Sammy Neutral Newbie July 5, 2006 Share July 5, 2006 rotary! don't waste money on a PC and never polish by hand, ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silgt Neutral Newbie July 5, 2006 Share July 5, 2006 Quote rotary! don't waste money on a PC and never polish by hand huh...? care to elaborate on this? is your statement above applies to polishing/compounding only or to all process including for LSP? you recommend not to use "PC" as in Porter Cable alone or applied to all DA machines in general? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rontheman Neutral Newbie July 5, 2006 Share July 5, 2006 Really don't agree with your statement. Rotatry when in the correct hands will be much better than a PC, but a PC is a very much safer tool when used by a novice. So I don't think that it is a waste of money to get a PC. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sammy Neutral Newbie July 6, 2006 Share July 6, 2006 (edited) Fair enough guys, I learned on a rotary so picking up a PC was a nightmare. The only thing you have to worry about with a rotary is trim, if you tape it then there are no worries. Of course that is assuming you have the proper technique, which is rather simple: You keep the dial to 3 on most machines that is 1800 rpm's, and tilt the concave pads to prevent wiggle (the only ones I use are the 7.5 concaves and I only use the edge of the pad never the middle), and a good polish like Menzerna Intense Polish, and the swirls are removed in ONE pass. Half the time I use a PC I can't even get the swirls removed, and the other half it takes forever. The only danger part with a rotary happens when you are at high RPM's and you stay in one place to long. If you don't do this you will never hurt your paint. The only time I ever did any damage was because I tried to go over a painted trim piece that I shouldn't have, it was my own fault and it was years ago. I've polsihed many many cars/trucks/SUV's over the last couple years and I've had no damage. I respect your guys opinion, PC's are "safer", but that doesn't mean rotaries aren't safe, and it doesn't mean you can do anything with a PC either. I just read where a dude took and aggressive polish with a PC and still burnt through the paint. I'll try to get the thread if I can find it. Is this a fair elabration? Edited July 6, 2006 by Sammy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Inxs Neutral Newbie July 6, 2006 Share July 6, 2006 Hi Guys, Any reccomendation for polishing to be done @ my residence? Referrals please. Thanks and Regards Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tarzan666 2nd Gear July 6, 2006 Share July 6, 2006 well u can buy a B&D set..then powerpoint wise..i've seen residents stayin in lower floor using those extention cord & connect from above.. I've also tried askin my neighbouring provision shop 2 borrow their power point..they were quite ok with it..but dun tink its nice 2 use it everytime i polish.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sammy Neutral Newbie July 6, 2006 Share July 6, 2006 I'm in Northern California, you? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear July 6, 2006 Share July 6, 2006 Welcome to MCF, we hope you enjoy your stay with us. nice to see someone logging in from the States. Do refer to our forum guideline in order to make your stay a better one. Cheers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahbengdriver 6th Gear July 6, 2006 Share July 6, 2006 Quote I really lost control..dun know. check with few mcf bros here,they know why...anyway is just a interest.. better then chionging Batam rite U lost what control of yr car, the brakes? Wah lau, i just bot another MF cloth leh. This one for drying. Think we GB next time hor. This cloth damn steam man, best ever I used. Makes me feel like washing car every day n dry with it. kekekeke Anyway for those interested, maddriver s car is a mobile car detailing accesory shop PS: Ahbengdriver has no commercial relation to maddriver what so ever, altho we are both drivers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Clubace Clutched July 6, 2006 Share July 6, 2006 its a USD 300 machine leh! Moreover, the pad can only use 4". You have to get another set of pads. I salute you! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maddriver 4th Gear July 6, 2006 Share July 6, 2006 eh Bengz, u bought another MF cloths?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahbengdriver 6th Gear July 6, 2006 Share July 6, 2006 There s only 2 things I like - my car and my MF cloths Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_bon Neutral Newbie July 6, 2006 Share July 6, 2006 Beng, What you bought? share share leh... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahbengdriver 6th Gear July 6, 2006 Share July 6, 2006 its a MF cloth like the 2 blue ones u showed me which inturn resemble the friggin expensive Meguiarf water magnet. But this one is green colour. damn shiok to touch arh esp when wet/damn, feel like wiping my face Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_bon Neutral Newbie July 6, 2006 Share July 6, 2006 Green ones?... Sounds like Fibershine... where you bought it from?? Let me guess... CARREFOUR izzit?!?!?!? How much $$$?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahbengdriver 6th Gear July 6, 2006 Share July 6, 2006 wah u really cloth expert man. Yeap Fibershine it is. Actually from the looks, it really resembles Meg water magnet. But its softer n absorbs much better. Carrefour got sell meh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_bon Neutral Newbie July 6, 2006 Share July 6, 2006 No... But i tot since you everyday oso tour Carrefour mah.. tot carrefour now also sell fibershine products... :):) so you went Stamford tyres... Use already share with us good or not... Oh... we better not continue on this thread... think wrong thread to talk about MF cloth... Over OT later mod Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maddriver 4th Gear July 6, 2006 Share July 6, 2006 tat fibreshine? u better used it on yr rims..it create swirl..Beng har ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...