Impedence of each speaker in component set?

Hyun

component speakers we buy are 4 ohm combined right, but in running active, each piece (tweet, bass) is actually 2 ohm? so need 2 ohm stable amps to run?

so somehow using each speaker separately is 4 ohms, but tie them up with the passive crossover, combined also 4 ohms? interesting ...

huh? where got? u use multi meter to test, its 4ohm,(actually, ard 3.9 like that),

so no need worry.

also, ur amp is 1-4ohm stable, so no need worry lah.. hahahaha

just toying with some ideas.

i dont exactly know how passive crossover boxes work. from what i read, it's mainly using stuff like capacitor.

so imagine - from a passive xbox of 2way system, if i tie another pair of tweeters parallel to the original tweeters, the tweeters output will drop to half each, share share. that means the output to tweeters will now be less than output to midbass. so the sound unbalance liao hor ... like that cannot.

but if i run active, then i can do whatever i want liao - parallel extra set of tweeters off the active tweeter channel (halving the impedence), as long as amp can tahan. output drop can compensate with gain control.

From a bit of reasearch recently, i found out that if the speakers are wired in parallel it would be 4ohm and 4 ohm, but if wired in serial it will be 2ohm and 2ohm.

yoyo,

just did some reading,

in the Xover, there are inductors and capacitors. i too lazy to go into the maths, but they are indeed wired in parallel, thus "effectively" making the resistance 2 ohms (parallel 4 ohms and 4 ohms get 2 ohm),

but due to the large resistance in some of the components, when the maths is done, the effective resistance is 4ohms, thus even though in the Xover, the tweet and mid are wired in parallel, due to the inductor and cap in the circuit, it will change the overall resistance.

cheers!

wah, no wonder we can TIAH the speakers and run active and still get 4 ohms.

so your next setup when u come back from red hair land got how many ohms? 0.125?