Comments on Optra Estate

Huggable

Yo boss! Huggable is still around, in both TCS and MCF. Was busy for a certain period, hence seldom post.

Still driving my Optra Estate, cover over 100k already! [drivingcar]

[wave] 大哥 where haf U been ???

nowadays hardly seen U in TCS [:(]

R U still [drivingcar] Estate?

-----------------------------------

2007 - BMW X3 (current)

2006 - Chevrolet Aveo (current)

2005 - Chevrolet Optra (current)

2004 - Van (current)

Hi there, newbie (4 wheelers) here. I wish to know if the Optra is a good choice for a budget station wagon? I game for wagon cars so to accomodate my works and family usage. I drove a rented AVEO before, but the bulit quality is so-so only, feeling plastic. But given a good affordable price, no complain at all. I am not sure if the Optra Estate is good choice. My targeted car was a Forester, Legacy wagon or a Audi Wagon, but these cars are nice to have but may not be price-wise for daily usage.

My concerns are the engineering (no pre-mature defects), safety aspects. Leathers are optional (pay less get less lor). And of cos, I was MAINLY turned off my the car salesman 'boh chap' attititude during the road show at Compass Point Shopping Mall last year. :angry:

Thank you in advance.

Hi there, newbie (4 wheelers) here. I wish to know if the Optra is a good choice for a budget station wagon? I game for wagon cars so to accomodate my works and family usage. I drove a rented AVEO before, but the bulit quality is so-so only, feeling plastic. But given a good affordable price, no complain at all. I am not sure if the Optra Estate is good choice. My targeted car was a Forester, Legacy wagon or a Audi Wagon, but these cars are nice to have but may not be price-wise for daily usage.

My concerns are the engineering (no pre-mature defects), safety aspects. Leathers are optional (pay less get less lor). And of cos, I was MAINLY turned off my the car salesman 'boh chap' attititude during the road show at Compass Point Shopping Mall last year. :angry:

Thank you in advance.

============

Hi Intruder.

Im driving the Optra Estate Auto for 2 years now , 70K km(car is 4 years old).

The car suites my needs just fine. Its relaible & since I service at outside ws, my maintenence cost is very very low.

So far no problems except just wear & tear issues.

Original 14" steel rims with 185/65/14 tires have poor handling but I changed to 16" Original Chevy rims with 205/45/16 tires & the handling has improved alot.

I feel its quite a solid day to day usage kind of car. FC is abt 10-13km/lit & I feel using 97 RON gives close to 13km/lit but 95 RON gives closer to 11-12km/lit.

Now the Cruze is out, u sud b able to get a good deal on the older model Optra if u r buying new.

2nd hand I see a few Optra Estates advertised recently. Depreciation for the 1st couple of years r high so u can really squeeze the price for a good bargain.

Happy hunting.

Cheers [wave]

Edited by Pisces69

Soli hah

Need to ask optra estate owner

My fren driving one too, but not that savvy abt cars

He no top up rear screen wiper water

i help find find, no have tank

Anyone can help my [confused] fren?

Pls

Soli hah

Need to ask optra estate owner

My fren driving one too, but not that savvy abt cars

He no top up rear screen wiper water

i help find find, no have tank

Anyone can help my [confused] fren?

Pls

=============

The rear washer tank is the same as the front washer tank. Only 1 tank in the engine bay serves water to the front & back washers.

He oso ask how to change rear wiper

==============

Rear wiper u just slowly pull away the black plastic cover to the wiper blade & then u have access to the blade. Change as u wud the front wiper.

If u not sure, then just go to those spare parts shop & buy the blade from them & ask them to help u to change can already.

U see how they do & next time u can do it yourself.

k

he shld be grateful for d help

but he say how come no water come out when he want to spray rear wiper?

===============

Ask him to check cos my Optra, the rear washer is controlled by the right wiper stalk u have to push forward to activate the rear washer.

If no water comes out, maybe the tube has come loose or the motor not working.

He might have to trace along the tube for loose connection or fuse blow for washer pump motor.

If he not sure, ask him to send to a workshop to do a proper check.

Another thing he can check is the nozzle hole at the rear is blocked. Use a pin to try to clear the hole & see how.

hi all optra estate... check with you all how much fc does your estate give you?

i'm onli getting about 9km/l

Hi im new to this forum. Just to share some of my experience with my dad's optra estate. We have been driving it for close to 5 years. Mileage is around 120,000km.

Overall, the mechanical maintenance of the car is low. So far engine doesn't give us any problem.

The car body is solid, kinda give me a feel of a volvo. The turning radius is small, therefore no problem for tight u-turns.

The only downside is the fuel consumption and the pick up speed. Just found out recently that the tail cover actually weight around 30kg. O_o

The FC for us is roughly around 9-10km/l (probably because there are 5 passenger on-board most of the time)

All in all, it is a good family car with low maintenance.

Btw, any bros owns a chevrolet Epica 2.0A care to share your experience? We are actually planning to upgrade our optra to an epica.

Cheers! And have a great weekend ahead. =)

Hi im new to this forum. Just to share some of my experience with my dad's optra estate. We have been driving it for close to 5 years. Mileage is around 120,000km.

Overall, the mechanical maintenance of the car is low. So far engine doesn't give us any problem.

The car body is solid, kinda give me a feel of a volvo. The turning radius is small, therefore no problem for tight u-turns.

The only downside is the fuel consumption and the pick up speed. Just found out recently that the tail cover actually weight around 30kg. O_o

The FC for us is roughly around 9-10km/l (probably because there are 5 passenger on-board most of the time)

All in all, it is a good family car with low maintenance.

Btw, any bros owns a chevrolet Epica 2.0A care to share your experience? We are actually planning to upgrade our optra to an epica.

Cheers! And have a great weekend ahead. =)

i feel that no cars with proper maintenance would have engine problems before 5 ... even 10 years mark.

have u ever heard of people lamenting.... my 6 year old car engine KAPUT?

please exclude china cars. no idea about it.

i feel that no cars with proper maintenance would have engine problems before 5 ... even 10 years mark.

have u ever heard of people lamenting.... my 6 year old car engine KAPUT?

please exclude china cars. no idea about it.

Errm...yesterday I heard my cousin say his RX8 engine kaput and overhaul cost 10+k in the end he found a lobang to import a 2nd hand engine from Japan to do a swap total 6k+ :blink:

Optra was not tested by EuroNCAP.

Generally, the estate is mechanically similar to the Sedan version. Actually airbag is not that important as marketing hype makes it to be. But it depends on your priorities. Most older gen cars do not have airbags and ppl still survive on them.

Airbag only useful in frontal crash. If a little sideways, there are many cases of it not inflating. Worse case is inflating when it need not. Might cause deafness.

Anyway, to some ppl airbag is a critical consideration while others, it is just good to have. Depend on you. So far not much prob reported on Optra, only minor case unless u sway sway get a lemon unit.

GM is more leniet about servicing car outside, as long as get original parts from its stocklist. "Its like that one" comes from the dealers, outside workshop will be more willing to spend more time diagnosing the prob and replaceing the parts with a lower fee.

Optra 5 Star of NCAP [thumbsup]