Newice1234

When delay TA, should left right should be same volume le [crazy]

No EQ i agreed with you, Best if possible [thumbsup]

But I love my TA [inlove]

Bor,

Did not do TA, cause cannot do it will ask Bob to help if he is free this Wed... I can hear the sound running round the car, but only too loud on the right........... [flowerface][thumbsup]

No wonder la.......don't do Auto TA la, do some real TA yourselfs more jun! [thumbsup]

OR go for Wed meetup ask the bros there tune for you, MCF bros here all very helpful ones but remember to bring soem kopi along [laugh]

Bro,

I hear ppl say Active setup cannot do AutoTA...dont know true a not!!!.... [dizzy]

Tonight ask Bob to help out ...see can do TA a not..... [thumbsup][gossip]

Edited by Mdvic

I anyhow hatam... now the sound is not bad ...but i feel it can be better.....

[gossip][rifle][sweatdrop][crazy]

Dont know the speakers can take it a not!!!! [crazy][sweatdrop]

Edited by Mdvic

What I understand so far is that TA adjusts the delay of the speakers, i.e. the speaker that is nearer to the listener is delayed, relative to the speaker that is further away. From this calculation based on the speed of sound, the result is that sound from both left and right speakers reach you at almost the same time by firing at diff speeds, therefore creating a perception of centre stageing. It should have nothing to do with volume (or amplitude).

I don't know much about auto TA, but actually, from experience, use a measuring tape to measure all the distances of your speakers to the listener, incl. the rear, and it will be quite accurate (using a flat EQ). Thereafter, do small adjustments there and then when you adjust tonal balance with your EQ, over a wide range of well-recorded tracks.

Yes, passive speakers can achieve a somewhat accuate TA, I believe. It all depends on where you take measurements from, and how your speakers are placed. Normally, the tweeters/mids have the most effect in creating the stage perception.

When doing TA, do take note of a few things. Firstly, if there's any "drifting" of vocals, esp female high alto/suprano vocals. Drifting can mean either the main voice shifts position or the tail-end of the voice like echoes and dynamic projections comes from either side instead of the centre. Bear in mind that your rear field TA affects this also. Secondly, take note of the various focus in the instruments. Do they stay in place? Can you tell where are they? How far? Can you hear the resonnance and the reverberations? Are they supposed to be the size they're supposed to be? etc.....

For me, it has been really "fun" trying to TA my car properly...I'm still at it...because each time I TA, then I EQ, then I play with amp gains, then I come back to TA...each cycle with a wide range of songs...never ending story...!!!!

Edited by Kermit

wa lau brudder, sui lah. ok ok, can gimme your HU & spkrs, you can keep the rest hahahaaaaa.....

coming tonight? can bring the x-overs? Kwongwing got some crazy idea ask me to try...

one of the trickiest instrument i find to TA is something like the double bass or bass guitar.

some low notes tend to resonate with your car interior, like some parts of your plastics, dashboard etc. if a note resonates near your gear shift, u feel the sound coming from the centre! and if the resonance of another note coincides with some plastic near your steering wheel, the direction seems to come from steering wheel! so at different notes, often change direction. not sure if u guys notice this ...

My take on this:

That is why you need to properly "soundproof" your car...yes, all parts of the car as and when you find rattling sounds. if even after you're sure all parts of the car are properly dampened, tightened, secured...and u still find rosonnance in the wronf direction, some frequencies are not balanced out properly, i.e. too much...

Bro Bosebain,

Tks man , but my Fader have some problem, so cannot do TA,,, bro Robin and kermit is helping me with my TA........... wah!!!! this 2 really expert man.........

because what they say i olso dont understand.............. because i got pea brains....sorry for slow learning power.... [sweatdrop][dizzy] ......

Went for 3 meetup so trying to understand more about the TA and QA setup...

Hope i will understand in time to come.....hahahahaha........ [crazy][laugh]

Bro ,

Tks for the adivse, but i have seek the Guru's help......they are really good in doing the TA & EQ.............professional man.... [thumbsup][jawdrop]

Try out today, after the repair. Wow! at least now can hear the sound running from left to right speakers....................

[thumbsup][bounce1][bounce2][bounce1][grouphug][drivingcar]

Bro Mdvic,

Can also learn from bro Hyun, don forget about him, his tuning and understanding of ICE also not bad [thumbsup]

Hope to hear your new TA settings soon [flowerface]

Don't make me paiseh leh...not expert lah...just busybody....glad that your fader problem is solved. Now we can proceed. Rem to up your sub gain a little.