Creative_tec 2nd Gear May 31, 2006 Share May 31, 2006 I just went JB on Sunday night with 3 girls in my car. What i encounter is a totally different incident that you guys encounter. One of my girl-friends, who is sitting behind me (i driving a MPV) wants to pass the passports to the officer. So when she pass it to the guy, the guy smile at her, took the passports gently from her and smile at her again.. and mind you all okie, the smile is really those world class customer service smile. I was really puzzled coz this is the first time that i saw a malaysia officer soooooooooo friendly!!!! moreover when the guy was stamping the passport, he keep looking at my friend, smiling at her and stamping the passports in a very professional manner. After he finish stamping the passports, he pass the passports back to my friend, smiling... and when my friend say "thank you" to him, he smile back to all of us.. If only all the malaysia immigration officers are sooooo friendly... but then again, i think its because of my girl-friend... haha.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fire76 Neutral Newbie May 31, 2006 Share May 31, 2006 Real or not...like also can... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weihui Clutched May 31, 2006 Share May 31, 2006 I obviously cannot understand this "story" and the believer of this story... Anyone with simple travel knowledge will know it is NOT safe to exchange your currency else where other than bank and authorised currency converter. And the funniest thing of the story, when the officer asked you whether you wanna change, and you just change. CAN'T you say NO for Christ's sake? Another endless URBAN myth circulating in forum and email (which means another chain-kind of story) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neoscan Clutched May 31, 2006 Share May 31, 2006 Quote recently, any1 encounter that M custom officers asking whether u need to change their currency? After giving the S$, there isnt any currency in return. if u keep waiting, officer will give u a stack of white card. if u persist waiting, a bigger stack of white card will be given. till the car behind u ...horning n u hv no choice but proceed w/o getting your wanted currency. arghhh....stupid move. why depart with your hard-earn money so easily? Why are you so easily intimated???? 1. Stop your car and on the harzrd light. 2. Direct those cars behind you to other lane, open your car bonnet ( looks angry and agitated.) 3. Tell the custom office to give you RM$ as agreeded ( S1=RM2.xxx) or return you your money. 4. Other custom officers will come and explain to them NICELY that you was promised RM in exchange to S$. ( As long as you talk nicely to them, give them respect, everyone will understand that it's a cheating case) 5. Be prepared to get less than amt you give in S$ ( eg. you give him S$100, get back S$70) , treat it as a lesson learnt + kopi money. Let's face it, all MY police cars likes to milk money from Singapore Cars. Just be polite and respectful when you face them. It'l helps alot. I've often seen singaporeans in JB shopping mall and they behave very arrogant and snoobish. They look at everyone with disguisted look and has that " I've got lots of big S$ in my wallet, so bow down to me". With such stuck-up attitude, it's no wonder that singaporeans often gets attention for robbery especially so in JB crime infested area. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iforu Neutral Newbie May 31, 2006 Share May 31, 2006 those fu(k up jb custom officer. tat time i go in, dun have enough for toll fee. rm2.6 i only got rm1.6 so i give her rm1.6 + sing $1 knn she earn liao right!? she tell me cant, must give Sing $2.6!! ccb!!! so angry! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moonstar Neutral Newbie May 31, 2006 Share May 31, 2006 My friend just kena fine for red-light offense. There was these TP waiting at the traffic light before City Square. My friend's car zhun zhun touch the line when lights turn amble.....and for that, kena fine RM300. Apparently the TP instis it was RED. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weihui Clutched May 31, 2006 Share May 31, 2006 The RM2.60 collector is NOT a government officer.. He/she is just PLUS employee, privatised company. It's not her fault that you didn't prepare enough ringgit so don't blame him/her. Try that in SG when you exit custom without enough balance in your cash card. I have heard enough story car owner being fined though the driver requested to borrow cash card from other driver. And the fine will not be SGD 3. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fire76 Neutral Newbie May 31, 2006 Share May 31, 2006 Now the next Question.. ..1 guy and 3 chio bu... intro leh... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear May 31, 2006 Share May 31, 2006 Apparently, it is not an urban myth as you would like to think. The way that they ask is vague and could purposedly be done in poor english. Also, it is put across as " you change money" and not asked whether one would like to change money. Unless one is not intimidated..... the blur fella would just take out some Sing currency (usually they would also ask for the amount to be changed like $20 or $50) not knowing its a form of bribe they are asking for.... but not outrightly doing so. It'll only work on those that do not drive in frequently.... most likely those who go into Malaysia only a couple of times a year during the school hols or something. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Anokewee Neutral Newbie May 31, 2006 Share May 31, 2006 Please lar... all the 'victim' has to do is say NO. That difficult to do meh? Looks like another hoax to me... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weihui Clutched May 31, 2006 Share May 31, 2006 (edited) Oh please.... If this happen on "other" nationality I would probably believe... To think of Singaporean can't be criticized as "stupid" by some attention-seeking writer from Taiwan, I would rather not believe it. Tell me I am wrong Edited May 31, 2006 by Weihui Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iforu Neutral Newbie May 31, 2006 Share May 31, 2006 waa... dun blame her? than my fault ar? i already wan to give her more liao, she wan even more, greedy idiot! sg custom, if cashcard no $, u just use ur nets card go office pay can liao, still same $1.2 i try many times liao. unless u drive off than they send u a letter, a total fine of $10+ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weihui Clutched May 31, 2006 Share May 31, 2006 (edited) Please take note that SINGAPORE dollars is not accepted as trading currency by LAW in Malaysia. Once again, it's NOT her fault that you didn't prepare enough ringgit. Edited May 31, 2006 by Weihui Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Augleo Neutral Newbie May 31, 2006 Author Share May 31, 2006 2nd link. it was on 13th May. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Augleo Neutral Newbie May 31, 2006 Author Share May 31, 2006 pai say! is the officer who does the stamping on our passports. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Augleo Neutral Newbie May 31, 2006 Author Share May 31, 2006 we horn the car infront of us which had stalling there awhile. then we found out they oso ganna from the "monies xchanger". coz our car oso horn by the car behind...after receiving the 2nd stack of white card...no choice but to move on loh. believe that car infront us suffer more lost than us. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Augleo Neutral Newbie May 31, 2006 Author Share May 31, 2006 this is NOT a story. the purpose of posting our encounter here is to bring to folk's attentions. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Casey Neutral Newbie May 31, 2006 Share May 31, 2006 thanks =) will keep at the back of our minds, "nvr encounter doesnt mean doesnt happen" ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...