No blindspot if side mirrors adjusted properly, Agree?

Spherex

I think blind spot will have to depand on the size of the road, some road have bigger or wider lanes and some have narrow ones.......... rifle.gifangel.gif True?

Even with my wide angle mirror, at certain highway there is still blind spot if I dont re-adjust my side mirror.

I only found out when I was try to overtake a car in one of the highway near KJE.... bigcry.gif ..... gossip.gif

Edited by Mdvic

Great powerpoint presentation u have there [thumbsup]

Since I graduated frm driving sch, I already adjust my mirrors so tat I barely see my car body instead of the standard 1/4 of the car body in the side mirrors to cover greater areas & minimise blindspots [;)]

Just to share. Driving a small car like mine, the blind spot should have been smaller because of the shorter car lenght and I also used a longer rear mirror. But I have encounter 2L cars completely hidding in my blind spot, only notice them when they horn me. Lucky me I learn my lesson before any accident happen, my other friends isn't as lucky.

Just curious, when you look into your side mirror, how much of you car body can be seen?

U will not eliminate blind spots completely but U sure can reduce the amount of blind spots.

Take a look at the attached powerpoint presentataion. I'm practising it and it's good for me.

Bascially, U'll need to purchase a longer rear view mirror and turn Ur side mirror.

This way, as a vehicle leaves Ur veiw thru the rear view mirror, it'll shows up in Ur side mirror.

hmm....interesting theory - will try out readjusting the side mirrors today and see the effect.

Ok.. I have adjusted the mirrors as suggested and driven about for past 2 days - great improvement, sia!!

Much less blind spot to worry about, and a quick flick of the eyes to the sides covers the rest - not need to look over shoulder liao - the mirrors cover the rear blind spots.

Only problem is during parking - since the side mirrors not covering the car body, harder to estimate the parking (not impossible, but harder) - so need to be extra careful - or adjust the mirrors back during parking (though this is quite troublesome - so I prefer to retrain the parking with the mirrors like that).

Yes, same here :) find that it helps if u lean your body a bit to the side during parking.

I haven't tried the mirror adjustment methond yet. Maybe will try when free. Presently what I can say is a bit.

Actually since I started driving, I cannot see the car body at all on my side mirrors cos dat's how my dad adjust fer his car. There will be a small blind spot..can't see the other car if it's halfway along side u so a slight turn will cover for that.

U will not eliminate blind spots completely but U sure can reduce the amount of blind spots.

Take a look at the attached powerpoint presentataion. I'm practising it and it's good for me.

Bascially, U'll need to purchase a longer rear view mirror and turn Ur side mirror.

This way, as a vehicle leaves Ur veiw thru the rear view mirror, it'll shows up in Ur side mirror.

can't seem to download the power point. anyone have a copy of it?

In fact, "blind spots" are a thing of the past! On any car or mini-van built in the last ten or twenty years (assuming it has a right side mirror, which everyone should have), the mirrors can be adjusted so there are no blind spots. How?

The first step is to adjust the rear-view mirror to do exactly that - give you a view directly to the rear. Position it so that it best covers your view straight out the rear window. Don't bother tilting it to one side or the other to assist with your view of traffic to either side of your car. That's what the side mirrors are for.

Next, lean your head until it almost touches the driver's side window. Then, adjust your left side mirrors so that you can just barely see the side of your car, and no more than that.

Lean your head to the right towards the middle of the car and adjust the right side mirror so that you can just barely see the right side of your car. You should NOT be able to see the side of your car when your head is perfectly upright. After all, why would you want to? When was the last time your own car ran into itself?

Check for blind spots by doing the following: While driving along a four-lane road in the right lane, note a vehicle in the left lane coming up to pass you from behind. Without moving your head, glance in the rear-view mirror and follow it as it approaches your car in the left lane. Just before it disappears from your view in the rear-view mirror, glance to the left side mirror. There it is. Now follow that vehicle in the side mirror as it begins to pass you. Then, just before it disappears from the side mirror, you should see it with your peripheral vision. Notice that without even turning your head, you never had a blind-spot. Then try it with the right side mirror. Watch as you pass a vehicle travelling in the right lane go from your peripheral vision, to your right side mirror, to your rear-view mirror. Again, no blind-spot. If there is a blind spot for even a fraction of a second, your side mirror adjustment needs some fine-tuning.

http://www.cs.wisc.edu/~gdguo/driving/BlindSpot.htm

So far, has anyone been using the above mentioned method? I also saw a similar mentioned on SGCarmart pages:

http://www.sgcarmart.com/news/writeup.php?AID=53

So was wondering has anyone so far use the method successfully in eliminating blind spots while still able to do parking with ease.

Though I would still turn my head for a quick check.

it works for me. i first read this suggestion abt 12 yrs ago in a newspaper article when i was on holiday in the usa. if my memory serves me correctly, the reasoning given to adjust the side mirrors in such a manner was so that the driver only need to glance at side mirrors to check blindspot, thereby still maintaining his eyes on the front of the road, instead of turning his head to check blindspot, which will momentarily take his eyes off the front.

i tried using this after i came back to spore and have been using thsi set up for the last 12 yrs without any incidents. of course, i still do turn my head to check when i am in tight situations.

i also remembered a local race car driver also wrote a similar article on this a number of years back.

the coincidence is the 1st article i read back then was also written by a race car driver.

So far, has anyone been using the above mentioned method? I also saw a similar mentioned on SGCarmart pages:

So was wondering has anyone so far use the method successfully in eliminating blind spots while still able to do parking with ease.

If you can't see your car body, you are going to scratch your car body against the ramp curb in MSCP.

When do reverse parking, how to judge the gap between our car and the other car?

The ang mo only do head in and their car park is much wider than in Singapore.

i've been using this method of adjusting mirrors to minimize blind spots since living overseas years ago. BUT IT IS NOT FOOLPROOF. Must still do a quick flick of the head to double check.

If you can't see your car body, you are going to scratch your car body against the ramp curb in MSCP.

When do reverse parking, how to judge the gap between our car and the other car?

with my side mirrors adjusted to the max. outwards to minimize blind spot, when i reverse park, i'll lean forward/backward a bit n turn my head to check the side mirrors.

Maybe a little troublesome but during parking u r not under high stress, unlike on the expressway, so it's ok for me to take a little more time n park this way.

I used to also adjust my mirrors in the above way too. HOWEVER I found there is one big problem in Singapore / other Asian countries: motorbikes.

You will not miss a car coming up behind you, but if a motorbike is trying to overtake you in between lanes, you may NOT be able to see it. Nearly bumped into a motorbike that way once. So now I adjust the mirrors so I can just barely see the side of my car even when not cranning my neck.

In most angmoh countries motorbikes are not allowed to go in between lanes i.e. they have to ride in the centre of a lane, just like a car. Hence they don't have this problem.

I'm using this method for the past 6 yrs. To sovle the parking alignment issue i have small blind spot mirrors sticked to the wing mirrors. they are positioned to view downwards so I can see the car park markings and road side double yellow lines :p

To reduce blindspots, you got to be more aware of your surroundings by frequent checking of the mirrors.

If you are on the third lane and another car is on the first lane at the same distance, lets say both of you changing to second lane at the same time, if both dont check, then will langa wad, unless the side of your vision is sharp.