How to mod Corona?

Smallkid

hello all, me new to cars and want to learn more.

I get to drive my dad's corona and wonder will these things help get power:

Iridium sparkplugs

Jetracing cables

Power Boost Valve

saw them in motoring magazine, looks interesting.

any advice?

thank you [:)]

I understand that even if you do need that extra boost from the Iridium plugs, its still worth the purchase as a typical plug like the Iridium can last 40,000km!

Say, it cost 90 bcks for 4 plugs and it will run for 40,000km.

ie. 10,000 km cost you 90/4 = $20 odd bucks... which is just slightly more than a typical plug which cost $15-20 from a workshop which will most likely last only 10,000km.

Thanks! But my dad thinking of killing off the corona, now maybe thinking of getting conti car instead. [;)]

Can iridium be used in conti car as well, then I can try on the corona then swap to conti car if my dad decides to buy one (maybe SEAT TOLEDO)

heatrange? usually same or close together? i thinking of trying out the iri plugs on my dad's corona first leh, backside itchy itchy, I was told to get IK20.

[pirate]

But the best way to draw more power is to work on the engine. Do a transplant, big-bore the block will give you the most straight forward power gain.

[mad]

ThatOne, you sound like an experience guy. What have you done to your 4-wheeler?

Itchy scratch lah! Ha Ha [laugh]

try going to www.iridiumpower.com see can find the plug for both cars then compare see can swap or not lor

What have I done....hmmmm.....well, its in the past now...haha.

Waoh.. you must be someone in the racing circuit from the past. Would be glad to meet up with you next time to seek your experience and knowledge.

Happy New Year!!!

Yo.. actually I had tried out Weapon R's Fuel regulator.. IMO FSE's better. Those plugs make not much of a diff if you dun plug in MSD coil.. it should have a model for your car.. i'm not sure. With the MSD, you will see much more improvement.

The Toledo is heavy on 1st gear.. move off will be slow..

If u add in the following, would it benefit the low end to midrange?

1) FSE-PBV

2) MSD Coil and Amp

3) Iridium Spark Plugs

4) NGK Spark Plug Cables

5) Unichip

6) Heavy Duty Clutch

7) Lightened Flywheel

Any idea whether its "legal" in TP's view and LTA's view to do the above mentioned mods?

Har!! like that also can ah? what i want is the other way round.... look normal.... but when need power.... power is there. .... frankly... i even saw a Evolution VII with the spoiler behind removed!! i almost fainted...... some of u might say.... might be a lancer modified..... no it's not... i'm sure.... my fren sells evos.... so i know how to identify one...... [:p]

Illegally I tried to mod a previous car before what i have now.

1998 Corona 1.6 GLi with Custom 4-2-1 Header, Short Ram Air Intake,Intrax Springs, Bilstein Shocks, Denso Iridium plugs and Denso wires, Remus Twin turbo design muffler. Beaten a couple Civics that tried to cut me off especially on the red lights but we shall not go into there. Most stuffs that i did was preety minor that time. Oh I put in PIAA headlight before HID was popular, another thing that i noticed is the lack of low end torque still does not satisfy me. I did infact put 18 inch wheels to that car so it takes away a couple acceleration away but before the first inspection, i exported it to Indonesia as I utilize the Corona better there. I guess there is a lot of stuff that you can do illegally. Legally, you can gain a lil bit of Hp and torque but not much. Corona are design to be a semi economy car providing comfort and reliability.

hello all, me new to cars and want to learn more.

I get to drive my dad's corona and wonder will these things help get power:

Iridium sparkplugs

Jetracing cables

Power Boost Valve

saw them in motoring magazine, looks interesting.

any advice?

thank you smile.gif

they gives u 0 bhp....smile.gif

which year of Corona was it???

is it auto???

Yo.. actually I had tried out Weapon R's Fuel regulator.. IMO FSE's better. Those plugs make not much of a diff if you dun plug in MSD coil.. it should have a model for your car.. i'm not sure. With the MSD, you will see much more improvement.

The Toledo is heavy on 1st gear.. move off will be slow..

i dun think with MSD,it will makes any difference...

unless the car is quite heavily modded...

otherwise the stock ignition system is fine....

If u add in the following, would it benefit the low end to midrange?

1) FSE-PBV

2) MSD Coil and Amp

3) Iridium Spark Plugs

4) NGK Spark Plug Cables

5) Unichip

6) Heavy Duty Clutch

7) Lightened Flywheel

Any idea whether its "legal" in TP's view and LTA's view to do the above mentioned mods?

i believe only the Unichip can help to yield a few more horses...lightened flywheel helps for pick up...nod.gif

the rest is redundant for a stock or almost stock cars...if ur car is not making that much extra horses compare to stock,even with racing clutch is also redundant...smile.gif

those mods shd be quite LTA frenly...