Funkyjazz Neutral Newbie July 7, 2006 Share July 7, 2006 Thanks alot Hyun, now at least I know my setup is correct. The only thing left is tuning. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hyun Neutral Newbie July 9, 2006 Share July 9, 2006 some are of the opinion that passive enuff liao, no need active. the reasons are logical. passive crossovers are built with your speakers in mind. will going active improve it? sometimes hard to say. also, got such thing as zhng the crossover. cheaper speakers come with cheap components in the cross and can be replaced with quality stuff. u might find it effective. also, u get to play with ur cross switches (if any) e.g. + or - 2 or 3 dB, as part of the tuning process. only after doing this, u might judge this "improved" passive and decide if u really need active. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hungee Neutral Newbie July 10, 2006 Author Share July 10, 2006 so you also installed LRX4.3 and running active ... 65W per ch for your mids & tweeters ... I am on passive, though the installer told me can go active since i had a 4ch amp ... but I may not know how to appreciate, thus hold back the idea ... Instead I bridged to 2ch for more power to drive my front comp :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Firespitter Neutral Newbie July 10, 2006 Share July 10, 2006 Hope you liked it!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hungee Neutral Newbie July 10, 2006 Author Share July 10, 2006 thanks for the advice .. installer, while installing the amp for me, did ask me to do active .. but I say not now lor ... anyway this installer (also sells agent set Audison) dunno how to bridge the LRX4.3 .. haha ... so I ask him just setup as 4ch lah ... this morning I DIY and bridge it to 2ch ... the effect is ... WOW ... with more juice flowing into the spkrs .. they came 'alive' ... but still need to 'tune' abit here and there I suppose (refinement). Very happy with the sound so far ... also glad to learn how to bridge the LRX4.3 (I know what installer dunno ) ... the bad thing is that ... now I am power hungry, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hungee Neutral Newbie July 10, 2006 Author Share July 10, 2006 like Audison is no doubt I guess, but maybe a 2ch amp will save more trouble in bridging ... with 2ch, for sure I know I am getting X W per channel, but this I gotta use the ear to listen to the diff before I can conclude have I bridge it ! But 4ch got the flexiblility lor ... Kanna suan by the installer abt the set, export set lah, so expensive for a 9mth old set lah ... So have you gotten yours? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Firespitter Neutral Newbie July 10, 2006 Share July 10, 2006 I had a lot of problems that night.... :P Firstly the models I've shortlisted, all no stock! Secondly settled for an alternative but the amp's power supply is faulty! Next day, went to change a new set, no more same unit as the faulty one, so ended up with an even lower end model. Then discovered fuse box faulty.... Finally managed to get it all fixed up fine. Phew!! No regrets.... (But I was hoping less drama then all these that I've been through) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wankie Clutched July 10, 2006 Share July 10, 2006 which installer you went to? KNS sell Audison dunno how to bridge! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hungee Neutral Newbie July 10, 2006 Author Share July 10, 2006 dun mention name lah ... saw they stock up quite some Audison stuff SRX, LRX (even the new series) & even VRX .. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wankie Clutched July 10, 2006 Share July 10, 2006 ha ha, just thought some pointers for others to take note. if they are official dealer then i would expect them to be familiar with the stuff they sell as i know audison conducts training for the official dealers, so no excuses not to know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Firespitter Neutral Newbie July 10, 2006 Share July 10, 2006 Don't be surprised hor.... few months ago, I wanted to bridge my LRX and went back to the place I bought it (That shop in Jln Jurong Kechil), for them to do it for me. After 15 minutes of toying around, it was announced by them that LRX4.300 cannot be bridged. NB... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wankie Clutched July 10, 2006 Share July 10, 2006 honestly i'm not surprised, had the same experience for my LRX 5.600. i even had an argument with them 'cos the farking manual actually has a diagram for bridging it showed it to them yet same answer maybe 'cos i didn't buy it from them.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Funkyjazz Neutral Newbie July 10, 2006 Share July 10, 2006 Yes, I am on active, 65w per channel actually not that powerful, thats why I need to turn up the volume. But the sound quality is really very much improve from passive. Clarity, depth...etc is much better. No regret. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Funkyjazz Neutral Newbie July 10, 2006 Share July 10, 2006 That shop don't have after sale service lah. I also personally experience that. But be careful, they have CCTV and phone recording. If you are not sure about technical detail, don't give them suggestion. If not, any thing wrong, they will blame it on you and show you the CCTV prove like politician do... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluemice 2nd Gear July 10, 2006 Share July 10, 2006 Quote Don't be surprised hor.... few months ago, I wanted to bridge my LRX and went back to the place I bought it (That shop in Jln Jurong Kechil), for them to do it for me. After 15 minutes of toying around, it was announced by them that LRX4.300 cannot be bridged. NB... huh ?? i tot is 65w*4 or 210W*2 at 4ohms & 13.8V ? its written clearly in the product specs wat... was aiming at this amp sometime ago.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Firespitter Neutral Newbie July 10, 2006 Share July 10, 2006 I know.... he got me really confused until I started believing the Italians made a mistake on their manual! An overseas call and examining the manual closely brought me back to reality (And the truth!). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fasthonda Neutral Newbie July 10, 2006 Share July 10, 2006 becareful too, besides the phone recording, they have link to the phone number that you call too and know your address. the cctv is even better, they have face recognition programs and your particulars will be known. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fasthonda Neutral Newbie July 10, 2006 Share July 10, 2006 Quote Don't be surprised hor.... few months ago, I wanted to bridge my LRX and went back to the place I bought it (That shop in Jln Jurong Kechil), for them to do it for me. After 15 minutes of toying around, it was announced by them that LRX4.300 cannot be bridged. NB... that's why the worker that says that was sacked ! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...