Vtim 3rd Gear May 19, 2006 Share May 19, 2006 here's how the stock snokel located, inside the left wheel arch (inside the left bumper area) with the snokel facing the wheel ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear May 19, 2006 Author Share May 19, 2006 (edited) this is how it looks like from with the left wheel arch cover slightly removed Edited May 19, 2006 by Vtim Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear May 19, 2006 Author Share May 19, 2006 remove the "U" flexi tube connection to the stock snokel, the other end is going up to the stock airbox inside the engine bay Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear May 19, 2006 Share May 19, 2006 Bro, more & more mods liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear May 19, 2006 Author Share May 19, 2006 cut the length slightly so that it can fit to the "pre-cut" square opening which I've done much earlier Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear May 19, 2006 Author Share May 19, 2006 fit the opening of the flexi tube to the precut square opening so to draw cold air, I used cable tie to keep it in place but haven't take any pics, will do later Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear May 19, 2006 Author Share May 19, 2006 CAI is a must lah, I've done it on all the previous 5 cars and 2 bikes that I've owned (actually, on my 1st bike in 86', Kawasaki AR125, I ride it without the air filter ) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear May 19, 2006 Share May 19, 2006 Wow bro, you still got time to DIY... I am amazed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear May 19, 2006 Share May 19, 2006 (actually, on my 1st bike in 86', Kawasaki AR125, I ride it without the air filter ) Si bey hiong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Multi 3rd Gear May 19, 2006 Share May 19, 2006 You are amazing... I did that once before but now is back to stock setup cos alot of leaves and small pebbles also end up in the filter box. Worst is water after a heavy downpour...my advice is to check or change the filter(OEM)often. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GoopPwr Clutched May 19, 2006 Share May 19, 2006 Hi Vtim, can you tell us the after effects ? What & did you achieve your objectives? Seemed like a simple mod, maybe I'll operate on my Stream Any down side ? Thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear May 19, 2006 Author Share May 19, 2006 weekend early in the morning lah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear May 19, 2006 Author Share May 19, 2006 that time green horn so "kah kah lai mah' Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear May 19, 2006 Share May 19, 2006 very neat job done... how is the performance??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear May 19, 2006 Author Share May 19, 2006 yes I know, leaves do get in, I'll be DIY a small wire mesh to cover the square opening, as for heavy downpour, it wasn't problem cause already gone thru' one Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear May 19, 2006 Author Share May 19, 2006 you get more air (colder than stock setup) into the combustion chamber, colder air is much denser (more tightly pack air molecules) than hot air, so you have more air then more fuel so better power after the CAI, the REV goes up faster than when it is stock if yours is the 2.0 iVTEC, then you cannot, as the engine bay will be very tight for you to DIY a flexi tube to your throttle body if 1.7 SOHC VTEC, then there will more free space to route the flexi pipe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear May 19, 2006 Author Share May 19, 2006 it breath much better than stock, engine much more eager to rev up to 6200rpm than before wanna ride Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GoopPwr Clutched May 19, 2006 Share May 19, 2006 (edited) wah lau, good for you man can tell you quite happy with it, must be the one of the best, simple, DIY, value for the effort mod I've come across so far, with little or no down side. Mine's the 2 L iVtec, so ok lah, since can't do so save myself the itch to do this . Otherwise everyday will be asking myself to do or not. thanks for the detail explanation. Edited May 19, 2006 by GoopPwr ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...