Lmango Neutral Newbie May 16, 2006 Share May 16, 2006 after looking at a number of cars and considering my options. seems like leaning towards a chevy aveo5 or aveo sedan. have test drive the aveo5 liao feels ok for a budget car however I think need to change the rear mirror and gear knob. my headache is now to take the sedan or hb coz for 2k more I get bigger boot space and 1 air bag. of coz the interior is better but the car is 100kg more heavy........ I not light also so have to think abt fc lastly, I should get from SA or AM? AM is new dunno aftersales gd anot SA I read from MCF like damn bad would appreciate all chevy owners to give yr opinion thanx and regards ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DonDon 1st Gear May 16, 2006 Share May 16, 2006 While pending respond from the MCF Chevian, you might be able to interact with Chevian from TCS too. Pop into their meetup and speak to them personally. http://www.teamchevysg.com/forum/portal.php I am doing the Optra, but was drawn to the new Aveo sedan lately. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vass Neutral Newbie May 16, 2006 Share May 16, 2006 Hi L, I was also like you was leaned towards Av5 until I was told Av sedan on 2k more than started to get confuse.... Finally I still took Av5 b'cos it's smaller & easier for my wife to drive. I'm sacrificing on the bootspace (my current ride is a skoda octavia & the boot is HUGE, dun need to think much when going shopping, even managed to put in an assembled table from IKEA once !!). No choice i guess. It really depends on your usage....if u are a golfer or alway have plenty of thing in the boot , than AV5 is a no no. I booked mine with AM, haven't taken delivery, so can't comment on aftersales.... I did not go to SA due to many feedback on the forum (personal opinion only). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lmango Neutral Newbie May 16, 2006 Author Share May 16, 2006 care to share what was yr deal? I was offer solar film, half leather seats........ read from the chevy site some pple got those and still get 15" rims Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aphrael Neutral Newbie May 16, 2006 Share May 16, 2006 red aveo is nice Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vit4wd 1st Gear May 16, 2006 Share May 16, 2006 Great deal. Mine offered me solar film and reverse sensors only. Think you can fight for sports rims too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lmango Neutral Newbie May 18, 2006 Author Share May 18, 2006 yr deal was what SA offered me. then I drop by AM they offer me abit more. sry for asking but first time car buyer. solar film or sports rims more worth? should I expect to get 6 months road tax and should I expect the car to come with the ERP thingie installed already? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vass Neutral Newbie May 18, 2006 Share May 18, 2006 I believe that the 6mth rd tax & IU are included in the price as indicated onthe price list distributed by AM / SA. - shud be standard. May be your shud consider this way: If they give u solar film, will u still upgrade your rim on your own (which can cost you from $500 upwards) ? or If get s/rims, will u still install solar film (which can cost u fr $188 - $800++)? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lmango Neutral Newbie May 18, 2006 Author Share May 18, 2006 the solar film I got friend offer me gd lobang not sure price but should relatively cheaper then what market can offer. the rims I worry it will cost way ex mah. I not really sure how much rims will cost so so becoz the film offered by the SE is dunno what donkey brand I dunno which to get Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vass Neutral Newbie May 18, 2006 Share May 18, 2006 If can covert to cash or petrol voucher better, if not than take rims loh since u got lobang to do solar film outside. I have been checking & I think new 15" w/ tyre cost around $700-800, 2nd hand $400 onwards. If dun like the rims can still trade in sure get better price than stock rims right ? I looking at solar film too, your frend lobang can share ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lmango Neutral Newbie May 18, 2006 Author Share May 18, 2006 I check for you...... what brand you looking at ? http://www.globamatrix.com/our_brands/main_page_brands.html i have to give a call to my classmate to check see got anot Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pl_tan78 Neutral Newbie December 30, 2006 Share December 30, 2006 Hi I am an Aevo Sedan owner, Being Driving my Aveos for nearly 4 years... From my point of view, base on usage this car save me lots of money on petrol. I Stay in Eunos and work in Jurong Island (75KM). Monthly cost on petrol is lest than $250 (base on 95). Talking about peformance is way below average. Lack of power and slow pick up even I'm a driving a maual... SA after sales services are suck and expensive, especially after your warrently period. They treated you like money mine $$$... My advice to you is drop the idea of owning a chevy... Why don you choose sonething else like Nissan sunny. Price is about the same and there is a after sales car services packages which will help you saves at least $1,500 for 2years... Do Consider... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brock 1st Gear February 28, 2007 Share February 28, 2007 Agree with you, esp on para. 4 and 5...except that other Jippun cars also can. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phelan 1st Gear March 16, 2007 Share March 16, 2007 I've had my Aveo H/B auto for slightly more than 2 years. It has only failed on me only once on the road but was rectified by SA under warranty. You can check out my post below: http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/gforum.cgi...466338;#1466338 I'm currently averaging about 13km/l for about 60%highway 40% town. Quite decent mileage and my car is completely stock except for changing the engine oil to 0W30. Don't really agree with the comments about the slow acceleration as whenever i need to pick up speed i just need to make sure that the rpm is above 3000. Bring it above 4000rpm and you will really get going. Of course don't expect WRX kinda acceleration. I agree with the service level at SA initially but i heard that they have really improve recently. SA used to over fill my engine oil before causing the FC to drop. At the end of the day, Buy the Aveo if your car is just a means of transportation otherwise look else where. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged June 15, 2007 Share June 15, 2007 I am an Optra owner for over 2 years. I owned other Japanese and Korean cars prior to this and I believe I am able to share my experiences with you. Most times, it is $ against what you are looking for. You can't expect Cheery price for the Maybuck standard. So be realistic. But not all car are 'correctly priced' too. It may not be value for money in term of performance, confort and quality. You also got to consider branding and perception. A good example typically in Singapore is Japanese brand. They aren't that great after all. Don't just read their AAA rating, this is not international standard. Would any expert please correct me here. The Chevy got no power??? What are they referring to? If you look at this class car like the Nissan Sunny, then I can tell you it is nonsense. I own both and climbing up slope will tell the big difference. I hear higher consumption. Again, if you compare the two cars, I don't know where is the difference. You might get better result from Toyota or Honda but you pay more. My advice, try out all the cars you think you like. It is free after all. Know your priorities. Is it speed, safety, consumption or what. Remember, what are you willing to pay. Cherry comes from a country that have sent man to space, Japan and Germany have yet to do that hor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xinkehew Neutral Newbie June 25, 2007 Share June 25, 2007 (edited) I am also going to book an optra estate. But which dealer is better, SA or AM, they are offerring me the same price and accessories. My concern will be on the service side? Any idea from chery owners? Edited June 25, 2007 by Xinkehew Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Auron 2nd Gear July 1, 2007 Share July 1, 2007 how much is the optra estate? what are the financing terms and condition? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Julian Clutched July 1, 2007 Share July 1, 2007 after looking at a number of cars and considering my options. seems like leaning towards a chevy aveo5 or aveo sedan. have test drive the aveo5 liao feels ok for a budget car however I think need to change the rear mirror and gear knob. my headache is now to take the sedan or hb coz for 2k more I get bigger boot space and 1 air bag. of coz the interior is better but the car is 100kg more heavy........ I not light also so have to think abt fc lastly, I should get from SA or AM? AM is new dunno aftersales gd anot SA I read from MCF like damn bad would appreciate all chevy owners to give yr opinion thanx and regards Take the Aveo Sedan... it has better fit and finish quality. SA or AM i not sure, my dad booked an Optra in 2004 now still under 20K so long time never service.... but waiting time for servicing quite long. There is one time i wait from 10am to 4pm just for normal servicing. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...