AVEO5

Vass

Hi All Aveo owner,

I'm considering getting an AVEO5 (hatch) would like to get some comment from current AVEO5 owner. (have browse thru the past thread but still unable to decide).

Was at Alpine road show & was quoted 1.4AT @ $46988. Now got offer, $1k less & comes with leather seat,single disc mp3,13'sport rims+ reverse sensor& rear spoiler..

SE told me this is a face lift version and that it now comes with ABS, EBD..

Is this true ? u mean the earlier bacth of AVEO does come with ABS & EDB ? Also notice the auto gear shift is the zig zag type unlike other make that are "straight line" any problem with this type of gear shift ?

They also told me that AVEO is using an OPEL engine with a toyota gear box ????

HOpe to get some feebback from AVEO5 owner, thank you.

I hv got my Aveo5 for 1 month plus and hv these comments for this car:

Plus Points:

1) A very good deal for a budget 1.4L as compared to others (read Kia and Hyundai). Got ABS and EBD and airbag - no complain liao; [flowerface]

2) Quite sturdy in handling;

3) Have a high chassis to ground clearance - esp good if u cannot slow down in time for humps [rolleyes];

4) Highest speed among same class of cars (~170km/h). although I nvr hv the chance to try this out yet [sly] ;

5) Acceptable FC avg ~11 to 12km/l. I hv done 13.5km/l by practicing lvl 99 Qing-Gong on my right foot but gave up after kena ankle cramp .... [:p]

7) 16 valve DOHC Engine

8) Looks small on the outside but once u get in, its a different story [thumbsup]

9) Sporty looking lil' car. Looks better if u install bodykit but I prefer not to since bodykit might break the streamline shape and cause bigger air resistance. Also very easy to kena kerbs and humps since these kits reduces the avg chassis to ground clearance.

10) A very helpful user forum at mcf and at www.teamchevysg.com

Some Bad Points:

1) Slow pickup from stationary (not too slow lah...maybe coz I'm a bit of a cheongster initially but the car is quite zippy once u get to 60km/h and above. Have since learnt to take it easy when driving this car [:p] );

2) Bigger blindspot due to the bigger A-Frame (the right bar that is holding the front windscreen) and higher driver seat. U'll need to spend on blindspot mirrors unless u can use the Force to sense the traffic around u. OK lah, these gadgets are cheap and a good investment for safety)

3) Forget it if u wanna cheong or perform initial-D stunts on the road.

Btw, u might wanna look at the newer Aveo. Saw it once and the interior is superb [thumbsup][thumbsup] . Heard that it got some other small gadgets that Aveo5 dun hv. However it only somes in the sedan variation and the look is abit "Ah-Pek"...macam like a minaturised "Big Head" cefiro (that nissan model with that ugly front grill that spans from left to right of the front bumper....I'll be flamed for this [whip] )

Just my 2 cents worth.

Thank you for your detail comments....really appreciate.

So is your AT or MT & which dealer you got it from SA or AM?

Infact I went to test the car yesterday. It was raining and was able to test the brakes-no complain. Overall quite satisfied.

Jus one issue, so do you need to slam the hatch to close it ? b'cos after test drive, I opened to look at the boot area & tried closing it gently (initially) wun lock , tried several times (each time with more force) still cannot. SE came & slam the hatch until the licence plate also vibrate. SE said that particular test unit got problem only! noy sure true or not leh....

But other than that, somehow still feel like getting this car as cmpared to other makes.

ask for 14" rim or even 15" rim... solar film leh???... disc changer... tuff kote....

some of the items u can try asking from SE...

Mine is an AT. Wanna get a MT but was "persuaded" out of it by others. I got it from SA since they are on Leng Kee when I was shopping for a car and dunno that AM is also "the other home of Chevrolet" yet. Was actually wanting to get a Yaris, Sirion, Getz or Picanto but ended up with a Chevy [laugh] (this brand never even cross my mind b4). Bought it from a pretty young lass in the showroom [:p]

There is no prob with the hatch of my ride. The only thing is that it actually opens higher than most other h/b and u might need to pull it down a bit b4 using normal strength to close it (no excessive show of force please [laugh] )

Hi Gilamesh,

Thanks for your comments, so it seem that the hatch thingy is not a common 'fault' by design & probably the test unit was indeed faulty as wat the SE mentioned.

me thinking of getting Aveo5 too... but why manual no good??... also according to LTA pricelist, Aveo5 comes both with or without airbag.... or is there only one standard type - i.e. only with airbag?

Normally MT have better FC than AT. Manual Aveo drivers reportedly scoring 12 km/l while Auto aveo only hits 10 to 11km/l. However, it might be easier to sell off your AT car rather than a MT one since the market for AT is greater. It all depends on what u like eventually. Personally, for greater control wise, I prefer a manual while for comfort and ease of driving wise, I'll get the auto version.

Aveo5 comes with or without airbag, with a diff of abt $1k. The non airbag version comes in a greater varierty of colors but then again u might wanna consider safety and the ease of resell also. [cool]

Is it even possible to get a bodykit for aveo in singapore?

any recommends?

cause am getting an aveo 5dr AT soon too.

Got! Sure have but the only issue is whether u like the design or not. There is one at www.sgbodykits.com (something like dat... [idea] ). U might wanna visit www.teamchevysg.com and search the forum there. I found one that cost ard SGD750, incl spray 2 mths ago.

I just recently bought a Aveo 5 Auto from Alpine Motors. After comparing the package offered by Star Auto, the one offered by Alpine was better. Managed to get 1k off the list price plus some freebies like solar film and reverse sensors. Is this a good deal? I also managed to get a very high trade in price for my Lancer. If anyone is interested in my deal, pls PM me and I will pass you my SE contact. He's a good friend of my brother.

Can you give your SE No. I got intention to buy Aveo 5.

Best Regards

He already given me a good price so I never push him for more freebies or cash. Never thought about the commission part, maybe should ask my brother to ask him. Hee Hee Hee.... Anyway as long as everyone gets a good deal can liao. :D

Edited by Avalanche