Thedecemberone 3rd Gear January 8, 2015 Share January 8, 2015 +1 KYB shocks are decent. But i think he lost his springs in the process of the Coilover purchase. Looks like if he buys a full set of springs + shocks from KYB it would cost a bomb. AND... @Thedecemberone, are driving a relatively new Murano (given that there's still warranty)... I would just fix it. It's already sunken cost. Your car depre more every year than the shocks. What for put up with a terrible ride. Lastly, Murano is quite a tall car, and if the coilovers lowered it by a considerable amount I'm pretty sure your alignment is all out, especially the cambers. No lah! My Murano will be 7 years end of this month. Left 3 years to go. And yes, alignment was an issue but settled during the replacement. But all the while I never visit outside workshop as don't know which is reliable, so go back to TC for all my servicings. I just helped you checked the online database. NISSAN MURANO (Z51) 3.5 4x4 Model Year 10/2008 Motor power 188kW (256HP) 3498cc 6 cyld, 4v/v per cyld Engine Code VQ35DE NISSAN MURANO (Z51) 2.5 4x4 Model Year 01/2010 Motor power 140kW (190HP) 2488cc 4 cyld, 4v/v per cyld Engine Code YD25DDTi Are you driving either of the car? These are Euro specs. SoI am not sure if I got the right one. Mine is the last of 2008 2.5L model just before the newer model arrive. I am pleasantly surprised that ShellVpower is a lady. She is just so technically inclined and knowledgeable. Kudos to her. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ShellVpower 4th Gear January 9, 2015 Share January 9, 2015 No lah! My Murano will be 7 years end of this month. Left 3 years to go. And yes, alignment was an issue but settled during the replacement. But all the while I never visit outside workshop as don't know which is reliable, so go back to TC for all my servicings. Mine is the last of 2008 2.5L model just before the newer model arrive. I am pleasantly surprised that ShellVpower is a lady. She is just so technically inclined and knowledgeable. Kudos to her. I am not sure if KYB offers the part for your car. The current models are all for the older versions. So you might have to go to the OE numbers. Also, I checked your part numbers and found that they are not on a shared platform. So your car is one unique platform; very niche. So choices for you are limited. You either have to go to OE or nothing at all. The coilover developed for your car shouldn't be shared with another car therefore the possibilities of getting a mismatch is very low. So 2 possibilities. 1. Your coilover had a screwed up development. Just replace them. 2. Your settings could be improved. Let's assume that you are on #2. How much is your preload now? Can you take a photo of all 4 shock absorbers and post it here? You must name the photos with the respective position. How much is your damping forces clicked? How many clicks in all and how many clicks are you at now? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ake109 6th Gear January 9, 2015 Share January 9, 2015 The coilover developed for your car shouldn't be shared with another car therefore the possibilities of getting a mismatch is very low. So 2 possibilities. 1. Your coilover had a screwed up development. Just replace them. 2. Your settings could be improved. Let's assume that you are on #2. How much is your preload now? Can you take a photo of all 4 shock absorbers and post it here? You must name the photos with the respective position. How much is your damping forces clicked? How many clicks in all and how many clicks are you at now? I bet hor, he is like me, backside very Lin Dai Yu one. Not suited for coils. My KW, even on soft settings, I feel is very harsh. Other guys who own the same car on stiffer coils comment that my ride is very comfortable but I still feel that it is so harsh compared to stock. I think, if comfort is a factor, just bite the bullet and go back to the original shocks and springs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear January 9, 2015 Share January 9, 2015 KW, KYB, SACHS, KONI, BILSTEIN, SHOWA, TOKICO, MONROE and only those with ISO/TS16949:2009. The rest? I won’t take the risk. Nevermind about them supplying coilovers with adjustable bra or colour changing springs. In the first place, they aren’t even capable to ensuring it works accordingly, what’s the point? I have used KYB and now currently on Sachs. Think for my next car, I will stick with Sachs. Good stuff. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear January 9, 2015 Share January 9, 2015 I bet hor, he is like me, backside very Lin Dai Yu one. Not suited for coils. My KW, even on soft settings, I feel is very harsh. Other guys who own the same car on stiffer coils comment that my ride is very comfortable but I still feel that it is so harsh compared to stock. I think, if comfort is a factor, just bite the bullet and go back to the original shocks and springs. Alternatively, you can get gas shocks with OE springs. Quite a good balance. I did that with my previous ride and that setup lasted me for a while. Not all coils are harsh and/or stiff. