Sgoz147 Clutched October 26, 2006 Share October 26, 2006 I don't know about this....U may call them and check it out...or you drop by their shop to get theie advice.... They may give u better idea..... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgoz147 Clutched October 26, 2006 Share October 26, 2006 (edited) ya.....still another year to go.....c how later... Anyway, they have done some carbon paint on the welding part and make them cover up....that may work out better....Hehe, or go to few Vicom outlet to check it out also....haha Edited October 26, 2006 by Sgoz147 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lokech34 Clutched October 26, 2006 Share October 26, 2006 Hi there, Meaning the exhaust pipe mod is only for appearance LOOK. Look fierce right.If got power,then i always see the euro type like BMW floot the pendal & the car can fry but exhaust very nice & sweet.(Quiet) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beachboys Clutched October 26, 2006 Share October 26, 2006 (edited) few months ago, used the LTA feedback to enquire about the legality of welding on exhaust tip (no modification to exhaust system of any kind)... received a call back and confirmed that if its really just a cosmetic weld-on tip, it is okay~ For exhaust offences, they are more concerned with catback removal violation (polluting Mother Earth) and noise pollution~ Edited October 26, 2006 by Beachboys Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgoz147 Clutched October 26, 2006 Share October 26, 2006 Cool, thanks for the confirmation of this....can sleep better, and smaller hole in the pocket....hehe Happy driving...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bellaraphon Neutral Newbie October 26, 2006 Share October 26, 2006 bro, they called u? i emailed them till now no reply. waiting for the email reply so at least got black and white. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beachboys Clutched October 27, 2006 Share October 27, 2006 (edited) Used the LTA feedback 3 times... twice (welding of exhaust tip, vehicle derigstration) it was someone calling back and 1 time was an email 'template' reply (on HID enquiry)... technically welding on of exhausting tip dosen't change anything to the exhaust system... some authorised distributors oso provide the aftermarket welding-on of exhaust tip (as freebies etc)~ Edited October 27, 2006 by Beachboys Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgoz147 Clutched October 27, 2006 Share October 27, 2006 As an enviromental engineer studies air quality before myself, I knew the welding at the tip does not alter the emmission standards, but do LTA officier know the technical information Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nitemare Neutral Newbie January 8, 2007 Share January 8, 2007 I know this might be a resurface of a old thread, but I gotta warn everyone out there!! welding of exhaust tips is ILLEGAL!! I got fine $500 for it.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ronnchee Clutched January 11, 2007 Share January 11, 2007 Based on what ground ? As per discussion above, it didn't change anything on the exhaust, what you are doing is comestic only Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nitemare Neutral Newbie January 11, 2007 Share January 11, 2007 Sorry I never elaborate further, but I got fine because the original tip was cut away and the cosmetic exhaust tip( double barrel like AMG's) was WELDED directly on the muffler/silencer. This is not allowed according to LTA even if it pass the emission test. Exhaust shop at ubi assured it was LTA compliant.. haha wat a joke. Went back with the summon and they cannot be bothered. GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dexlee Clutched January 11, 2007 Share January 11, 2007 Did you caught by ROV on the road or when you went for inspection? Which is that great customer service provider? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nitemare Neutral Newbie January 11, 2007 Share January 11, 2007 (edited) Got caught by ROV, escorted back to inspection centre. End up kena fined for modified exhaust, tinted windows and lights. Total kena $580 Which provider? Starts with a Capital F! But not to be biased(I think Im ) , every exhaust shop do practise welding to muffler, just don't do it.. Edited January 11, 2007 by Nitemare Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beachboys Clutched January 11, 2007 Share January 11, 2007 (edited) u sure your exhaust no other mods? i will be going to VICOM soon.. will enquire about this issue... if i were u, i would ask them to quote specifically which offence it is illegal and why is welding on a comestic tip illegal... if they can't provide a clear answer, just go bang table n seek higher management attention.. the official guideline (http://www.onemotoring.com.sg/publish/onem...ml#MainPar_0006) is referring to the catback muffler modification, therefore they cannot quote this to deem the comestic exhaust tip illegal~ Edited January 11, 2007 by Beachboys Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Romanc88x Clutched January 11, 2007 Share January 11, 2007 Have anyone here came across anyone who has changed the muffler but yet still pass the LTA inspection? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic January 11, 2007 Share January 11, 2007 (edited) Based on what ground ? As per discussion above, it didn't change anything on the exhaust, what you are doing is comestic only Extract from the website: The exhaust system, which consists of the exhaust manifold, catalytic converter and muffler, is used as part of a vehicle's exhaust emission control system to ensure that the exhaust emission meets our environmental requirements. Any modification to the exhaust system would therefore require LTA's approval. The following should be submitted to LTA for evaluation: a) Certification from the product manufacturer stating that the proposed aftermarket exhaust system is suitable for the make and model of the vehicle. b) Certifications or test reports from LTA/NEA recognised test laboratories to show that the aftermarket exhaust system when fitted to the vehicle on a per make and model basis complied with prevailing exhaust emission standards. Note: Removing catalytic converters and mufflers are not allowed as it will adversely affect the exhaust emission characteristics of the vehicle. ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- I believe the exhaust tip is also part of the 'muffler'. No LTA approval, hence it's illegal. The key word is 'ANY Modification' highlighted in the sentence. Edited January 11, 2007 by Watwheels Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic January 11, 2007 Share January 11, 2007 (edited) U can find out from this: http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/General_C1...rato_P1508509-9 I think he basically mod his whole exhaust system. U can also find out more from here: http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/General_C1...ection_P1654409 Edited January 11, 2007 by Watwheels Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beachboys Clutched January 11, 2007 Share January 11, 2007 (edited) some cars, they dun come with the original comestic tip also (eg: Mazda3basic vs Mazda3 sports with tip)... its also installed locally aftermarket~ Edited January 11, 2007 by Beachboys ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...