Kianbeng Clutched June 17, 2006 Share June 17, 2006 Hi all bros! Me need some advise....coz I really cannot stop my itchy fingers liao!!!!! argh!!! I currently got a 1) Kenwood cassette CD Changer HU 2) Component speakers (Brain freeze can't remember which brand but it's good) 3) 2 x 8" woofers (Very happy) 4) Cheap china 2ch amp which I bridge and switch to low pass for the 2x8" woofers The component speakers are driven by the HU direct. I have 2 not so happy things. 1) I wish to have MP3 now leh....Thinking of buying 1 Pioneer MP3 player which cost like $150 from Mustafa. 2) My current cheap china amp is actually quite nice...low pass, really good bass when powering the 2 x woofers behind. But always got pop sound when idle goes up and down. After fiddling with many things, ie adding cap to stablise the 12V input, also no use. So I'm very sian. Want to change to a new amp. And since if changing amp, I want to get 4ch, so that I can power the component speakers also so that when you tune up the volume, the treble and bass are "consistently increased". So far did I make sense?? So maybe a 4ch will be good. And so I'm thinking of the 4Ch Pioneer amp from Mustafa which is only about $200?? But the prob is....they don't give warranty and I'm scared if I got prob in installation, my $200 for the amp will be gone. Any recommendations from Bros? Me low budget lah.....these money....must come from my lunch money....so cannot spend too much. The rest of my savings already go to my 1 little monster....and another monster is coming out this sept. Need to save. So really only want to spend minimal....but don't dare to get those no brand stuff liao. But Pioneer or Sony stuff from Mustafa is really cheap leh. Can buy or not? Can someone advise? Gam sia! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelvinlev Neutral Newbie June 17, 2006 Share June 17, 2006 Bro....low budget huh... Well,in that case,go to the audio shop which you are going to install unless you DIY. Guess from the audio shop,they might have a better amp,150-250.Comes with warranty,which most should.If you get a second hand amp,a better brand also another choice. MP3 player has some limitation which due to its compression of the data,it can't really give you a good low or high.Soyou might have to get a better amp,like audison,genesis etc.pioneer amp is ok if you get the high end one,otherwise,it will be just a below average amp.Consider getting a second hand genesis or other better amp(still within your budget),the result will be obvious. However,recommend you get a dual mono(or another 4 chn amp ) for your 2 X woofer.Instead,retain your china amp for your front components.Speakers driven directly by HU not that ideal. So you are adding on stuffs,retain your original stuff and play around first. Base from your setup.You get a $150 pioneer HU,though don't know which model number you are refering,I think the HU itself will have limited EQ,maybe a few standard one like treble,bass,etc. Try sim lim instead.Look for export set,without warranty,but can get good stuffs at very good price. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
York Clutched June 17, 2006 Share June 17, 2006 go & take a look @ the grd flr shop of SLT, can find some budget korean amp...they r quite good...can ask for shop 7 days warranty for export set.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelvinlev Neutral Newbie June 17, 2006 Share June 17, 2006 Read someone selling his HU pioneer DEH 9350.Should be a wma/mp3 player.Selling at $200 Don't know his name but he left his number - 91918350 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched June 18, 2006 Author Share June 18, 2006 Ground floor of SLT? Those look like cut vege head shops. No one go there one leh....only tourists? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched June 18, 2006 Author Share June 18, 2006 2nd hand stuff....sometimes also don't know got prob or not....seems like a high end model...so I sometimes doubt it's going to be good bah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched June 18, 2006 Author Share June 18, 2006 Oh. Me DIY or go JB one. So I don't go local audio shops coz they always package installation + parts. If just parts alone, they also don't give much discounts leh. The pioneer HU with MP3 from Mustafa, I think it's DEH1550.... The china cheap amp....I want to put at home....or put at somewhere where the 12V input is stable. Coz if I put for components, when 12V -> 13+V, you'll also hear the pop sound. So it's not ideal. Very sian if keep on hearing this. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
