Ixat 1st Gear June 2, 2006 Share June 2, 2006 hullo all, I'm driving a Getz 1.6M. I'm getting a very high pitch screeching sound coming from the engine block. Can be heard very clearly with windows wound down and when passing another vehicle or a wall, the sound just rebounce back to the cabin. When accelerating or or engine braking, the sound will come on. Just now went to open the bonnet and push the throttle cable...can hear the screeching sound very clearly. When on a standstill at idle is fine, free gear rolling with brakes on also no sound - cannot be brake pads worn right? only 10k on the odo. Any idea what cud this be due to? Did servicing with new ngk copper plugs, Schaeffer 5W30 at 9800km now 10300km... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trex101 3rd Gear June 2, 2006 Share June 2, 2006 Could it be the belt? use belt dressing till your next servicing ask your mech to adjust the tension of the belt. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ixat 1st Gear June 2, 2006 Author Share June 2, 2006 Belt dressing = oil? Think i will send in the car to KMC for service. They should be able to take care of it right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trex101 3rd Gear June 3, 2006 Share June 3, 2006 (edited) Example of belt dressing. http://www.lpslabs.com/Products/Lubricants/Belt_Dressing.asp Edited June 3, 2006 by Trex101 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Edrollbrick Neutral Newbie June 3, 2006 Share June 3, 2006 likely to be the belts worn. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lester Neutral Newbie June 3, 2006 Share June 3, 2006 Check the tension of your belts, ac belt, alternator and power steering belts to see if they seem excessively less tensioned than the others. Is the sound you have been hearing metallic or such fibre rubbing metal kind of sound? If it's metal then maybe there's debris between your disc and pads. KMC will be able to sort this out for you. But do you want to waste half a day or one full day without your car? Check it out with a local garage, they should be able to do a quicker diagnosis. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lovehl99 Neutral Newbie June 3, 2006 Share June 3, 2006 how come i never let go my hand brake,but i still can drive the car? last night drive about 5~10 km than found my handbrake never release.... jia lat liao!!!the car just drive few day only...... will that cause any problem? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Edrollbrick Neutral Newbie June 3, 2006 Share June 3, 2006 It happens lah . Parking brakes only help to hold the car, normaly most of us do not pull it until very "tight", if you drive off with heavy foot, still can move. Only that the parking brakes will wear off fast and overheat if you still do not release. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear June 3, 2006 Share June 3, 2006 common for hyundie u can pull hand brake all the way to the top and drive without feelin a thing dun need worry spoil, probably dont even grip at all ...lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear June 3, 2006 Share June 3, 2006 Confirm its the belt. Hyundai engineering is based on Mitsubishi. Ask any Mitsubishi car owner about belts and they tell you the same thing. They screech pretty early in their life. Ditto with Proton. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hondacivices1 Neutral Newbie June 5, 2006 Share June 5, 2006 bring to dealer to check la Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ixat 1st Gear September 6, 2006 Author Share September 6, 2006 Sorry to bring up an old thread but hope this answer would be useful to others who face similar problem. Screeching came from clutch! Apply clutch the screech goes away, release clutch the screech comes back. The tech applied some grease and tightened the clutch (which part i dunno) and no more sound ever since... CHeers ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...