Studio 12

The01

Have done some readings on JW and other products (missed Menzerna). Many users have confirmed the ease of use (application) and thus the choice.

As I've said b4 I really have no idea which one is better. As long as it is easy to apply and give the shine, I've no complain [nod] Cheers!

Since you asked, maybe I should let u know that despite the rain the past couple of days since my last application of JW on Sunday (7May), the shine still looks ok to me just now.

Bro The01 kena posion by you, went down to Studio 12 after seeing your posting [laugh] .

After seeing the feedback here so went down to check with them which is better, JW or Menzerna. They told me it is actually very personnal and so far none of the customers have complained about either JW or Menzerna. I still cannot make up my mind base on the remark so I requested them to do 2 small section on my car bonnet with these 2 systems comparing side by side, on condition that I will take up the 1 time detailing session with them. Btw JW system $150 and Menzerna system $200.

So I decided to go for it. First they wash and clay my car, after drying the car they started working on the 2 small sections for me to compare. I noticed the side using Menzerna system seems to involve more steps as compare to the JW system. That might explains why the Menzerna system cost more and in my heart I was thinking definately the side with Menzerna system will look and feel better liao.

After it was done, I drove the car out into the sun and try to compare the difference. After looking left and right, up and down, still cannot see much difference between the 2 systems, maybe I new bird cannot see the difference [:p] . Next come the touch test, both side felt very slick but I do notice some difference when I run my finger across the 2 areas. The JW side actually felt 'thicker'(that's what the boss told me), I mean you can actually feel the sealant on the surface of the paint.

In the end I chose the JW system, since both looks and feels almost the same than I see not point paying more for the Menzerna system. In the end the car turned out great, the workmanship is good and the boss is a very friendly guy, overall a very pleasant experience [thumbsup] .

Paiseh the posting is a bit long, for those who have trouble deciding which system to go for, hopefully my little feedback can be of some help. But must say first, the feedback is based on my own observation, if anyone has different result don't scold me please [sweatdrop][laugh] .

Hi Pentiumv, glad that you like the job done by St 12. So do you intend to DIY to maintain your babe?

btw whos the boss at studio 12 commonwealth and who does the job ? cos i understand that the commonwealth branch in charge is herman.

i read in a detailing website that says that menzerna is resistant to wind abrasion - like small stones wont scratch your car when u travelling thats y i thought menzerna is better conceptually. but basically i should think that menzerna shd be better cos of the various prep levels like removal of scrathes , filler n gloss enhancer n stronger sealant. rather than JW which uses onli 2, prime which is like n AIO. i guess i need to see it n try it out before verifying these logics.

its like put in more ingredients to make the soup tastier. put limited ingredients n it like tste blend. :D

I do think tat Menzerna give better protection. I have been hit by crow sxxt and dun know how long it has been cooked on bonnet. Use FPII with some water and the stain marks was removed with an ease after car wash. Actually I was quite tempted to switch to JW as 1 of the bro here mention that JW feel thicker which make me [bounce1] . Feel like giving a try ....

take a look at this page :

http://www.properautocare.com/menzernafmj.html

Pro: A very rich, liquid shine that compliments any color vehicle

Pro: Excellent, slippery feel.

Pro: Great water sheeting ability minimizes water spots.

Pro: It lasts! Wash after wash and month after month!

Pro: Excellent protection from abrasion, salt air, salt water

etching, atmospheric contamination and weathering.

Pro: Can be layered to increase depth of shine.

Con: Requires a polish prior to first time application for best results.

Con: Can be hard to buff off if applied to a hot surface.

Regarding the JW AJ feeling "thick" (no offence)i feel its varies from people as i feel its really hard to guage jus by feeling n seeing as it can be quite deceiving. unless we do a measurement of the thickness before n after application.

Edited by Snowball

Please allow me to share some information on this aspect [:p]

but basically i should think that menzerna shd be better cos of the various prep levels like removal of scrathes , filler n gloss enhancer n stronger sealant. rather than JW which uses onli 2, prime which is like n AIO.

