What is going on :( ???

Imamiah

We are here. Just that I don't have access during office hours. So I work after office hours laugh.gif. Oh, we do appreciate help from fellow forumers.

would like to ask if fellow MCFers (those old birds) have noticed the following.

it seems to me that new comers (not all lah [:p] )are starting to get nasty with their postings. it is most sad that by looking thru popular threads, there r always calling of names n commenting that e other postings by fellow members are stupid/silly etc. e language used is also getting colourful. cant we juz keep this forum as it use to be? y....y....????

Just ignore such people rather than replying to them when they fire one shot at you. At times, the whole thread is swamp with 2 people exchanging insult at each other. No value at all [:)]

Where is Woodlands...?

I starting to miss him... [smallcry]

Eh, why do you miss him leh? You looking for one-liner again?

Or you need number to call TP? [:/]

Woodlands sounds like an angel compared to what some of those idiots do.

I can still remember that OPC guy who's so anal towards any comments on OPC owners deserving to get fined for flouting the rules.

Which one? quote name leh? [bounce1][laugh]

Some people can be rather extreme lar.. If they don't take reasonable comments and start to talk like children, just ignore them. If you keep replying, then there's no need and you will start to look like them liao

Cheers [:)]

Well,

Linus is out of town these few days while Lukie normally do not log in during office hours.

Assassin and Ace_t are both busy with work.

still have u mah [;)]

Maybe should use IC photo as an avatar so we all can know who are the rascals lurking here. [sly]

and how do you suggest that we enforce that leh? Gad will [dizzy][laugh]

I've joined MCF probably about 3 years back and i loved it back then. I may not post alot during my time here, but i do visit this forum pratically every day. What makes me comes here so often is because lotsa friendly people are around sharing really useful tips, feedbacks, jokes and etc.

As of now, its seems this situation have changed...people coming in to this community to brag about how big their engine displacement are...how fast their cars are and how lousy other others car are...and its goes on and on...

How i wished it could go back to the good o days...

noticed that too....

the thing abt MCF is that it is a non-profit forum with volunteers as moderators. dun forget moderators need to work for bread & butter.

we can help by highlighting it to them or we can convert this forum into a pay-per-participate to ward off those malicious members...

with the $$ collected, we can use it to fund our charity drive [sly][sly][sly]

That's the thing with forums.

With less members, the forummers are more close-knit and normal.

When it gets popular, all the trolls, monkeys and oran-utans starts flocking in and disrupt the tranquility of the forum.

tt's a good one. new comers must join e forum using phtocopy IC... but tink those trouble-makers only hv birth-cert, no IC yet [lipsrsealed]

1. Trust me its alot of admin work though it may seems easy to ask for IC. I used to run a private BBS, where it is mandatory for modemers to send in their photocopied ICs. I usually followed up by calling their contact numbers to verify their particulars and ask questions, in case impersonation occurred.

2. Again, people may be turned off by the need to submit zapped I/C. I will not do it for piracy reasons unless I know the mods or admin personally. Not that we don't trust them, these information has the possibilty of abuse if not handled properly. Well, perhaps it has soemthing to do with my job nature where I naturally have distrust about non factual or unverified information. Well, thats my personal opinion.

Regards,

True that many ole members no longer frequent MCF, but many I now personally enter lesser due to family commitments (e.g. more kids) or work (more responsibilities), etc.

Well,

Linus is out of town these few days while Lukie normally do not log in during office hours.

Assassin and Ace_t are both busy with work.

1. Ok, let me state in clear here that this is my personal opinion and we agree to disagree. IMHO, moderators need not "show face" here. They have a more important job to do. When I was moderating some public forums, I didn't login as a moderator and involve in discussion just like a normal forumer, reasons are:

a) Sometimes, things might just get personal and it may affect your discretion.

b) If need be, use a different id in more casual forums. You blend in better. Sometimes, people just like to curry favour the moderators and you might not get the true opinions.

c) In some forums, moderators don't indulge in discussion at all. They just "police" the site. In this way, you draw a clear line and perform your "duties" strictly.

2. Of course, not to suggest that this place should operate in this manner. Afterall, the mods are just part-timers. Having said that, I must admit that I'm still a car mod dummy and may not act sensibly to snake oil gadgets sometimes and this is a great place to learn from others' mistakes.

Regards,

Edited by Kelpie

i am still in forum while a lot of lau jiao not longer here sweatdrop.gif

some of them do surf here, but just that they refuses to post.

to add on to what turbobrick have mentioned. maybe age pay a part too...