Vicky Neutral Newbie July 20, 2006 Share July 20, 2006 Yo. Any bro here know where is a good (and Cheap) place to do third layer on the front door. Currently got 2 layer liao. Should I DIY or what? Cheers.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bobcatsysop Neutral Newbie July 20, 2006 Share July 20, 2006 HI Vic, I guess you already have one layer on the inside of the door panel and a 2nd layer on the metal that is covered by the door panel arm rest like the one shown here in this URL LINK Why you need 3rd layer and where you want to SP? Was there still vibration or rattling on the doorside? My 2 layer door is already heavy. Dunno how if got 3 layer. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sarong1 1st Gear July 20, 2006 Share July 20, 2006 He will need the extra layer to the plastic side of the door panel...the mid-bass is not tight... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bobcatsysop Neutral Newbie July 20, 2006 Share July 20, 2006 Hi Vic, <> In that case, your ICE installer can use Dynamat Extreme to patch another layer around the mid-bass speaker area to make the mid-bass sound tighter. I think he can do that for a small fee only.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sarong1 1st Gear July 20, 2006 Share July 20, 2006 That won't be enough. He needs a layer of bitumen as the first layer, followed by thin layer of carpet and finally foam (similar to fish tank filter foam)...This will effectively dampen the plastic door panel and reduce the volume of his big door panel...DIY is possible, needs about an hour for each door. Cost should be less than $150...for both sides. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wankie Clutched July 20, 2006 Share July 20, 2006 so hardcore ah? think headshok got some bitumen sheet left. if you buying the foam i want some too. gum xia. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hyun Neutral Newbie July 20, 2006 Share July 20, 2006 > That won't be enough. He needs a layer of bitumen as the first layer, followed by thin layer of carpet and finally foam (similar to fish tank filter foam)... all this u meant applied to the innermost plastic door armrest panel? i'm thinking of doing something similar too. but i worry about rainwater - won't it hit the carpet and foam? what's the purpose of the carpet when u have bitumen and foam? different frequency absorption? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sarong1 1st Gear July 20, 2006 Share July 20, 2006 I am not about to go into the technicalities of why carpet is used...I find it relevant and useful so thought I should share this with anyone that is serious of soundproofing the door... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hyun Neutral Newbie July 20, 2006 Share July 20, 2006 hehe u know how i like technicalities... tempting me to find out more heh. sounds like u're bringing over concepts of home insulation to the car. but i dont know anything abt home audio ... looks like time to search internet again ... but then, what kind of carpet material? if u ask those car installers to install carpet, they'll probably put in some 3M mats in your door and charge you double for it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slonez Clutched July 20, 2006 Share July 20, 2006 Soon Hyun & Firespitter will get their MSc in speaker crossover design liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vicky Neutral Newbie July 21, 2006 Author Share July 21, 2006 Quote That won't be enough. He needs a layer of bitumen as the first layer, followed by thin layer of carpet and finally foam (similar to fish tank filter foam)...This will effectively dampen the plastic door panel and reduce the volume of his big door panel...DIY is possible, needs about an hour for each door. Cost should be less than $150...for both sides. S$150.. Hmm.. Price is for Diy or shop doing it? Hyun.. You wanna do also ah? Why not we get material and try DIY? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hyun Neutral Newbie July 22, 2006 Share July 22, 2006 (edited) wah now my car too heavy liao, i tiak any more plaster on the door, it gonna drop off.... actually i was showed another kind of foam recently, not the fishy foam (that one suck water) but a waterproof type. that one i'm truly interested. i'm just goddam lazy to tiak open my door panel to DIY. but if i let slice shops do it, they gonna spoil 2 more of my door panel clips again. my door panel got about 4 clips... 2 kenna spoiled the last time, if they spoil the last 2, that's it man i can play free-air midbass liao.... but i donno which 3M carpet sarong recommend leh ... maybe we interrogate him at next meetup. . . . ok i found this foam thing, i think it's this one: More info http://www.asiaticgroup.com.sg/group/asiat...ell_tubing.html Sizes avaliable http://www.superlon.com.my/insul-Standardsizes.html Contact 152, Owen Road Singapore 218945 Tel + 65 6293 1958 Fax + 65 6292 6066 Email refrigeration.changi@asiaticgroup.com.sg if it's good enough for your Refrigerator, it's good enough for your SQ! Edited July 22, 2006 by Hyun Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear July 22, 2006 Share July 22, 2006 dun bother... train ur ears.. noise will grow on you. just up ur volume higher can liaoz. + side of this is tat pple horn u also no feel. add in tinted glass + screen at rear screen, flash and horn at u also no feel.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bobcatsysop Neutral Newbie July 22, 2006 Share July 22, 2006 Hi Bro Elton, Wah bro... you just appear from no where.. Upgraded your ICE lately? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hyun Neutral Newbie July 27, 2006 Share July 27, 2006 i check the superlon price, they said $6 for 1/4 inch thick 3 foot x 4 foot piece. $24 for 1 inch thick of same size. any1 want to share? how thick? i thinking of 1 inch. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear July 27, 2006 Share July 27, 2006 terrorist bah.. no lah, probably next year or so i scrap liaoz. no point upgrading. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bobcatsysop Neutral Newbie July 27, 2006 Share July 27, 2006 <> Hmm.. so... what is your next car going to be? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear July 28, 2006 Share July 28, 2006 see how long i can hold lah... the new corolla looks nice though. dunno will bring to SG anot. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...