The01 Neutral Newbie May 2, 2006 Share May 2, 2006 It is a good habit to turn your head to check blindspot. Me even worst, I don't even trust the mirrors when I park my car! Good habits die hard ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tploh Clutched May 2, 2006 Share May 2, 2006 No. But those curved mirror ( e.g. Waja ) helps. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Parkingidiot 1st Gear May 2, 2006 Share May 2, 2006 U will not eliminate blind spots completely but U sure can reduce the amount of blind spots.Take a look at the attached powerpoint presentataion. I'm practising it and it's good for me. Bascially, U'll need to purchase a longer rear view mirror and turn Ur side mirror. This way, as a vehicle leaves Ur veiw thru the rear view mirror, it'll shows up in Ur side mirror. hmm....interesting theory - will try out readjusting the side mirrors today and see the effect. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ldawn88 2nd Gear May 2, 2006 Share May 2, 2006 Don't think how no matter how I adjust my mirror to 'feel' safe... I think I will still prefer to have blind spot mirrors installed. I think i am worse. I dun even trust blindspot mirror. I always turn my head to check blind spot. The blindspot mirror only helps me during parking so that i can align my car straight. yup! I also make use if tge blindspot mirror for parking too . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wbucket Clutched May 2, 2006 Share May 2, 2006 From the drawing of the pictures, the car can still hide inside the blind spot region if it is far enough, or small enough as in small cars or motors. So this isn't actually a way to adjust your mirrors to totally eliminate blind spot. Secondly, you might want to change a bit of the wordings. It is meant for left-hand drive cars, not right-hand drives like ours. Some readers might can confused. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lanceteo Neutral Newbie May 2, 2006 Share May 2, 2006 definately disagree! whn our instructor says look over ur shoulder thers a reason to it and the blind spot needs to be checked to ensure its safe for lane changing turning etc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lanceteo Neutral Newbie May 2, 2006 Share May 2, 2006 yes.. i agree with u completely! far enuff small enuff is correct! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wbucket Clutched May 2, 2006 Share May 2, 2006 Just to share. Driving a small car like mine, the blind spot should have been smaller because of the shorter car lenght and I also used a longer rear mirror. But I have encounter 2L cars completely hidding in my blind spot, only notice them when they horn me. Lucky me I learn my lesson before any accident happen, my other friends isn't as lucky. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Parkingidiot 1st Gear May 4, 2006 Share May 4, 2006 U will not eliminate blind spots completely but U sure can reduce the amount of blind spots.Take a look at the attached powerpoint presentataion. I'm practising it and it's good for me. Bascially, U'll need to purchase a longer rear view mirror and turn Ur side mirror. This way, as a vehicle leaves Ur veiw thru the rear view mirror, it'll shows up in Ur side mirror. hmm....interesting theory - will try out readjusting the side mirrors today and see the effect. Ok.. I have adjusted the mirrors as suggested and driven about for past 2 days - great improvement, sia!! Much less blind spot to worry about, and a quick flick of the eyes to the sides covers the rest - not need to look over shoulder liao - the mirrors cover the rear blind spots. Only problem is during parking - since the side mirrors not covering the car body, harder to estimate the parking (not impossible, but harder) - so need to be extra careful - or adjust the mirrors back during parking (though this is quite troublesome - so I prefer to retrain the parking with the mirrors like that). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lonewolf Neutral Newbie May 4, 2006 Share May 4, 2006 prob with having that for many ppl is that it makes you look more 'noobie'... like u juz passed from parking school Well I rather looks 'noobie' rather than be involved in an avoidable accident. Driving on the road is about being a safe and considerate drivers. A lot of drivers get into accidents because of similiar 'ego' issues. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged May 4, 2006 Share May 4, 2006 The blind spot will always be there unless you fix those 'blind spot' mirrors. I for one almost never check blind spot when changing lanes because I'm always aware of my surrounding. I check my rearview mirror and side mirrors every few seconds when the traffic is heavy. You don't really have to check the blind spot if the road ahead is totally clear and you're about to change lane. Makes absolute sense eh? But please don't follow my way of driving unless you're totally comfortable. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stivo Neutral Newbie May 4, 2006 Share May 4, 2006 they will not be called blind spots if you can see them!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thug Clutched May 4, 2006 Share May 4, 2006 As long as mirrors r concern...there tend to haf blind spot Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lucien Neutral Newbie May 4, 2006 Share May 4, 2006 its imposible not to have no blind spot. Unless ur eye dun have blind spot. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lucien Neutral Newbie May 4, 2006 Share May 4, 2006 promoting accidental campaign? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robin 4th Gear May 4, 2006 Share May 4, 2006 Think that there are no need for blind spot mirrors actually if the can adjust your side mirrors correctly and adjust your driving style to always look at both the rear and side mirrors. Also read about it somewhere before. Agree? think not.. when i filter into an expressway i make it a point to turn my head to check blind spot cause got once i could not see a car filtering out Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lucien Neutral Newbie May 4, 2006 Share May 4, 2006 Ur eye got blind spot. which also contribute to blindness in driving. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robin 4th Gear May 4, 2006 Share May 4, 2006 good info... will try tonight ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...