TPs. immediately after he hanged up the 999 call, the TP got a radio call and i can see from his bloody face that he was being screwed from the caller, left-right-centre. immediately after the radio call, the 2 TPs just ride away.... LL. they wear blue uniform one, not the white one. before the radio call came in, they did caught a person driving a Merc for high alochol contents. A police van came by to pick him up and a tow truck to tow the Merc away. bloody TPs...... so we have our own rights, against police. just tat most of us are not aware of them. There is nothing in the police guidelines abt not being able to setup a roadblock near drinking establishments. there are certain "road conditions" in which they can't but other than that nothing. Sorry not gonna tell you guys any of the guidelines. I'm sure it just coincidence that the 2 TP's had to go off. If it was me (every PO has to go through ops room duties) who answered the phone when you friend called, i would have given him sh|t and if i was a 999 operator (they're too slack in sg) i would also have charged him for misusing an emergency hotline. In fact IMHO they are doing the right thing. why wait till they drive far off and hurt someone rather when you can stop them at a place they can park their vehcs safely and securely. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear August 5, 2006 Share August 5, 2006 in an ideal world. there are much more effective ways to stamp out smoking, prostitution, drink driving etc (examples only, smokers pls dun get offended). but why isn't the MOST effective method implemented? for practical and other reasons only the at the top will know errm both prostitution and smoking are legal in sg bro Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear August 5, 2006 Share August 5, 2006 Took a breath test on the spot. First time, green light. Ask to blow again. Second time also green light. Officer getting impatient. Ask to blow again and insist I blow harder. So I blew really hard this time.... yellow!!!! Suddenly the officer looked very happy and radioed for van to pick me up. The green light signifies that the system is ready and the noise tells us if a reading has been taken. in your case, the reason the officer looked impatient was prolly coz you werent blowing hard enough so it couldnt get a reading. After the "reading taken" noise comes out, the green, amber or red light will come on. Your amber reading must have been quite high for them to bring you back to get tested. So went to cantoment station and give the bigger machine a blow. Past! But the machine registered some alcohol so they said TP reservered the rights to charge me still!! HurWas told to report to TP the next day for report. Then gave me phone and call my friend to bail me ($5000) out! My friend came and did the paper work. When I was out it was already 3.30am liao. There goes my supper! I then request the police to drop me back at where they had pick me up but they say cannot Thats not right... you can only be charged for drunk driving when under the limit (with some alcohol) when you get into an accident. Next day I reported to TP. Kena fine $300 and 9 demerit points!! But the charge is dangerous driving!!? this also isnt right. why didnt u ask abt the dangerous driving charge? only possibility (though remote) is that you we not driving properly and someone reported you for bad driving (don't you think it was strange the cop car passed you guys when it did???) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jusnel 6th Gear August 5, 2006 Share August 5, 2006 i'm sure there must be some guidelines in manning road blocks. the TPs are literally harressing ppl there. they are actually at the car park entrance/exit! how can they do that? its harressment, man! well, my pub owner friend apologised to the 999 call first when he got thru the line, and later screwed KPKB the 999 call. i think he got the right to protest this kind of harressment. its affecting the pub biz. imagine every damm weekend, TP is there. the customers wont come back to pubs. the garmnet might as well close all the Duxton pubs! cannot be, right? not logical la! anyway i overheard a police reservist there complaining abt the 2 TPs. He insisted there are guidelines to manning road blocks. he said something like certain distance (km) away from establishments. and these 2 TPs are out of bounds already. no la, there was no concidence tat the 2 TPs had to go away. the radio call came in straight after my friend complain. The TP face turned sour and was trying hard to explain to the radio caller. i was just standing in front of them (i very kapo) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear August 5, 2006 Share August 5, 2006 there are guidlines but they have nothing to do with establisments. more like certain "road conditions" need to be met. also if it was straight away, its unlikely to be your friends call. It takes some time for these scenarios before we get to them. we watch our own anyway if they had left beacuse of a call, it would have been from someone of importance, or too many ppl have called so "give some face". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jusnel 6th Gear August 5, 2006 Share August 5, 2006 ah, if you mentioned 'road conditions', you mean main road and small road? that car park only has a small lane (1 or 2 way only) for cars to go in and out. is this the reason? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear August 5, 2006 Share August 5, 2006 I know that stretch. a friend of mine used to manage a KTV there and nope number of lanes has nothing to do with it. what were you guys doing there Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jusnel 6th Gear August 5, 2006 Share August 5, 2006 what we were doing there? drinking la!!! yr friend KTV owner there also? which one? maybe we know each other eh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear August 5, 2006 Share August 5, 2006 (edited) nah, friend was a manager. his boss was an aquaintance. This singh guy. it was up front along tanjong pagar rd opposite the big KTV. unfortunately i can't remember the name of the place... I forgot to mention my friend is now managing that pub near the 7 eleven and hyundai stealership along bt timah. Edited August 5, 2006 by Elfenstar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Polarus Neutral Newbie August 6, 2006 Share August 6, 2006 Actually, you can be charged for drink driving if you are under the prescribed limit WITHOUT getting into an accident. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear August 6, 2006 Share August 6, 2006 in an ideal world. there are much more effective ways to stamp out smoking, prostitution, drink driving etc (examples only, smokers pls dun get offended). but why isn't the MOST effective method implemented? for practical and other reasons only the at the top will know errm both prostitution and smoking are legal in sg bro yes i know!! but just trying to express that in many areas, more can be done, but the authorities aren;'t 100% an@l on everything.. i'm sure they know abt the problem. btw u marta ah? hahahaah NS or reg or ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear August 6, 2006 Share August 6, 2006 even if driving normally? not weaving, keep within lane and never commit any offence? pls tell me where u got tt from ie u are tp/police or have friends who are. i wanna know so i can tell pple i know who drink and drive. i seldom drink and will never drink and drive. some of my friends have a damn cavalier attitude, and i wanna tell them "i told u so". otherwise it will never get into their thick heads. btw, abt 6 yrs ago, my uncle wrapped his honda civic around a tree in bukit panjang. i think the tree still bears scars. autopsy showed 100mg of blood alcohol. he was speeding and tried to avoid a motorcyclist or sth.. then crash into the tree. at least he didn;'t take anyone with him. left two sons and a widow. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear August 6, 2006 Share August 6, 2006 ex-reg... eh tell u a secret ah... if you want to know whether the economy is going to drop, make friends with a pros and ask her when the number of customers drop. when it starts dropping, its time to pull your money out ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...