Balacam Neutral Newbie April 28, 2006 Share April 28, 2006 (edited) Hi I need help here. Recently I installed ICE and I encounter some problem. I am using 2 ch from my amp to drive the front speakers and the other 2 ch bridged to drive the subwoofer. the rear speakers are run by the head unit. My headunit is able to select 40 or 80Hz for the subwoofer output. Does a system or a subwoofer need more power when the frequency is at 80Hz compared to 40Hz? so far I have no problem at 40 Hz but if I set to 80 Hz, sometimes the front and subwoofer get cut off with only sound coming form rear speakers. Is it due to lack of power from my amp? which do you think will help? e.g. 1)change the headunit 2)change the amp 3)add capacitor 4)add voltage stabilizer 5)others by the way, what frequency do you prefer and why? I prefer 80Hz because I like its sound effect when playing with ministry of sound kind of music Edited April 28, 2006 by Balacam ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slonez Clutched April 28, 2006 Share April 28, 2006 Hi, Can't tell for sure what's exactly your problem but it looks like your amp goes into protection mode when you set the LPF to 80Hz. I suggest you check to see if your amp is suitable for your sub (impedence & power rating) in bridged mode. If you push the amp to perform in excess of what its been designed for, it will clip. There could be other reasons but you need to verify that the amp & sub are working within their designed operating perimeters. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sarong1 1st Gear April 28, 2006 Share April 28, 2006 Hi, you have an interesting encounter that I heard of the first time. Now, to help us sense your predicament better, you may want to share with us what are your list of system. The best is to consult sinseh...in this case, I know of a place where there are some nice sinseh around..they normally perform magic at Nasi Padang on every Weds. What is more interesting is that, they dun charge you a single cent at all. But then, for subwoofer, I will normally play with LPF of about 63Hz and below. Too low is also ineffective, depending on your front speakers ability to go low. If you like MOS, which is also my taste, 80Hz is a good range to work on...the bass is punchy, energised, you feel it hard, banging on you. oops... :x Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Twnll 1st Gear April 28, 2006 Share April 28, 2006 Sarong kenna bang at last! hahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_z 1st Gear April 28, 2006 Share April 28, 2006 What amp are u using? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darkness Neutral Newbie April 28, 2006 Share April 28, 2006 Hi there Just to piggy back on this issue... since some amps have LPF and HPF, is there a difference bet using the HU to set the filters vs. using the amps' filters itself? Thanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slonez Clutched April 28, 2006 Share April 28, 2006 (edited) Hi, Have not seen you for some time . Assuming that the filters on the HU & amp are reasonably accurate, then there are no diff whether you use the ones on the HU or amp. Look at the crossover freq & slope available on both the HU & amp, it is possible that one of them offer you more choices so you have more control over the sound. If they are the same then I prefer to use the one on the HU cos its easier to access. Edited April 28, 2006 by Slonez Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darkness Neutral Newbie April 28, 2006 Share April 28, 2006 Thanks for your reply. Yeah. Exams just ended Been super busy Will be there this coming Wed Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Balacam Neutral Newbie April 28, 2006 Author Share April 28, 2006 thanks for all the replies I really do not know the specifications of my stuff. I try my best to reuse the old stuff that I have in my old car. I transferred Dayton headunit, cd changer, enzer amp, 5" jbl speakers to my new vehicle. I bought new oz component speakers for the front, and 10" Dayton subwoofer. if I find that i cannot use any one of them, then I will replace. e.g. 1)change the headunit 2)change the amp 3)add capacitor 4)add voltage stabilizer 5)others so far the indications to me is the amplifier Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Airlesy Clutched April 28, 2006 Share April 28, 2006 set the amp at LPF for sub and speakers to HPF or LPF, then adjust the amps to allow the highest freq to produce, then use the HU to control the cut-off freq, like tat better to access. