Fresh Paint Just out from Oven

Chogokin

Hi All,

This incident happen afew days ago. While I was entering PIE expressway at Tuas , there was this bus at Lane 3 and it ran over a metal plate . It flew vertical and hit on to my bumper (too fast cannot avoid) and also can hear that the metal plate also like rattleing under chasis. Upon reach home, my driver side bumper came off and also a lot of deep scratches and fiber also peel off. Dammed sian liao. Took all the effort to maintan and this thingy happened. So I sent back to Service Agent to have it respray my bonnet and bumper. Today jus got back my ride. Wonder when can I start to apply sealant onto fresh paint. I am using Menzerna Kit.

Rgds

Chogokin

Do you know what method your car is being sprayed and cured?

air dry or oven bake?

Looking back at the curing process, both the 1K and 2K systems are 90-95% cured upon cool down, after the bake process, in the factory spray booth. The additional 5-10% will cure within 3-7 days.

This means if you wanna DIY your car, I would suggest next weekend.

then call n ask lor.

Its alrite for you to know how they do it.

But anyway, b4 they handed over you the car, they oready have use machine to buff it ler.

So what u think?

Edited by Chuabc

Shouldn't have any problem IMHO [;)] That time when i send mine for respray at the rear bumper, the workshop guy told me can even wash & wax immediately [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Ya lor jus now when collect my ride , stunned to see that car has been washed. Sure got alot of swirl marks. In fact jus now I see that it has been polished some more with some freebies, swirls marks.

You should've ask them not to polish your car...

They may have put a layer of glaze... i think you'll find more freebies soon... [smallcry][:(][smallcry][:(]

Sorry to hear about your freak incident...

Hi All,

This incident happen afew days ago. While I was entering PIE expressway at Tuas , there was this bus at Lane 3 and it ran over a metal plate . It flew vertical and hit on to my bumper (too fast cannot avoid) and also can hear that the metal plate also like rattleing under chasis. Upon reach home, my driver side bumper came off and also a lot of deep scratches and fiber also peel off. Dammed sian liao. Took all the effort to maintan and this thingy happened. So I sent back to Service Agent to have it respray my bonnet and bumper. Today jus got back my ride. Wonder when can I start to apply sealant onto fresh paint. I am using Menzerna Kit.

Rgds

Chogokin

wah lau another victim..... hope u dun feel to heart pain, my dmg also haven repair yet (but not as bad la) Expressway sxxt strikes back. Part 2 of the expressway sxxt saga. Darth shidious has used his powers again to do evil. just wondering how much u paid ur service agent for the damages?

U bet I dun feel heart pain, I almost cry out haha. I do not know whether is it cheap but i ma surprise for respray bonnet and bumper the cost is less than $250/- b4 GST.

Infact let alone polish, I also not aware they wash my ride till i collect my ride. Now got more freebies liao.