Unfair Rating ? Optra

Cbx750p

Sorry, i do not mean to be mean...

I just feel that people who buys cars like chev or hyundai or those unfamiliar makes.

I feel that they do not know much about cars or either that, is cheap to run.

But then... The only asian make car other than japanese, i would go for proton. Is race proven.

To me, a good car is based on a race model or reliablity.

Take toyota for example, their engines for normal cars are based on the 4a-ge race proven engine for 1.6L, 3s-ge for the 2L class. The new ZZ 1.8L models... are updated engines based on the race proven 4a-ge.

Race proven... means good reliablity.. it has to withstand massive punishment on the track... it will be a walk in the park for those engines on normal usage.

Some of u will say cars like that r expensive, compared to chev or hyundai...

How much is a suzuki swift 1.5?

That engine is based on the old suzuki swift GTI. Swift is a cheap and good car. Worth every cent.

Sigh.... i want a swift [smallcry] after i sell the chev.

You don't know these kuku brands is because you don't even know cars, ignoramus.

GM is dying because of these kuku brands. The only bright sparks they have is GMDAT and GME. GMDAT is the company that gives you the new Chevies. GME is the one that gives you Opel. These if given more money for more projects will succeed compared to the Oldsmobile and whatever you have in the US.

This is due to the political structure they have the Union of Automotive Employees, which for your information is not like NTUC. They demand not just pay but welfare and medical from GM for their workers that are under Union.

What the UAE is doing to the US auto industry is debated hotly even among US autmotive forums with both camps equally divided. Just like the Malaysians whacking up Proton in Malaysia though the situation is similar (prestige in a national car maker), the conditions of their demise are completely different.

So before you go mouthing off silly bits of information laughing like the ignoramus you are, you better read more papers and I don't mean the Sheety Times.

Well, it was making headway then. The engines everyone knows are Opels. Even the Racer was an Astra with a different body shell. The cars are reliable though boring. It had great promise until that exec ran away with the money and left the company in tatters. Confidence of course dropped. Bad luck.

What a load of crock! Race proven means street proven? laugh.gif

You conjure images of a person that buys Mobil 1 and whatever with "race" on it! Mind you the 4A-FE is nowhere near the 4A-GE.

An engine block has no relation to how well it will perform. It is just a block. What makes the thing work is the intake, exhaust and management together.

Guess you are one of those that buys cars w/o much research and paper work. Well, your undoing. Burn in your financial despair thanks to your vanity!

Its not that unfair. For all I know, the car doesn't just leak and burn oil just like that. The AD should replace his engine. He followed the rules and this happened. He should be protected.

ehh.. if your car's engine block emmited smoke within a few days you won't give a bad review????

like said he got a lemon. the problem is the lack of proper follow up. of course there are good chevies around, but he is the one with the lemon! not you.

Read the posting about the smoking Optra and wonder if it is all true. The owner seems rather high handed to give the car poor rating because of one lemon incident. Even the dealer was not spared...they did their job to fix the car but got a 1 rating. Guess he wants a new vehicle altogether and because he did not get it....gave the poor rating.

Just his luck to get a lemon like that ! I have driven my Optra for more than 2 years but so far no major incidents that would justify a major complaint to the dealer. All the minor issues were taken care of without any questions asked. Cannot say that Stars gets a 10 rating but I would give them a 8 !

http://www.mycarforum.com/reviews/reviews.pl?id=956

CBX

I guess like some say, when you pay peanuts, you get monkeys. I have actually test driven a few vehicles recently. The first few were Korean makes. I test drove the Chevy Optra and Aveo. I will not proclaim to be a car expert (like some on this forum altho I question their qualification to do so) and will state as a layman that I did not like what I saw at SA. Firstly, I did not like the fact that the SE wanted to insult my intelligence when I pointed out certain flaws by telling me at least 3 times that 'CONTI CARS ARE LIKE THAT'. Let's just be honest and not call the Chevy a conti car. If that were the case, there are lots of asian cars on the street with conti looks, design and engineering. Are we calling them conti cars as well? And let's remember that his reason was just stupid. A flaw is a flaw.

