Coolant, to flush or not to flush?

Pdesign1

You will need to remove the thermostat as it blocks the main water galley which flows to your radiator frame (when engine is at rest and cool to touch).

What you normally achieve by removing the petcock is just draining radiator side coolant and not the engine block side. Engine block side forms the bulk of the coolant volume.

Coolant is mainly recirculated in the block until it requires the adiabatic cooling efficiency of air. ie. radiator fins to regulate internal temp.

Cheers and happy DIY ^_^

Thanks guys,learn something new today.

Somehow,i've did coolant change before at Stamford. Not sure the mechanic remove thermostat or not

which i doubt so.

Definitely will take note of this.

Edited by Gizmo

You will need to remove the thermostat as it blocks the main water galley which flows to your radiator frame (when engine is at rest and cool to touch).

What you normally achieve by removing the petcock is just draining radiator side coolant and not the engine block side. Engine block side forms the bulk of the coolant volume.

Coolant is mainly recirculated in the block until it requires the adiabatic cooling efficiency of air. ie. radiator fins to regulate internal temp.

Cheers and happy DIY ^_^

if i remove the drain plug on the radiator and run the engine till it's running temp.. will the rest of the coolant within the engine block come out of the drain plug?

normally the drain bolt is located near the lowest point of your radiator..

hi,

any bros who have DIY changing coolant on a Sunny? can give some advise?.....the petcock of the radiator is very low, the front bumper of cars nowadays is so low that squeezing under to reach the petcock is difficult without jacking up the car , jacking up and working under the car without anything to support the weight is dangerous. [sweatdrop] thanks

Do you have the car manual with you? Have a look there and it should state when to change the coolant. For continental makes, on estimate, it should be 60,000km versus 40,000km for Japanese makes.

60,000 + km, Jap car, never changed before cos workshop says no need............ [sweatdrop]

Don't forget to remove your thermostat regulator when you are doing your flush/change.

3/4 of the coolant is usually still floating within the coolant passageways around the engine block and does not gets drained out even after releasing the petcock at radiator frame (bottom).

Seems not many folks realize this. Draining 3-5 times seems a waste of water and petrol to cear out old coolant. As Genie47 once pointed out, you may use some apple cider vinegar to help release scale/deposits from the block internal walls.

Enjoy!

using normal vinegar and dilute it 1:1 will do the same trick, Pure is just too acidic

Warning* dun use left over black vinegar that u might have after cooking pig's trotter.

Edited by Raiders

How do we remove the thermostat for complete flush?

Without the thermostat, the entire cooling system will be flushed clean when we add water while draining with the engine on?

How do we remove the thermostat for complete flush?

Without the thermostat, the entire cooling system will be flushed clean when we add water while draining with the engine on?

i flushed with it on, checked with my mentors at workshop b4 is ok (At least mine still working [lipsrsealed] ).

Maybe these steps will help:

-Off engine

-Remove old coolant from drain plug or pipes (whichever way u like)

-close back the plug or pipe

-Pour in the diluted vinegar or other agent

-On engine let it idle for 5 mins, rev abit in between

-Off engine

-Remove plugs or hose to let the vinegar come out

-On engine, rev abit

-Take a water hose with running water and poke in from top

-Rev slightly until you see no signs but clear water coming out from below

-Take out the hose, let water slowly flow out till you had confirm even with rev-ing there's no water.

-Close back opening and pour in your coolant, make sure you fill it up completely and removing the trap air in the water jacket.

-Check again after few days if the coolant level dropped and top it up

Edited by Raiders

just a quick reminder, try not to use HDB water dispensing system to flush with a hose connected, i find the pressure is too happening with short hose unless u got longer one to reduce the pressure

got 4 btl of mercs-benz coolant..the best.......have used for many years.........but OPC leh......must wait till sunday go autobacs to do coolant change.......use the machine......or

anyone can recommend WS open after 7pm in the west......scare cannot make it on time as autobacs close at 8pm!!!!!!!!!!!

Edited by Kungfu