Regarding the removal of scratches that is consider a polishing or a defect removal process, even when using JW system I will also need to use other brand polishing products to achieve the same result. So basically not much different whether it is Menzerna system or JW system.

The next 2 steps involved I believe is as follow,

Menzerna : FTG -> FMJ

JW : Prime -> AJ

FTG, extracted from properautocare,

"Menzerna Finishing Touch Glaze is a water-based emulsion of glycerin, mineral oils and Kaolin (China Clay). Wetting oils create the liquid, shimmer of fresh paint while Kaolin clays fill and mask minor swirls and imperfections."

Prime,

"The formula builds on the exceptional protective qualities of the exclusive German polyethylene-acrylic nano-scale polymers by incorporating surface cleaners that prep the paint to create an exceptionally smooth surface to which the protective materials can bond."

As mentioned above, both products serve a totally different purpose, one mainly to beautify whereas the other to enhace the sealant bonding.

AS for the sealant, FMJ or AJ, I believe the choice is left to the consumers, as I mentioned before "one man's meat is another man's posion". Cheers [thumbsup].

Btw so far I have not come across any sealant that can prevent stone chips or scratches, the best way to prevent that is to install clear bra to the whole car [sweatdrop] .

Edited by Gen2

Hi Snowball,

Jonathan and Peng Yang are in charge of Commonwealth and AMK outlets respectively. Herman is our staff.

BTW, no products that we know of offer scratch resistance as you have described. Therefore, we advise that you manage your expectation against these kinds of claims.

Edited by Studio12

so it's $150 to $200 huh?

Hmm... feel like doing my old coe car leh.. paint very dull le, of cos i don't expect it to be like those new car paint.

How long will it last? any idea?

who did the car for u peng yang , johnathan or herman ?

It was done by Peng Yang in the morning and finished off by collecting at abt noon from Jonathan with maintenance and application instructions - I think I got the best of both world, so to speak [laugh][laugh][laugh]

BTW, the Si-fu of Detailing have spoken - it is crystal clear now which is the better "material" for the job. I'll stick to JW and you, yours (whatever you think best)[nod] Many thnx Guys.

Hi Pentiumv, glad that you like the job done by St 12. So do you intend to DIY to maintain your babe?

Sorry for the late reply, past few days very busy don even have time to log on [sweatdrop][laugh] .

Yes I do like the job done by Studio 12 and I also bought the DIY kit to maintain my ride after the grooming session. Managed to apply 1 coat of Trigger last weekend, all I can say is Trigger is so easy to use, much easier than all the previous wax and sealant I have used [thumbsup] . Almost cannot believe something so simple to use can give such great result [:)]. Got to thank you for the review you posted, otherwise would not have gone to Studio 12 [nod] .

Wow bro Gen2 thanks for answering bro Snowball on my behalf [;)] , his question very 'deep' I also do not know how to answer. The information you posted sure clear up some of the doubts I have [:p] .

Hi bro Kazuo, I have no idea how long the effect will last but according to Peng Yang if I do my regular maintenance with Trigger, the shine will last very long. So for now I think I just got to take his words for it [sweatdrop][laugh] .

as long as regular maintenance are efforted, the "like new" car shine will always be there, be it trigger or other sealant/detailing products.

the key is maintenace. jus like yr engine. its need regular oil changes/servicing. [thumbsup]

Can i check with you what are the layers that you would apply for JW ?

(1) Wash

(2) Clay

(3) Prime

(4) AJ (? X)

(5) AG (? X)

(1) Wash

(2) Clay

(3) Intensive Polish if necessary

(4) Final Polish (x2 if necessary)

(3) Prime (Allow 1/2 hour to cure before buffing)

(4) AJ (2 layers, allowing 1/2 hour to cure between subsequent layers)

Edited by Studio12