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mz3SP0907 3rd Gear January 9, 2015 Share January 9, 2015 (edited) I believe the "feel" factor is to each his own... maybe comfortable for one but not everyone... used to be on coilover but revert back to stock springs with Bilstein B6 now... like it all the times... waited one year for the dampers due to my old lau pok kar... Edited January 9, 2015 by Mz3SP0907 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Detach8 5th Gear January 9, 2015 Share January 9, 2015 I bet hor, he is like me, backside very Lin Dai Yu one. Not suited for coils. My KW, even on soft settings, I feel is very harsh. Other guys who own the same car on stiffer coils comment that my ride is very comfortable but I still feel that it is so harsh compared to stock. I think, if comfort is a factor, just bite the bullet and go back to the original shocks and springs. Tyres... what tyres are you on? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ake109 6th Gear January 9, 2015 Share January 9, 2015 Tyres... what tyres are you on? 225/45/17 Evo S1, previous was RE50. Felt same. Don't ask me to swap to GR100 or Ecopia or Triplemax or dunno what Dunlopillow hor. I still want to stop safely in the rain. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Detach8 5th Gear January 9, 2015 Share January 9, 2015 (edited) 225/45/17 Evo S1, previous was RE50. Felt same. Don't ask me to swap to GR100 or Ecopia or Triplemax or dunno what Dunlopillow hor. I still want to stop safely in the rain. You are on performance tyres... RE50 is damn uncomfortable (most Bridgestones are, b/c of stiff sidewalls). Evo S1 is noisy... I haven't used Hankook in a long time. Why don't you try Michelin PS3? So far it is one of the best price vs performance tyres I can find. Comfortable, quiet, grippy. A lot of times poor wet performance is not only tyres. A lot of cars are set to be inflated a little under in front to induce understeer and underinflated tyres suck for cutting through wet roads. Try inflating front +20kpa and rear -10kpa and work from there. Edited January 9, 2015 by Detach8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thedecemberone 3rd Gear January 9, 2015 Share January 9, 2015 I am not sure if KYB offers the part for your car. The current models are all for the older versions. So you might have to go to the OE numbers. Also, I checked your part numbers and found that they are not on a shared platform. So your car is one unique platform; very niche. So choices for you are limited. You either have to go to OE or nothing at all. The coilover developed for your car shouldn't be shared with another car therefore the possibilities of getting a mismatch is very low. So 2 possibilities. 1. Your coilover had a screwed up development. Just replace them. 2. Your settings could be improved. Let's assume that you are on #2. How much is your preload now? Can you take a photo of all 4 shock absorbers and post it here? You must name the photos with the respective position. How much is your damping forces clicked? How many clicks in all and how many clicks are you at now? I think my setting if I did not hear wrongly was 3 clicks or 15% previously. But how to take photo of it as it's hidden behind the tyres. I try to take and post here. Now I only wish I have replaced with original shocks instead. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ake109 6th Gear January 9, 2015 Share January 9, 2015 I think my setting if I did not hear wrongly was 3 clicks or 15% previously. But how to take photo of it as it's hidden behind the tyres. I try to take and post here. Now I only wish I have replaced with original shocks instead. Your car Murano so big, just stick your hand behind the wheel with your mobile with flash on and click away. I did that for my car, it works. Just prepare to get arms dirty. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thedecemberone 3rd Gear January 9, 2015 Share January 9, 2015 Your car Murano so big, just stick your hand behind the wheel with your mobile with flash on and click away. I did that for my car, it works. Just prepare to get arms dirty. Wish I was young again. Old bones and body can make the task difficult. I think my setting if I did not hear wrongly was 3 clicks or 15% previously. But how to take photo of it as it's hidden behind the tyres. I try to take and post here. Now I only wish I have replaced with original shocks instead. Hi Sis, Here are the photos. Hope it's legible enough. My Coilover.docx Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ake109 6th Gear January 9, 2015 Share January 9, 2015 (edited) Hi Sis, Here are the photos. Hope it's legible enough. You took it with car jacked up right? Cannot be so much clearance otherwise. The springs look surprisingly short also. I cant tell for sure but from the