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Airlesy Clutched April 28, 2006 Share April 28, 2006 volt stab and cap should be install especially if u r driving auto car. wait low batt, gone liao. 80hz, veri gd for music like MOS/techno/trance. but i set my at 63hz with 80hz at -4db so will be abit clearer. i use HU eq to boost 40hz, sometimes boost at 50hz,hehe. so lower bass cums in, the feeling is more song. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darkness Neutral Newbie April 28, 2006 Share April 28, 2006 thanks man Ya that way still can control from HU while the upper and lower limits are set at the hardware itself Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ae86 Neutral Newbie April 28, 2006 Share April 28, 2006 Does the 2 bridged channels have a sub woofer switch? Are the gains of the amp set correctly?To adjust the gain you have to turn all the gains of all the amps channels to the lowest, turn off the loudness, bass and treble boost switch in your hu then turn up the volume of the hu to 2/3 of its full volume then slowly increase the gains of your amp 2ch for the front until the sound starts to distort and then turn the gain back down so that the sound will not distort and do the same to the other 2 channels for the sub.Ithink it is best to disconnect the rear speakers before you set the volume of your hu to 2/3 the maximum volume as the sound is controlled by the hu, the high volume may blow the rear speakers.After the gains r set, turn the volume of your hu down to minimum and turn the loudness on and bring up the volume. Hope that the amp will not clip.40 hz will cause alot of vibrations but not much punch 80 hz =punch + lesser rumbling. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear April 28, 2006 Share April 28, 2006 (edited) hihi, this is my opinion on ur situation: when the amp clips, i think u have to play with ur gain settings. i tink AE86 has said something abt it. your sub should be a single voice coil 4 ohm sub, thus there shouldnt be any impedence problem. as for ur list of things to change, here's my opinion on them 1) HU no need to change. 2) change the amp as the amp maybe under powered, just giving u problems or just cannot handle the vols u play at. 3) from what i see, this is a low powered system. no need for caps 4) volt stab: if ur car is auto, u can add volt stab for ur other functions other than ICE. but to add volt stab for ICE, for ur setup, its not needed as for the frequency, listening to trance and house, my opinion is to listen to how it sounds like on various frequencies. what some pple might say may not sound nice on trance. so just trial and error lah. cheers. Edited April 28, 2006 by Headshok Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slonez Clutched April 29, 2006 Share April 29, 2006 thanks for all the replies I really do not know the specifications of my stuff. I try my best to reuse the old stuff that I have in my old car. I transferred Dayton headunit, cd changer, enzer amp, 5" jbl speakers to my new vehicle. I bought new oz component speakers for the front, and 10" Dayton subwoofer. if I find that i cannot use any one of them, then I will replace. e.g. 1)change the headunit 2)change the amp 3)add capacitor 4)add voltage stabilizer 5)others so far the indications to me is the amplifier Hi, You using OZ components too . Looking at your equipment list, it seems most likely to be amp issue. But before you replaced it, you need to know the specs of your sub so you can find a suitable replacement. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Balacam Neutral Newbie April 29, 2006 Author Share April 29, 2006 Thanks to all the replies, I really appreciate it I am convinced now that this is low powered system, so its not comparable to those more expensive system. I did not spend much on mine and I will continue with it at least for the moment. However I will still get a voltage stabilizer. If I want upgrade, I will change the amp and the subwoofer in the future. I hope one day to see you people and know you in person. Regards Richard Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear April 30, 2006 Share April 30, 2006 yo man, have fun with ur ICE.. we have a regular meetup on wednesdays.. do drop by lah... also, if u are gettin a VS solely for ur ICE, it wont do much.. but if its for ur car performance and stuff.. then get it. hehe.. have fun mna! cheers1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darkness Neutral Newbie April 30, 2006 Share April 30, 2006 Save the VS money. If you must and ur car is old ie 3 yrs+ then try grounding. New car the wires still new so stray currents etc lesser And don't worry abt ur system not being high end. Some ICE guru once told me "everyone starts somewhere" Once the poison kicks in u will want more haha A very very fun but super expensive hobby ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...