Fuse box for HU

Jusnel

hi all,

just want to understand abt this problem.

my HU, rockford fosgate, suddenly cant play or listen radio. like no power input. but the buttons lights are on. just tat i cannot activate the radio or CD to play, and there is no display and time shown.

so i happen to drop by TS auto. the guy check check, said that at the car battery, the wires are somehow loose. thats why no power input. he said its best to put a fuse box there. i scratched my head. all along, i been using this HU, no problem at all and there was never a fuse box there.

he said $25 for fuse box. well, since its not expensive price to pay. i ok lor. he fixed it and its hanging next to the car battery.

now the HU is working perfectly fine.

my question: wat's this fuse box? (its a clear plastic tube with wires at both end) is it necessary?

i got no amp or woofer.

did i just kena chop for $25???? its a small amt anyway.

wah seh!! zun boh..if u can, take a pic for me and post it here.let me take a look wat kinda of 'fuse' he put and where he run the wire to.

my take is that most prob by some freak accident, ur HU fuse blew (there's a fuse behind ur HU).

but the reason why the are lights on ur HU is prob cos the RF HU has a seperate illum wire behind the HU that is hooked up to the car's ignition wire.

thus wat ur mechanic prob did was to run a wire from your battery to you HU POWER wire and bypassed the wire that is attached to the power wire at ur ignition harness.

in other words, i tink u kena tok jiat lat.

all that could be done was to take out HU, check the power wire, change the fuse.

gee, how much would the fuse cost? $1? 50cents?

if got chance, i will take a pic of the new fuse box and show here. it looks like a enlarged tube, like a 'topedo', with transparent plastic casing.

the shop is TS auto. the one at sembawang road, khatib camp. i thought they are pretty established and quite popular. so i just drop by.

there was another shop i went b4 this TS audio. they say my HU spoilt! must change! i knew straightaway they are trying to pull a fast on me!

haha..

the HU fuse,

u noe those kind of fuse that u find in the electrical adaptor? or its those "red" colour maxi fuse thats in ur car fuse box.

the torpedo fuse box is like overkill for just a HU.

like i said, most prob the fuse behind ur HU blew, but the reason why got light is cos the illum wire is still hooked up to ur ignition harness.so when u on the car, the light will be on.but no power to the main HU itself.

cheers.

> i thought they are pretty established and quite popular.

popular mah, cos good wat. they solved ur problem, unlike the "less popular" one beside it that asked u to change a few hundred dollar HU. they just solved it the $25 way instead of the $1 way. who ask u login this forum ... if u didn't login, u'd be glad u found a cheap $25 solution to your problem instead of a $300 solution ... heng ah, never change HU.

Installers 1 Customers 0

joking lah. glad u found out the truth. wat to do, this industry is plagued ... PLAGUED with parasites.

just recently rewired my stuff...the previous shop did a piss poor job that all i need to do was just tug a bit on the main power wire and the whole thing came loose from the fuse box.... [sweatdrop].

gosh....the previous guy obviously did not solder and secure the wires properly.

and of course there were more issues, but too lengthy to post here.

Oh well i guess if want to play ICE the only safe way is to know exatly wat u are doing. Most installers (reputable or otherwise) just seem to take the easy way out unless the customer roughly knows wat is going on [thumbsdown].

That being said there are good ones too. Just need to look for them [sly] lol

i am actually happy with $25 fuse. its cheap enough to kena chop head [laugh][laugh]

i told myself at the shop tat even kena chop head, its only $25. but coz of this $25 the shop want to chop my head, they can be assured i wont give them anymore biz at all!

this shop is "penny wise pound foolish"

want to chop, chop for more money mah.... only $25 also want to makan [shakehead][shakehead]

if they did do the correct thing, just to change the actual fuse, they may probably charge about $5.

so i kena chop $20 nett! [laugh][laugh] TS Auto - guys remember this shop! never ever go!

the other shop was a pure idiot shop! tell me tat my HU is spoilt and ask me to change! balls to them. i told the guy, "mine is Rockford Fosgate. you got this brand or not? what brand you have tat is as good as mine, for me to buy?" tat guy diam diam. didnt say anything already. they are selling all the normal brands like panasonic, sony, blah blah..... i see no up.

tis idiot shop is at the same location as Compass Point shop, upper thomson road. they are in same shop house building as the 7-11 shop.

aiyoh dun suan the jap brands until like that leh.. mine only pioneer :~(

> want to chop, chop for more money mah....

i think they see u go to the neighbour shop then come out, they know cannot chop $250 mah, so try try $25 lor. so in retrospect, they chopped the correct amount.

oh no. i went to the 2 shops at different days. they are not in same location.

TS is at Sembawang rd, the other idiot shop is in upper thomson rd.

joking lah. moral of the story is, consumer needs to have some knowledge to protect himself. reality is, consumer usually start off as newbie, sure die one. solution is, have some source of education ready (e.g. forums) to help people start off dying a bit less, then at the end still got 3 lives left when reach high level, can enjoy longer up there.

yeah lor, want to mod car, must know some basic knowledge first. lots of 'sharks' ws out there.

the problem is even if the boss of ws is very honest, but the mech are not. and most of time, is the mech who gonna to do yr car and he may just recommend tis and tat, change tis part and tat part, and he's the one who's quoting the prices to you. sometimes, the honest boss doesnt even know wat's going on.

aiyah. i tink they see ur RF HU no up lah..

let them be...

i just got myself an old sch RF hu. heheheh..

one thing abt RF HUs, though ugly and not many functions, they are known for their pre outs. they give out a very clean signal.

one of their super old HU is reputed to be "unclippable".. which is used in SPL competition..

Edited by Headshok