pic, it might be pre-loaded quite a bit from the location of the perch. Your rears are not traditional coilovers? The spring and shocks still separate like stock setup. Didn't know some coilover sets are like that. 1st time see. Edited January 9, 2015 by Ake109 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thedecemberone 3rd Gear January 9, 2015 Share January 9, 2015 You took it with car jacked up right? Cannot be so much clearance otherwise. The springs look surprisingly short also. I cant tell for sure but from the pic, it might be pre-loaded quite a bit from the location of the perch. Your rears are not traditional coilovers? The spring and shocks still separate like stock setup. Didn't know some coilover sets are like that. 1st time see. No leh! In parked position. Don't have workshop to jack up. I am just as blur too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ake109 6th Gear January 9, 2015 Share January 9, 2015 No leh! In parked position. Don't have workshop to jack up. I am just as blur too. Your ground clearance I had to risk joint dis-location when I took pics of my coils. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ake109 6th Gear January 9, 2015 Share January 9, 2015 You are on performance tyres... RE50 is damn uncomfortable (most Bridgestones are, b/c of stiff sidewalls). Evo S1 is noisy... I haven't used Hankook in a long time. Why don't you try Michelin PS3? So far it is one of the best price vs performance tyres I can find. Comfortable, quiet, grippy. A lot of times poor wet performance is not only tyres. A lot of cars are set to be inflated a little under in front to induce understeer and underinflated tyres suck for cutting through wet roads. Try inflating front +20kpa and rear -10kpa and work from there. I am running even pressure front and rear already even though placard recommends 2psi higher on backside for high speeds or heavy loads. Also + 3 psi overall front and back, cold. Yes, am thinking of changing the S1s. My previous experience with Michelins have been good. Comfortable tyres, smooth drive. But thinking of F1A2 leh, whatcha think of this tyre? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thedecemberone 3rd Gear January 9, 2015 Share January 9, 2015 Your ground clearance I had to risk joint dis-location when I took pics of my coils. No lor! I was in semi-prone position taking the rear photos. Front one no problem, just squat down can already. No lor! I was in semi-prone position taking the rear photos. Front one no problem, just squat down can already. Ground clearance quite good, that why I bought this car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ShellVpower 4th Gear January 9, 2015 Share January 9, 2015 Wish I was young again. Old bones and body can make the task difficult. Hi Sis, Here are the photos. Hope it's legible enough. I hope I am using the knowledge I picked up from my teacher properly. Your coilover seems like a twin tube. Not a performance damper. Performance dampers are monotubes. Twin tubes have limitations which cause it to be lesser effective than a monotube when you come to performance requirements. This I have to see your damper personally to be 100% sure it is twintube. According to your description, the car is flat on the ground. From the looks of your coilovers, your front axle looks like it has a very short stroke length and the bump stop is crooked in your front left suggesting over hard impact or your bump stop is touching the top of the absorber body. This is abnormal to shock absorber performance. This is a suggestion of severe banging which will translate to hardness during ride as your compression stroke lack the stroke length to allow your damping force to build up. I think your spring weightage is insufficient enough for your car. The spring seat is also tuned up very high giving it higher preload which means your car will have more clearance but the car will feel more bouncy causing you to feel that the ride is harsh. Maybe what I suggest is that you can try reducing the preload by steps of 10mm all 4 axle round. This will cause your car to lower so be very careful about that. Then increase the damping forces to the middle of the clicks. Drive around and see how it feels. If the car loses traction in the turns (under steers/oversteers) too easily, then increase the damping force by 4 clicks and check your tyre pressure and tread condition, they affect handling and confort as well. If it is too tough, reduce by 2 and then if it is too tough, then reduce by 1. Or you can go straight to the damping force adjustment. Tune to the hardest, then reduce by 4 clicks. And try it out with your current spring set up (preload) if you have no one to help you adjust your spring seat. Then perform the same thing as above on the damping adjustment. Otherwise, wait for your warranty to expire and go and get the OE shock absorbers. I don’t think KYB has yours ready yet. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...