Chickenbackside 1st Gear May 16, 2006 Share May 16, 2006 Oops sorry, didn't read properly. You asked about air scoops and I answered about the vents. Maybe a Rex owner can educate us on what is beyond the hole of the airscoop and how the design keeps water out of the engine... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jonbummer Neutral Newbie May 16, 2006 Share May 16, 2006 actually ... i was thinking of the vent!! dunno the terms.. pai seh the air scoop of WRX i 'studied' on my fren's before that one have the intercooler at the air scoop end. top mounted intercooler. cos i wld think the VENTs (heehee) might be designed in such a way that it's very min water can reach the engine bay but air can be still ventilated. hmmm interesting Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lanceteo Neutral Newbie May 16, 2006 Share May 16, 2006 nice cra u have tehre let alone the carbon fibre.. i wld leave it on if i were u... maybe becoz urs a conti car so u decided to spray it. anyway nice stuff! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenbackside 1st Gear May 16, 2006 Share May 16, 2006 I must say though, the vents are very effective in cooling down your engine. I notice that engine cools down much faster compared with before. Good for being stuck in traffic. When you put your hands over them, it feels like you can cook an egg with the heat rising up... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jonbummer Neutral Newbie May 16, 2006 Share May 16, 2006 i think so too since hot air raises, and to have thoes vents make a lot of sense. but the only not so good thing is that water will get in too lor and potential damages from water cld outweight the benefits?? hmmmmmmm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenbackside 1st Gear May 16, 2006 Share May 16, 2006 You're right. In my case, I identified that my xenon ballast will kena water when I wash the car, so I fabricated shields to block the water. For those who are interested, here's the process: I noticed that I could see the xenon ballasts from vents. That's probably means water will get to it So, off I went to my mechanic to ask him to make some kinda shielding to prevent that. "Oi sai!" he said... Measuring and designing the shields Cutting the aluminium sheet Test fitting Spraying the shields black to make it not so ugly Using double sided tape to stick the shields on for easy dismantling if needed Shields are on! Notice the 2 bottom corners Xenon ballasts should be water-safe now.... . . . . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeskon5 Neutral Newbie May 17, 2006 Share May 17, 2006 'Very cool I'll be ordering the Rex version shortly but without those side air vents, I prefer just the plain scoop, deciding if i want to add in the cooling plate below the scoop.' how much would tt cost? btw, where r u gg to do it? i might want to do it once i get my car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jonbummer Neutral Newbie May 17, 2006 Share May 17, 2006 u have the best manual for us to refer to SOLID!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Czchome Neutral Newbie May 17, 2006 Share May 17, 2006 wow ! that's a very nice colour ! didn't know we can spray paint onto carbon fibre bonnets, thought it will be slightly wavy and stuff .. very very nice ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesgetz 4th Gear May 17, 2006 Share May 17, 2006 so sayang, you went to spray paint the CF bonnet. if you have wanted a lighter bonnet, it will be much cheaper to get a fibre glass one... quite a waste not being to see the CF (though the 2 grille are still CF) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear May 17, 2006 Share May 17, 2006 the WRX one looks like Seibon design... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenbackside 1st Gear May 17, 2006 Share May 17, 2006 Thanks for the kind words Czchome. I think you can spary paint onto almost anything lah, haha. Yes, it's very very difficult to get CF to appear smooth after painting. Thge preperation work is extremely tedious and your painter best have lots of experience with painting CF. That's very seldom the case as CF usually is left unpainted. As experience as my painter is, he also said there is no way you can get CF to be as smooth as metal. He also said the quality of the CF bonnet is very important and that the cheaper bonnets simply cannot be made to look smooth when painted due to the rough finishing. For my bonnet, under certain light and certain angles, you can still see a bit of waviness. But compared with some painted bonnets I have seen, it's not too bad. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenbackside 1st Gear May 17, 2006 Share May 17, 2006 Actually, if it's just for looks, don't even need to do that. Just buy universal vents from Garage R or something and ask a workshop to cut the holes and install can already. Don't have fibreglass one for my car leh... Raw CF looks too fierce for my slow car lah... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Metalhead Neutral Newbie May 18, 2006 Share May 18, 2006 wah bro ur beemer solid!! respects Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Valor79 Neutral Newbie May 18, 2006 Author Share May 18, 2006 Yay got the Rex version today but without the 2 side air vents for my black ride looks good got nice 3D effect all over my bonnet now. 1 question tho if the UV layer of the CF bonnet gets scratched or something there's no way to restore it just paint right? We can't polish a CF bonnet? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenbackside 1st Gear May 18, 2006 Share May 18, 2006 CONGRATS BRO!! You must post picture lah! Faster faster faster! No way to repair. So better be careful. I ask my installer and he said "can repair, use sticker to cover then repair already lor..." Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lanceteo Neutral Newbie May 18, 2006 Share May 18, 2006 great news on getting the new carbon fibre bonnet.. show us some pictures! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Emuted Neutral Newbie May 19, 2006 Share May 19, 2006 how much did you get it for and where?? CF can be painted over, but i believe the process is much more tedious. coz they cant just paint it over just like that. the paint work will be wavvy because ofthe CF finish. anyway congrats on ur new hood!! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...