Maddriver 4th Gear July 6, 2006 Author Share July 6, 2006 I've tested FK1 products and will say that their 425 detailer spray is very nice. However, their other products like Pink wax and 2180 are just oil and wax set in a heavy solvent base. It smells just like paint thinner! I realize that every wax/sealant needs a solvent of some sort but to use a flamable strong solvent like this is just cutting corners. I use gloves when I use these which isn't that often because there are better products out there. I will say that if you don't mind having that kerosene smell on your hands that fk1 offers good durabilty. No where near klasse or Zaino, but better than any OTC stuff. [/color] I know who you are you sure it is a kerosene smell rather than a kiwi smell?anyway as long it gives me what I want..who cares? zaino,nope,not interested to try it at all ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sammy Neutral Newbie July 6, 2006 Share July 6, 2006 It smells just like kiwi, if you juice the kiwi and filter it so there's no kiwi scent to it, and you add a bunch of paint thinner or kerosene. I'm talking about the 2180 and Pink wax dude, and if you think they smell like kiwi I would go to a nose doctor. As for who cares if you rub paint thinner all over your hands all I can say is I surely don't! But for people who care about rubbing a strong solvent on your hands, find a different product line because fk1 isn't for you. It is not a pleasure to use like many of the other stuff out there, but yes if you get past that then it will give you a nice finish. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelvincklim Neutral Newbie July 6, 2006 Share July 6, 2006 (edited) It smells just like kiwi, if you juice the kiwi and filter it so there's no kiwi scent to it, and you add a bunch of paint thinner or kerosene. I'm talking about the 2180 and Pink wax dude, and if you think they smell like kiwi I would go to a nose doctor. As for who cares if you rub paint thinner all over your hands all I can say is I surely don't! But for people who care about rubbing a strong solvent on your hands, find a different product line because fk1 isn't for you. It is not a pleasure to use like many of the other stuff out there, but yes if you get past that then it will give you a nice finish. hi sammy...i think the kiwi maddriver is referring to here is Kiwi (Brand) Shoe Polish - We use it during our military days to polish our boots. not the Kiwi fruit. Nose doctor wont be needed I honestly dun think any detailing enthusiasts will end up rubbing wax all over their hands. Stained maybe. Indeed FK will provide a nice finish. so does klasse and zaino. All are great products to start with...used and proven. and i believe many will agree none is too far from the other. Klasse is good for shine - but it doesnt bring out dark colours. Zaino gives a wet look - but protection is not excellent. FK1 does indeed finish off well with depth. Afterall...it's consumer choice Edited July 6, 2006 by Kelvincklim Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maddriver 4th Gear July 6, 2006 Author Share July 6, 2006 (edited) hey dude, it is not the kiwi fruit i am referring to..It is a shoe polish that we used over here.. ..simi nose doctor, Edited July 6, 2006 by Maddriver Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
King 1st Gear July 6, 2006 Share July 6, 2006 The jeff what product also got one funny smell then hor sammyboy is your cousin? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sammy Neutral Newbie July 6, 2006 Share July 6, 2006 Awe, kiwi shoe polish no problem bro. As for Zaino not giving good protection, maybe you don't get the good Zaino over there or something because in the US there is nothing that protects like Zaino. Every detailing forum over here like http://www.detailersclub.com/ or http://www.autopia.org/ that has thousands of people who use every product made chose zaino tops for protection. I say no big deal use what you want, when I was a pro I would use the cheapest stuff I could find because it was all about the bottom line. But now on my own cars nothing touches them except klasse and Zaino. Anyhow, you guys are all soldiers? Do they make everyone join for a couple years or voulunter? I am dating a young woman from singapor and that's how I found out about this forum. Just curious about her country and I'm a freak about auto's. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mugentrd Neutral Newbie July 6, 2006 Share July 6, 2006 (edited) Sammy, from the way you type, maybe I ask whether are you a pull start or push start? Or a flat face or a red neck? Edited July 6, 2006 by Mugentrd Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear July 6, 2006 Share July 6, 2006 Quote It smells just like kiwi, if you juice the kiwi and filter it so there's no kiwi scent to it, and you add a bunch of paint thinner or kerosene. I'm talking about the 2180 and Pink wax dude, and if you think they smell like kiwi I would go to a nose doctor. As for who cares if you rub paint thinner all over your hands all I can say is I surely don't! But for people who care about rubbing a strong solvent on your hands, find a different product line because fk1 isn't for you. It is not a pleasure to use like many of the other stuff out there, but yes if you get past that then it will give you a nice finish. So, based on your experience. What would you recommend then? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maddriver 4th Gear July 6, 2006 Author Share July 6, 2006 hey,drop by my d.i.y session and teach me a few kungfu and also,how to date a Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear July 6, 2006 Share July 6, 2006 [reply] Awe, kiwi shoe polish no problem bro. As for Zaino not giving good protection, maybe you don't get the good Zaino over there or something because in the US there is nothing that protects like Zaino. Every detailing forum over here like http://www.detailersclub.com/ or http://www.autopia.org/ that has thousands of people who use every product made chose zaino tops for protection. I say no big deal use what you want, when I was a pro I would use the cheapest stuff I could find because it was all about the bottom line. But now on my own cars nothing touches them except klasse and Zaino. Anyhow, you guys are all soldiers? Do they make everyone join for a couple years or voulunter? I am dating a young woman from singapor and that's how I found out about this forum. Just curious about her country and I'm a freak about auto's. All guys (born here) will need to go thru 2 years of army training.. and hell no, it ain't on a volunteer basis but mandatory.. Dating a young singapore girl, is she the one who told you about THIS forum? when you mention cheap stuff, what kind of product are they? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maddriver 4th Gear July 6, 2006 Author Share July 6, 2006 yo yo yo yo, ang mo rap Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear July 6, 2006 Share July 6, 2006 simi ang mo rap? me dun understand.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelvincklim Neutral Newbie July 6, 2006 Share July 6, 2006 we are all well-trained soldiers and sharp yeah...please let us know what is good and cheap. what do you mean by when you were a pro...care to share some skills with us? we are all here to learn Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear July 6, 2006 Share July 6, 2006 Ah Di ah.. You replied to the wrong person lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maddriver 4th Gear July 6, 2006 Author Share July 6, 2006 i bo bo shooter Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelvincklim Neutral Newbie July 6, 2006 Share July 6, 2006 (edited) oh paiseh. too excited with the follow up...we got new friend who sounded damn zai Edited July 6, 2006 by Kelvincklim Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelvincklim Neutral Newbie July 6, 2006 Share July 6, 2006 (edited) oei u army do car grooming one ah Edited July 6, 2006 by Kelvincklim Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maddriver 4th Gear July 6, 2006 Author Share July 6, 2006 I detail my CO's carmust carry abit ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...