Does Grounding & Voltage Stablizer Make A Diff On Manual Transmission Car?

Geogeo

Yup, I'll do that.

Is there a difference between the 4 point and 6 point type?

Hmm.. What would you recommend I get ?

the no. of points...

tink depend on the model and wat stuff u have on the car...

mine simple setup car... noting fancy inside!!!

thus no need so much points ba... jus get a basic one and try out first ba...

coe car tink no need 6 or 8points rite...

can someone advise on tis??

Tried that before already. When it was changed, the old spark plugs were black. Meaning the fuel not completely burnt, thus waste petrol. I dunno, spark plugs provide the spark to burn the fuel right? Or is it when you first start the car, then this is the only time the spark plugs are needed?

Cos if the imcomplete combustion is caused by the spark plugs not having enough power to burn the fuel properly, i'd think the VS would help. I'm probably not gonna change the spark plugs again until I can figure out whats causing all these engine problems.

Or is it when you first start the car, then this is the only time the spark plugs are needed?

no, the spark plugs are always working as long as the engine is running (no only just the starting part) wink.gifwink.gifwink.gif

you can read more about combustion engine here :

http://auto.howstuffworks.com/engine.htm

Me change spark plugs. All of them... Hahaha... In the end, not much difference. Then that stupid workshop screw up my air con somemore. Now my air con, when i turn the knob to speed 1 (the lowest speed), the air con doesnt even turn on. Must turn to speed 2. Which makes the car freakin cold in the rain. And because of that, my whole car will fog up. Can't see anything. Quite scary esp. for new driver (6months) like me. Hahahaa... Can you imagine driving at 80km/h on expressway and suddenly yr whole windscreen, side mirrors all fog up? Jialat man....

Oh ok thanks VTIM! Was enlightening reading that website.

Which leads me to my conclusion that my car has irregular fluctuations in voltage supplied to the spark plugs which thus result in irregular fluctuations in power and acceleration when I turn the air con on. I understand that the aircon eats up power. The thing is when I switch on my air con, there are certain times when the power and acceleration is powerful and times when the power and acceleration is very weak. Since there's a possibility and potention that my car can accelerate rather powerfully with the air-con on, it can only mean irregular power supplied to the spark plugs!

This also explains why the old spark plugs I changed a few months ago were black cos of the imcomplete combustion due to insufficient power supplied to the spark plugs. Furthermore, the "old" spark plugs weren't really old. Maybe just a few months old only and they were black already.

I'm further convinced I should get a VS. Hahaha =)

shou stick to left lane... unless ur car got lots of power tat dae....

mi also got the fogging prob... jus off aircon and wind down lor...

cooler, more power, save petrol, [laugh][laugh][laugh]

i tink spark plug standard change all every 5000km(cheap type)

so u nv change the cable rite...

hmm... maybe can try change cable see how izit first let us knw oki [confused]

if your plugs foul with black carbon deposit, it's confirm that you are having electrical problem, the sparks are not 'sparkling' as it should nod.gifnod.gifnod.gif

Ooo... I see I see. Hopefully, our logical deductions are correct. Anyway, from what I've heard so far, I'm quite confident VS helps old cars alot. Cos the whole internal electrical system quite screwed up in old cars already.

Hmmm... I dunno abt the spark plug wires... But can't be all the spark plug wires cxxk up to cause the black deposits on all the spark plugs right? Doesn't sound as probable as electrical system cxxk up on my spark plug.

Will go scout around for a VS soon =)

Thanks for all the info guys! Really appreciate it!

As yours is a old car, electrical wires/sensor may be fray and not working in 100% efficiency, sometimes it's time to replace them so dont hunt for the VS first.

Here are a few items that you need to check for cracks/fray/worn out/loose parts etc..:

1. Check the electrical leads (12volt power supply) to the Ignition Coil

2. Check the Ignition Coil itself

3. Check the Ignition Module

4. Check the signal cable from the Ignition Module to the Ignition Signal Sensor on the Distributor Body and also the Ignition Signal Sensor itself

5. Check the Distributor Cam inside the Distributor Body

6. Check the High Voltage Coil Lead

7. Check the Distributor Cap and also the Rotor inside

8. and lastly, the Spark Plug Cables

Remember, if all the above items are in good working order, the sparks plugs will not be fouling but will be in perfect wokring order thumbsup.gifthumbsup.gifthumbsup.gif

See here for the igition system to identify the items I list above:

http://auto.howstuffworks.com/ignition-system.htm

it's good to check as the electrical stuff will be less efficient after 10yrs especially in our humid climate sweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gif

Wah cheem stuff... Hahah thanks for the help VTIM! Really love your detailed explanations. You can be a car whiz liao. Anything got prob with yr car, you can fix. =)