York Clutched June 18, 2006 Share June 18, 2006 huh...vege...no lah...lot of ICE fans bought frm them...u can always do some homework if u think they'll u, go to SLS 1st to chk for the prices for showrooms & auditions too....then armed wif the brand & model#...& approach them... but seriously, their prices r o.k....Their customers r mostly D.I.Y fans Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched June 18, 2006 Author Share June 18, 2006 I got check before....but it's like....every amp they also say very good. This amp? good. That amp? good. Any prob? No.....Any aeroplane sound? No....Any pop sound? no.... But prices so cheap....? ya..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
York Clutched June 18, 2006 Share June 18, 2006 Any aeroplane sound? No....Any pop sound airplane & pop sound..potentally installation problems...loose connection of power & audio supply line can lead to these defects... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched June 18, 2006 Author Share June 18, 2006 My cheap china amp got alot of problems associated with the 12V line. Nothing to do with the audio supply line. Was checked by a highly recommended audio shop in SG. Think thats the best they can do with this amp. Think the 12V line is not properly isolated. Maybe design is bad? But if 12V is stable, the sound is actually very good. Wasted sia. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelvinlev Neutral Newbie June 18, 2006 Share June 18, 2006 Bro,deh 1550 is a simple HU if I am not wrong. If you don't require much EQ or any TA / TCR ,then it's ok for you to install that. At the end,you just need to be happy with the result you get from your decision. But do consider about the set up I recommended to you from the 1st reply to you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bobcatsysop Neutral Newbie June 19, 2006 Share June 19, 2006 Hi Bro, Sorry to interupting here.. << My cheap china amp got alot of problems associated with the 12V line. Nothing to do with the audio supply line. Was checked by a highly recommended audio shop in SG. Think thats the best they can do with this amp. Think the 12V line is not properly isolated. Maybe design is bad? But if 12V is stable, the sound is actually very good.>> For a good amplifier to perform at it's optimium.. regardless if it is China made or US, German or whatever made, I read from some articles that AMPS normally perform best at 14.4v and their RMS at rated based on that voltage but that voltage is near impossible to achieve for stable supply for a normal standard battery and a standard alternator. However, the AMP need ideally at least 13.8v stable voltage to perform.. which is what you should need to have to power ALL your ICE components. At 12volts DC, the AMP is not performing to it's design. What type of battery and alternator (if necessary) you need to give you that required optimium performance for your ICE is what you need to look at now, in my opinion. Just my 2 cents worth. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched June 19, 2006 Author Share June 19, 2006 I have standard stuff. 100% stock Mazda 323 leh. Now I understand why some of the boom boom cars have high idling speed.....maybe it's to always push the alternator to give it's peak?? Aiyah....me don't want to sacrifice any FC for audio leh..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bobcatsysop Neutral Newbie June 19, 2006 Share June 19, 2006 Hi Bro, Now you understand. Another thing... when you play ICE, you need to scarifice FC for audio for sure.. Coz you need to spend lots of hours sitting in the car, listening to the sound, adjusting and making adjustments. When idling to listen to ICE, FC will suffer for sure. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bosebani Neutral Newbie June 20, 2006 Share June 20, 2006 Also extra Weight from the Amps, Sub, MDF board, etc.........equals to bad fc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bobcatsysop Neutral Newbie June 20, 2006 Share June 20, 2006 Very true ... very true.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
York Clutched June 20, 2006 Share June 20, 2006 For a good amplifier to perform at it's optimium.. regardless if it is China made or US, German or whatever made, I read from some articles that AMPS normally perform best at 14.4v and their RMS at rated based on that voltage but that voltage is near impossible to achieve for stable supply for a normal standard battery and a standard alternator. However, the AMP need ideally at least 13.8v stable voltage to perform.. which is what you should need to have to power ALL your ICE components. hmmm...agreed...tt why u can see/hear those 'boom boom' car wind down their windows...'even' the roasting weather , to ensure no drawing of current for air-cond comfort...in order to achieve 14+V & blast it... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...