Secondly, the engine was not as responsive as other makes. Both cars seemed sluggish and not well put together. However it was better than the Rio. I must apologise to the SE at C&C. (he was extremely friendly) While I was fiddling with the boot, a part of it came off. I tried to fix it back but the panel was so weak that it broke and my finger began to bleed!

I see lots of ppl arguing that certain makes are good. I beg to differ. And this is not MY opinion but basic economics. If it were that good, why are they that cheap? If they were that cheap and good, why arent other more expensive makes knocked out of the market. To argue so just shows the lack of basic knowledge on the free market economy.

People should just get realistic. When they pay that kinda money, dont expect that much. Of course I'm not saying that just cos a car is expensive, it's good.

Well, to end my story, I went over to VW and test drove the Polo. There was an immediate difference I could notice when I drove the Polo, comparing it with the Aveo. Duh! The ride was smoother. The sound protection was better. The engine was more responsive. The interior didnt look as cheap. I guess the qn everyone has to ask would be if the price difference was worth it.. But just goes to show, you pay more for a reason (most of the time)

automobile companies tend to have their vehicles 'proven' in races because doing so increases customer confidence in their stock product. It conjours the image that the technology that went into the winning product might have gone into the stock product as well.

Although merely being proven in races is not testiment to how well the stock vehicle will perform, half the time, consumers buy vehicles based on impression.

Then again, how many of us here would like to boldly state that we truly know the vehicle. Most of our knowledge is also based on opinion.

The owner challenging you le... he has the car ready for your take over... dare to take up or not [thumbsdown] Seriously, i still prefer going for reputed brands.. my previous ride was nissan, now is another japanese make... good [thumbsup] It's good that car owners post reviewfuls to help unsuspecting buyers in check.. else will be [sweatdrop] Seriously, i never really heard of chervolet until recently in singapore.. maybe i mountain tortise... [sly]

I will take the car if he is willing to sell it at paper value ! That is the price of cars when you want to sell ! ....... and you are also right ! You are a mountain tortise. I will bet that you have never travel out of Singapore before ? Chevrolet have been sold in the region ( Phillippines, Indonesia, Thailand, Japan, Taiwan, etc ) and have been around in the USA, Europe, S.America...etc for a long long time.

CBX

I agree with your point getting monkeys when you pay peanuts. Monkeys also come in different form....from a Gibbon to Gorilla !

When comparing cars...there are lots of factors to compare. Responsiveness equals to gearing, fuel consumption, weight of car, etc.

CBX

Its not that unfair. For all I know, the car doesn't just leak and burn oil just like that. The AD should replace his engine. He followed the rules and this happened. He should be protected.

Kai Wan Seow Ah ? If spark plug shorted, you change the engine ? If the AD changed the engine, they would have to pay for the engine themself unless they can justify the need for the replacement !

For now, the reason for the smoke is not known. May be a simple situation of a leaking seal dripping oil onto the exhaust manifold resulting in smoke or could be a more serious case of a leaking valve guide seal leading to oil being dumped into the combustion chamber. In both situation, replacing the engine would not be justified.

Let's face it, things like this happen ! Toyota don't break down meh ? So when break down, Toyota change new engine for customer ? Or worst still, demand for new car ? Tell me which company would do this and I will pawn my family just to buy it !

I think we have to be reasonable in our demands. Pay peanuts to the monkey and still want the monkey to bent over backwards and smell his backside !

CBX

Edited by Cbx750p

ehh.. if your car's engine block emmited smoke within a few days you won't give a bad review????

like said he got a lemon. the problem is the lack of proper follow up. of course there are good chevies around, but he is the one with the lemon! not you.

Problem is, we only hear one side of the story ! How the smoke was emitted is in question. Ehh...lot of punky owner nowadays like to put funny thing into their car hor ! Like changing into funny plugs, funny oil, funny ATF, funny air filter w/o any filtration element , etc. Then when something happen, f*ck the AD or brand for supply a lousy car.

Maybe, the guy should give more detail how this smoke problem came about !

CBX

Why dun you BUY the car and find out for yourself? Or would u like to buy from me? Willing to sell, bought only in Jan 06!

On ! On ! I am toying with the idea of upgrading to an automatic anyway ! I am driving the Manual Optra for more than 2 years now ! No major complaint except Aircon cool down too slowly when hot day !

I will pay you paper value for your car ! Drop me a PM to discuss the details !

CBX