Will_I_Am 2nd Gear March 5, 2003 Share March 5, 2003 I was quoted $150 to do grounding for the car. But I would like to know what are the advantage of grounding? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jagash Neutral Newbie March 5, 2003 Share March 5, 2003 There's an old thread on this topic. You can search under topic "grounding" and will get a detailed understanding of grounding. Cheers! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear March 20, 2003 Share March 20, 2003 Mazda, Hopes I'm not too late in replying to your post. By grounding your car, it gives your car a better response. Carben, RB6, and a couple of us had our car gorounded and we feel the improvement in the performance. As for $150, it is way too expensive liao.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cool Neutral Newbie March 20, 2003 Share March 20, 2003 His car is already grounded.. old topic lar. YOu nothing to do is it.. want to obtain Niverna??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear March 20, 2003 Share March 20, 2003 Ssshhhh... Dun tell people hor.. So fast grounded liao... Wonder if it is from Cooltronics. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cool Neutral Newbie March 20, 2003 Share March 20, 2003 When you want me to mod the Open POD FAN for you ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear March 20, 2003 Share March 20, 2003 maybe sunday.. but not confirm yet.. the Paper tube which you gave me can't hold the filter. Thus have to put back the original one first. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raycsk Neutral Newbie March 20, 2003 Share March 20, 2003 Quote I was quoted $150 to do grounding for the car. But I would like to know what are the advantage of grounding? Just a quick explanation. Car electics are powered by a 12volt DC battery (much like a giant AA battery 10 time more powerful). A number of components like engine sensors, lights etc.. get power from your battery (positive). The negative is what we term as the earth. The engine acts as a giant conductor which is grounded to the car's bodywork which in turn is connected to the negative terminal of the battery. Grounding essentially takes neagtive terminals for key points at or near some major components like your alternator, fuel injector; back to the negative battery terminal. What you get is better electrica; efficiency from a number of components such as your sensors, injectors, lights radio, etc... So better sensor operation mead better engine response... smoother engine and gear changes for auto cars. Anything abouve S$100 is too expensive. Heck I DIY and it cost me less than S$30. I recently went to ProRV and bought a complete set at S$26 only for my father-in-law's corolla. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cool Neutral Newbie March 20, 2003 Share March 20, 2003 What is the size.. I buy the tube for you on Sat. BTW.. did you get the screw for the Strut Bar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear March 20, 2003 Share March 20, 2003 Errr.. how to measure... Yup, got the screw for the strut, forgot to tell you.. Paiseh paiseh.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ralliboy Neutral Newbie March 25, 2003 Share March 25, 2003 Hi Raycsk, how many cable do you need for a Mit Cedia? can i have the address for ProRV? Thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear March 26, 2003 Share March 26, 2003 Ralli, Contact Cool, get him to do it for you.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ralliboy Neutral Newbie March 26, 2003 Share March 26, 2003 hi Cool... i would wan to ground my car. can you DIY for me? how much will it cost (grounding wire)? am i rite to say that if we buy a low end (cheap) ground wire it will not improve after installation rite? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Luke721 Neutral Newbie March 26, 2003 Share March 26, 2003 (edited) Maybe you can pm Cool instead, just in case he does not come cross this thread IMHO, it's not really the quality of the wire, but the quality of the grounding that counts Edited March 26, 2003 by Luke721 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raycsk Neutral Newbie March 26, 2003 Share March 26, 2003 ProRV is at Serangoon Shopping Centre (nex to the hotel). As with Gadgeteer says. Its where the ground points not the wire. I cannot tell you how long the wires you need. I DIY cause I know my car pretty well and its not a Lancer. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alant 1st Gear March 26, 2003 Share March 26, 2003 Hi Cool, I read from Singapore Honda Club that the civic EG model does not seems to benefit from grounding because the car itself is already well grounded. Any comments ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cool Neutral Newbie March 27, 2003 Share March 27, 2003 I don't know about the statement.. .. Grounding is an art it depends how the person is doing it. I guess my bias unanswer cannot justify this. Probably you need to find out the EGs in MCF that are done. cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear March 27, 2003 Share March 27, 2003 My advice is... If you don't really know how to DIY, best not to do it yourself.. You might short circuit your car.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...