Sash7 Neutral Newbie June 10, 2006 Share June 10, 2006 hi to all technical bros/sis... anyone can help me???.... juz today morning was driving my car to work.... and to my dismay after abt 20mins of traveling, i found that the Check engine light is on! then the auto gear have problem upshifting and rpm keep dropping to abt less than 500rpm while idling waiting for traffic lights. frm 1st gear to 2nd gear,2nd gear to 3rd abt 3800rpm, the atuo will drag by its own. while braking the downshift is greatly felt by giving a jerk feeling... feels like driving a manual car... wonder wats wrong with my car... anyone can help? b.t.w i m driving a civic. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie June 10, 2006 Share June 10, 2006 Sounds like the MAF sensor is going out of whack, check the connection or clean with contact cleaner. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sash7 Neutral Newbie June 10, 2006 Author Share June 10, 2006 bro... whr can i find the MAF sensor?!..... me not very good in technical stuff..... damn worried... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear June 11, 2006 Share June 11, 2006 (edited) could b anything, faulty sensor, faulty alternator, etc. only a OBD diagnostic can bring up the problem. no point 2nd guess. y not go back to KM or goto STARS workshop. worst to worst just pay for diagnostic lor. btw. better u standby the contact nos of tow truck cos u may need them soon. Edited June 11, 2006 by Apollo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mok_ Neutral Newbie June 11, 2006 Share June 11, 2006 Which year is your civic? If it is OBD-II compliant, you can look for Saaber. He has low cost diagnostic tools. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie June 11, 2006 Share June 11, 2006 MAF sensor is located right after the airbox along the intake hose, just check the electrical connector first, start with the simplest stuff then look deeper. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trex101 3rd Gear June 11, 2006 Share June 11, 2006 hi to all technical bros/sis... anyone can help me???.... juz today morning was driving my car to work.... and to my dismay after abt 20mins of traveling, i found that the Check engine light is on! then the auto gear have problem upshifting and rpm keep dropping to abt less than 500rpm while idling waiting for traffic lights. frm 1st gear to 2nd gear,2nd gear to 3rd abt 3800rpm, the atuo will drag by its own. while braking the downshift is greatly felt by giving a jerk feeling... feels like driving a manual car... wonder wats wrong with my car... anyone can help? b.t.w i m driving a civic. High chances it the MAF or O2 sensor that's spoilt. Try the cheapest and simplest by using contact cleaner, if cannot that go to mechanic. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sash7 Neutral Newbie June 11, 2006 Author Share June 11, 2006 hi bro... understand wat u trying to say... will bring to my WS to diagnose.... but not before i try to find the MAF sensor... good to learn more things Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sash7 Neutral Newbie June 11, 2006 Author Share June 11, 2006 bro which year than is OBD-II compliant??? not good @ all this terms , mine car is a PI civic EU-1 2002. wats a low cost diagnostic tools?? pai seh... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sash7 Neutral Newbie June 11, 2006 Author Share June 11, 2006 hi bro... thks for the help.... will try to locate the sensor first and try to clean it... as for the contact cleaner or brake cleaner, we can get frm petrol kiosk? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sash7 Neutral Newbie June 11, 2006 Author Share June 11, 2006 hello bro... can u tell me a place whr i can get contact cleaner?.... i have no idea man.... appreciated it..... thks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trex101 3rd Gear June 11, 2006 Share June 11, 2006 Any spare part shops or DIY shop will have stock it, if all else fail then get it from me lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie June 11, 2006 Share June 11, 2006 (edited) No!!!! Not brake cleaner! contact cleaner can be bought from electronic shops or perhaps stores like BEST, it's used to clean cassette tape player head. Edited June 11, 2006 by Turbobrick Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sash7 Neutral Newbie June 11, 2006 Author Share June 11, 2006 ok ok bro..... i did a quick search on the net... they stated can use brake cleaner... think better listen to u guys.... safer... shall buy it later.... thks appreciate it..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sash7 Neutral Newbie June 11, 2006 Author Share June 11, 2006 huh? u sell them too???? though u sell only engine oil?.... whoa.... but too late ya... need to clean tonite so can move the car tomorrow... but anything... me will try yr new oil next servicing.... heard is cheap and good.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear June 11, 2006 Share June 11, 2006 hey dun bother with checking. bring it to the workshop as apollo said. chances are, your ecu has gone into limp mode (usual symptoms). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mok_ Neutral Newbie June 12, 2006 Share June 12, 2006 bro which year than is OBD-II compliant??? not good @ all this terms , mine car is a PI civic EU-1 2002. wats a low cost diagnostic tools?? pai seh... EU1 should be OBD-II compliant. You should go for a diagnostic scan instead of guessing what the problem is. A low cost diagnostic tool will allow you to do your own OBD-II diagnostic and clear the CEL. you'll need to service or repair according to the fault reported by the diagnostic scanner. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sash7 Neutral Newbie June 13, 2006 Author Share June 13, 2006 thks for the advice bro....the car already in the WS for 2days liao.... damn boring... diagnostic scan has been done... @first show some sensor is spolit, damage abt 300bucks waited for whole day for sensor to arrive...WS ask me not to collect first as they need to test out the car, make sure is ok. next morning i call again... WS boss call me to say after fixing on the sensor, he went for a drive but cel on again... damn.... diagnose again and check... the whole trottle body up the lorry.... cost of damage 1k plus.... really damn sad....dun really understand....why the whole trottle body can juz spolit like that... no mod or anything...damn ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...