Vios73 1st Gear June 5, 2006 Share June 5, 2006 I am looking at either the Aveo5 or the new Aveo sedan. Test drive both (auto gear) at AM and now thinking which one to get. The price is diff by 2k (44988 - Aveo5, 46988 - Sedan). Both interior looks ok to me but not sure shd pump in extra the 2k for the new sedan that comes with a boot and new interior/exterior design. But on the value for money issue, the Aveo5 seem to better in terms of $$ value. Can bros here help to comment before i decide which one to get? Thanks thanks..... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Frozebite Neutral Newbie June 5, 2006 Share June 5, 2006 I think that the seddan is better and somemore the new fl one looks good Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gantan88 Clutched June 5, 2006 Share June 5, 2006 Car with boots is always better. Got space to store more stuffs. Provide additional crash zone for rear passenger also. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear June 5, 2006 Share June 5, 2006 No need to think, no matter how convincing the sales are ... IMHO.. a) New better then old. No one knows how long the old stock has been under the hot sun and rain in the open. Think...corrosion. b) New usually have engineering defect rectified. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Glyuen 3rd Gear June 5, 2006 Share June 5, 2006 Sedan. It looks a lot nicer and has better build quality. The boot will come in handy... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skthk Neutral Newbie June 5, 2006 Share June 5, 2006 (edited) Your nick is Vios ? not looking at Vios ? i think if family man get sedan better. If youngster get Aveo5. i think if Aveo5 that comes with airbag is $1k more. So the diff between sedan (which have airbag) is just $1k. Who's your SE ? Edited June 5, 2006 by Skthk Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vios73 1st Gear June 5, 2006 Author Share June 5, 2006 (edited) Vios more ex leh....abit cramp at the rear too. Also thinking that my wife can drive the Aveo5 as it is smaller and easier to handle compare to the sedan. But i also agreed with all bros here that new better than old, sedan suit family man like me, the boot space can be quite handy sometimes.....i think the sedan interior looks more attractive to me too....so the decision shd be AVEO SEDAN for me....any more comment goes to the Aveo5?? Edited June 5, 2006 by Vios73 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Glyuen 3rd Gear June 5, 2006 Share June 5, 2006 Vios rear is very cramped. Aveo sedan looks nice then Vios IMHO and its less common. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gilgamesh Neutral Newbie June 8, 2006 Share June 8, 2006 Err...Vios' backseats space is cramp is correct but.....seems to be seeing more and more Aveos on the road these days, be it H/B or Sedan. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Law_ong Neutral Newbie June 8, 2006 Share June 8, 2006 aveo5 comes standard with 1 airbag...who ur SE to quote u extra Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vit4wd 1st Gear June 8, 2006 Share June 8, 2006 No need to think, no matter how convincing the sales are ... IMHO.. a) New better then old. No one knows how long the old stock has been under the hot sun and rain in the open. Think...corrosion. b) New usually have engineering defect rectified. New models usually have some teething issues that will be rectified so that you do not get them in the later batches. Aveo sedan is also very heavy at over 1100kg for a 1.4l = higher fuel consumption. You decide! There's got to be some compromises. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Law_ong Neutral Newbie June 8, 2006 Share June 8, 2006 (edited) true...but hor...the new sedan has almost everything the same except chassis and suspension btw...my bro 2nd tank managed to get 11km/l and is still running in... Edited June 8, 2006 by Law_ong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skthk Neutral Newbie June 8, 2006 Share June 8, 2006 I don't think so. If comes with 1 air bag is cheaper than sedan $1k. the sedan is bigger than same 1.4 class cars, looks more like a 1.6. But ya I think pickup is slow. For Aveo5 u can do more things with it i guess like getting those 2 tone leather seats with the interior color to match the outside. I find tat if do this with sedan not so nice, as the sedan is more serious, more class. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Law_ong Neutral Newbie June 8, 2006 Share June 8, 2006 hmmm...u rite...just checked the price list that my bro had when he bought his chevy....no airbag for aveo5. they both just got the abs in common... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vit4wd 1st Gear June 8, 2006 Share June 8, 2006 Aveo sedan auto pick up is very sluggish. Have to rev to at least 3000rpm for reasonable pick up. Personal opinion based on my test drive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Law_ong Neutral Newbie June 8, 2006 Share June 8, 2006 ya...u rite. actually can feel a bit of surge when u hit 2800rpm onwards...if not really really slow in pickup.. dun need personal opinion, its a fact . i feel the same when driving my bro's...but hor it really stable lor..at the same spd of 80km/h, it feel slow but when change to mine it feel fast at same spd.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vit4wd 1st Gear June 8, 2006 Share June 8, 2006 At highway speed it is very stable with continental feel, but engine was noisy though. I drove from Paya Lebar to Eunos stretch of PIE. But the auto tranny was unwilling and slow in downshifting when I floored the pedal. I did an E brake on a deserted rd (asked to do so by SE). Very efficient brakes Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Law_ong Neutral Newbie June 8, 2006 Share June 8, 2006 oh..my bro's is a manual..i dun find it noisy leh..maybe still running in period.. but for sure the car keep going at highway spd, think it got high gear ratio... do u feel the chassis tend to surge forward after u brake hard and stop....damn heavy body.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...