Sazali Clutched July 3, 2006 Share July 3, 2006 Hi Need to reduce noise from engine, tyres and exhaust? Any recommendations for soundproofing types/installers..Please include the workshop contact. Thanks.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fff0 Neutral Newbie July 3, 2006 Share July 3, 2006 surf ard... & u will get ur ans Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darkness Neutral Newbie July 3, 2006 Share July 3, 2006 u want to reduce road and engine noise......personaly i will say don't waste time and $$$. Minimal gains. For ICE if you SP the doors that house the speakers...now that got lots of use. If u not hardcore boy racer kinda driver go check out some of the comfort biased tyres in the rubber and tires section of MCF. This will help u reduce the noise. Just make sure the tyres have good / decent grip etc. If u insist on SP for reducing road noise, engine and trye noise.... u need to SP.... the entire floorpan, firewall, wheel fenders, boot floor (exhaust noise), and perhaps even the 4 doors. Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Grunt72 Neutral Newbie July 5, 2006 Share July 5, 2006 I tend to agree that the pursuit for SP to cut out road and wind noise is largely no point....U can spend a bomb on insulating the car against natural road and wind noise but somehow, it will not be cost effective. It will def add a lot of unnecessary weight and impact perfromance and economy :( If got ICE, just do requisite layers on door will do lah :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redspring Neutral Newbie July 5, 2006 Share July 5, 2006 (edited) Why you the idea of SP is spending a bomb. With cable hunter material to do up 4 door will cost you $144 for single layer and impact is sure to be there. Thaks Edited July 5, 2006 by Lukie102 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darkness Neutral Newbie July 5, 2006 Share July 5, 2006 No offence but a single layer SP will only help u so much with road noise. And 4 doors not enough...u need to SP boot floor...floor pan, firewall, fenders etc etc to marginally minimise (note: not eliminate) road and engine noise. For ICE 2 layers etc b4 u can get decent effects wat GRUNT72 is trying to say is that cost to improvement ratio not worth it. Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear July 5, 2006 Share July 5, 2006 u want cheap and good SP (to cut road noise), go get armaflex, per metre sq abt $12. that cuts out road noise much better . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Grunt72 Neutral Newbie July 6, 2006 Share July 6, 2006 Exactly what I meant...to pursue total or close to total sound insulation in car like the Lexus or Merc type would need to spend a lot of money, close to 2K or even more depending on extent of work. It will add quite a bit of weight which will impact performance :) 2 layer for door for SP purposes is good lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redspring Neutral Newbie July 7, 2006 Share July 7, 2006 SO that will round to how much is enough measure in value to money ratio. I am looking at with min cost to max effect. door is the most recommended area follow by .......... Infact I just understand the most effective way should be pay $1.5 for a pair of ear pluge for yourself[sunny] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lionheart7004 Neutral Newbie July 7, 2006 Share July 7, 2006 Headshok Armaflex more for heat insulation leh. It does have some limited dampening effects My peers in US was discussing ... for budget conscious budget setup, they would use good material at strategic points to maximise dampening effect.. is that true? There is no exact need to sp up the whole car.. certain critical points would do.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tanjkp Clutched July 7, 2006 Share July 7, 2006 Right to say get ear plug N everything is quiet. If buying small budget car, don't expect to be able to sound proof it. If any ever look at how they build the Lexus will understand there is no way to get that level of sound insulation. Small cars are built in compact form, try to save space, reduce weight, use light weight materials etc. So it will create a lot of vibration zones, not able to insulate sound as too close to engine etc. Also the shock absorber links will decide how much vibration and shock will transmit to the chassis and cause the noise in the cabin. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
User12343 Clutched July 7, 2006 Share July 7, 2006 yes, that is correct. thru their in-house computer simulation and possibly finite-element analysis (FEA) they've located strategic points that gives the max reduction effect of noise transmitted into the cabin. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear July 7, 2006 Share July 7, 2006 actually, in my opinion, dynamat and all those kind of sound proofin sheets help to cut off resonant noises, all the viberation, but its really ex. a cheap subsitute would be the armaflex if 'road and wind noise' is a concern. but to damp out all the viberation, those SP material is best. as for the 'stragetic positions' in the car, tink best, we singaporean kiasu, everywhere also SP, is best.. hahahaaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lionheart7004 Neutral Newbie July 7, 2006 Share July 7, 2006 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Suxelis Neutral Newbie July 7, 2006 Share July 7, 2006 Where to get armaflex in sg? Thanks, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lionheart7004 Neutral Newbie July 7, 2006 Share July 7, 2006 Those companies that sells insulation ... Mainly the one in Owen Rd.. Just can't recall the name.. Asiatic Ref or Far East Ref ? Headshok .. can help on this. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gummaker Neutral Newbie July 7, 2006 Share July 7, 2006 how heavy is a piece of cable hunter insulation? Thanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Africatwin Neutral Newbie July 8, 2006 Share July 8, 2006 u want to reduce road and engine noise......personaly i will say don't waste time and $$$. Minimal gains. For ICE if you SP the doors that house the speakers...now that got lots of use. If u not hardcore boy racer kinda driver go check out some of the comfort biased tyres in the rubber and tires section of MCF. This will help u reduce the noise. Just make sure the tyres have good / decent grip etc. If u insist on SP for reducing road noise, engine and trye noise.... u need to SP.... the entire floorpan, firewall, wheel fenders, boot floor (exhaust noise), and perhaps even the 4 doors. Cheers Actually i disagreed. I did my SP for entire floorpan, wheel fenders, half of my boot space and 4 doors. The results is much better without it. I can say there is a 30% cut of noise from the SP. Yes i did burn my pocket with this SP but it did make me feel more comfortable when i drive. I do sales and i need to travel alot and i like quiet cabin that's y i rather spent 1k for this SP. If i am driving a sunny, then i won't be doing this. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...