How do car manufacturers declare the 0-100km/h timings ?

ok bros.

so net of it, while the numbers by themselves may not mean much in real life, in relative terms ie. comparing with other cars it may serve some purposes for normal folks on the street...

Like some bros said, if you really try timing yourself,the numbers are anything but what manufacturers claim. In a way, can be misleading i guess.

And also lead to lots of heated "debate" [laugh]

ok bros.

so net of it, while the numbers by themselves may not mean much in real life, in relative terms ie. comparing with other cars it may serve some purposes for normal folks on the street...

Like some bros said, if you really try timing yourself,the numbers are anything but what manufacturers claim. In a way, can be misleading i guess.

And also lead to lots of heated "debate"

Sometime is ego, sometime is peer pressure and also something to do with our Kiasu culture. Hence, I never claimed that my car is fast but reasonably enough to make me feel good..hahaha.

Regards,

My advice is, don't bother about 0-100kph timings.

You can use them as reference but that does not mean you can rely solely on them.

1 of the biggest misconception people has is that while Car A may obtain quicker 0-100 timings than Car B, that doesn't mean Car B will be slower than Car A from 100 above.

It all depends on the situations. The above factors you mention will always be inconsistent due to mother nature. There is no possible way world manufacturers can achieve a standardised controlled environment just so they can do 0-100 timings.

Even in dyno, figures can be played around. Eg. While a dyno shows 200hp atw stock and after tuning shows 220hp atw. You car can be slower than before because of the figures being played around. The only way to test or prove any gains is to do quartermile and see if your timing improves.

My sentiments exactly...Quatermile neber lies!

Dyno claim 600hp but timing from 0-400m will tell you whether your car is really powerful!

Sub-10sec car is the ultimate target! So far I have not been able to clock tat! Best so far is 12+

EA

High Mid or Low 12s ?

Depending on which car your driving I think my rex with all the mods listed could only reach high 12s. Which is pathetic ... [laugh]

Also note the 1/4 mile timings obtained in Singapore is in hot weather condition. Where colder climate permits, timings might improve marginally.

Edited by BMW320i

My advice is, don't bother about 0-100kph timings.

You can use them as reference but that does not mean you can rely solely on them.

1 of the biggest misconception people has is that while Car A may obtain quicker 0-100 timings than Car B, that doesn't mean Car B will be slower than Car A from 100 above.

It all depends on the situations. The above factors you mention will always be inconsistent due to mother nature. There is no possible way world manufacturers can achieve a standardised controlled environment just so they can do 0-100 timings.

Even in dyno, figures can be played around. Eg. While a dyno shows 200hp atw stock and after tuning shows 220hp atw. You car can be slower than before because of the figures being played around. The only way to test or prove any gains is to do quartermile and see if your timing improves.

My sentiments exactly...Quatermile neber lies!

Dyno claim 600hp but timing from 0-400m will tell you whether your car is really powerful!

Sub-10sec car is the ultimate target! So far I have not been able to clock tat! Best so far is 12+

EA

wah...12 plus is damn fast man...

what car u drive???

actually dyno is to see how powerful ur car is...

and quarter mile is to see how fast ur car is...

does not mean higher power means faster timing also...

IMO... they do not follow the same test procedures. So read the timings with a pinch of salt.

Anyway... is it really that important in Singapore?

Important??? Of course it is important...

Apart from smoking the cars at the traffic lights, there is also boasting rights...sometimes all the way into MCF...

Maybe someone would start a thread to highlight the fastest 1 litre NEW car under $39k... Confirm that dude will 'win'... [:p]

true also.

but once we talk about quarter mile timings, technique now plays a part, so some objectivity lost already.

Unless do the 400m sprint on the dyno ....

Or now manufacturers start putting qtr mile times on your family saloon.

Maybe lucky can hit 20 seconds on 1.6 l saloons.

High 12 lah..

12.76 to be exact.

It was a VR4.

Ur can has BIG turbo and Injectors.....massive load of power but sometimes power is not enuff...you need to strike balance between power and control = USEABLE POWER.

Dead power is for DRAG onli. Shift timing...range makes alot of difference.

Wif you Bigger turbo oso means MORE LAG! Remember you onli got 400meters of road.

Before your car runs full boost you are actually worst off if most of the time useable power is not available!

EA

Helo...

Neber trust the dyno....esp. TC car....its not really accurate due to several factors

1) TC car performs better under load condition => better boost

2) Inadequate cooling (Dyno-run rely on cooling fan)

Others facters included.

EA

well then all the more reasons to trust the dyno as road conditions generate more load and have better cooling.

I would rather have a car that seemed low on power on the dyno but quick rather than the opposite.

Erhhh actually the ideal tuning is to use Dyno to set baseline (you;ll get very linear results...then finish off wif butt tuning...

EA

Nope.....demod and shipped off to Indonesia 2 yrs ago....likely tearing streets of batam now....

EA

not butt tuning lah. they need at least to put sensors on the car and do road tuning to ensure that there are no flatspots for street driving. our butts arent accurate enuff [laugh]

i tot average for 1.6 is ard 16-18???

Sigh,

you never tried my car yet [smallcry], i'll be so happy with 18 seconds [laugh]

Anyway what I do is measure 400m on a straight flat road and get passenger with a stopwatch to help...Not accurate I guess.

How do you guys do it ? With RSM meters etc ?

1 lamp post part (1 tiang) is 100m

40 tiang = quartermile

there is only a few place in singapore with more then 40 tiang

Note : if you do it in singapore, be careful as there might be someone else also timing your quartermile as well whip.gif