Mondeo Neutral Newbie May 24, 2002 Share May 24, 2002 I meant filter and cleaning kit. $120 is a tad high considering the filter can be gotten for about $90 and the kit at $20. $100 is a good price to offer. Just went to McWell Auto Venture just now, he said for the Focus, it would be $80 for 5 pieces. Sounds like a good price to me. That doesnt include the cleaning(lifetime apparently). Initially it was quoted at $98 for one piece. The $80 price is for 5 pieces and no cleaning. Is that reasonable? Must check the model number whether is for your Focus. (diff yr diff model #!) Mcw told me new mondeo and old are same sharing the filter model #, but actully not. total diff! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magfocus 5th Gear May 24, 2002 Share May 24, 2002 Yes its for our focus, cos they had an actual example there and there is no previous focus!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mondeo Neutral Newbie May 24, 2002 Share May 24, 2002 Good, $80 should be good price. (when buying, do check the origin, since Taiwan got imitation K&N) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magfocus 5th Gear May 24, 2002 Share May 24, 2002 Yeah thanks! Would keep that in mind, now waiting for the Focus people to signal their interest! [angelic] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie May 24, 2002 Share May 24, 2002 Just went to McWell Auto Venture just now, he said for the Focus, it would be $80 for 5 pieces. Sounds like a good price to me. That doesnt include the cleaning(lifetime apparently). Initially it was quoted at $98 for one piece. The $80 price is for 5 pieces and no cleaning. Is that reasonable? U mean $80 if U get 5pcs? Cleaning kit not absolutely necessary, just need the oil and it's $10. Cleaning can be done with shampoo (yes, it's true!) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie May 24, 2002 Share May 24, 2002 Yeah thanks! Would keep that in mind, now waiting for the Focus people to signal their interest! [angelic] Try calling Cartronics and Speedworks for a quote as well Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magfocus 5th Gear May 24, 2002 Share May 24, 2002 Just went to McWell Auto Venture just now, he said for the Focus, it would be $80 for 5 pieces. Sounds like a good price to me. That doesnt include the cleaning(lifetime apparently). Initially it was quoted at $98 for one piece. The $80 price is for 5 pieces and no cleaning. Is that reasonable? U mean $80 if U get 5pcs? Cleaning kit not absolutely necessary, just need the oil and it's $10. Cleaning can be done with shampoo (yes, it's true!) Yes $80 for a group buy of 5 pcs. Thats y i requested for a quote without cleaning cos i have done it before, easy lah.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie May 24, 2002 Share May 24, 2002 Yes $80 for a group buy of 5 pcs. Thats y i requested for a quote without cleaning cos i have done it before, easy lah.. That's a good deal, so tomorrow going to chio Focus owners? how much is the stock air filter? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magfocus 5th Gear May 24, 2002 Share May 24, 2002 Yeah gonna tell them, should be able to get at least 5 people [angelic] Stock one less but might as well get a K&N right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mamacorona Neutral Newbie June 1, 2002 Share June 1, 2002 Wow!! Corolla GLi can hit 170km/h... is this the top speed limit? means that u can't go further or u can still go faster?!! Hey TB.... new record.... my Corona can hit 200km/h... maximum liao.... Your Corona can hit 200 km/h??????? NS highway or Singapore? You driving a AT(1.6) or ST(2.0)? Auto or manual? Sorry for the questions but 200 km/h is quite fast. Curious, your car stock or modded? I struggle to past 170 on my AT190 (A). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear June 1, 2002 Author Share June 1, 2002 Your Corona can hit 200 km/h??????? NS highway or Singapore? You driving a AT(1.6) or ST(2.0)? Auto or manual? Sorry for the questions but 200 km/h is quite fast. Curious, your car stock or modded? I struggle to past 170 on my AT190 (A).[/reply] Yah... i hit 200km/h on NS highway... was trying to chase another car that overtook me.... but apparently.... the car also hit 200km/h..... cos i don't seems to close in on him.... or drifting away as well.... then chase for awhile... sian liao..... then drop back to my normal speed...... 160km/h. I'm driving Corona AT190 GLi 1.6 Auto. Everything stock... except JetRacing cable, plus Denso spark plug & in-line Broquet... that's all. Back then ... i was using stock air filter somemore.... now K&N drop in... after hearing good results from Cool & Lester.... so tempted to mod mine too now. U sure u struggle past 170km/h? The part that i struggled is from 180km/h to 200km/h.... and one thing about Corona (don't know the rest of the model) is that once u hit that speed... it's very easy to maintain it there.... and for Corona AT190.... the rpm is only about 4,000 or 4,500rpm @ 200km/h!! Oh yah.. my tyres & rim is the stock one... 185/65R14 too.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear June 1, 2002 Author Share June 1, 2002 Oh yah... when i hit 200km/h.... i have only myself & gf in the car.... both weight add up is about 110kg to 120kg.... plus things in my boot is about 15kg approx.... so what u think? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear June 1, 2002 Author Share June 1, 2002 Oh ya.... if u got chance to try it again.... perhaps... when u are at 170km/h.... try to release your accelerator and step it hard again.... might help.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic Neutral Newbie June 1, 2002 Share June 1, 2002 I was driving a manual corolla 1.6GLi.. when hit 170km/h I maintain there liao, cause following my friend 4 door pickup up genting ( don';t know the way ) but I think still can go a bit more ... but never try anyway my wife already nagging when I was driving 170.... hehehe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear June 1, 2002 Author Share June 1, 2002 I was driving a manual corolla 1.6GLi.. when hit 170km/h I maintain there liao, cause following my friend 4 door pickup up genting ( don';t know the way ) but I think still can go a bit more ... but never try anyway my wife already nagging when I was driving 170.... hehehe Oic.. not bad.... btw... when i'm at 200km/h...... my gf is sound asleep on the passenger seat..... the next moment she wakes up.... i just say "we are reaching malacca liao".... and she'll say "wah... so fast ah, how fast u were going?".... then i say... "hundred plus"..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mamacorona Neutral Newbie June 3, 2002 Share June 3, 2002 OK, will try to hit 200 when given the chance. I'm running 16" wheels. Maybe that's why huh. My car is also very much stock except for an exhaust that I'll be changing back soon. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear June 3, 2002 Author Share June 3, 2002 OK, will try to hit 200 when given the chance.I'm running 16" wheels. Maybe that's why huh. My car is also very much stock except for an exhaust that I'll be changing back soon. Hmmm..... i ever heard from pple that having a bigger rim will have better top speed.... but in any case.. there's so much variable.... doesn't matter also... but good to know the top speed of your car tho... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mamacorona Neutral Newbie June 4, 2002 Share June 4, 2002 Actually, it all depends on the power of the car. Bigger wheels, 17" for instance, with ZR rated tyres will allow an EVO for example to achieve it's optimum speed rather than if it was running on 14". But the Corona has, well ... hardly any power to speak of... So the stock setup is probably best. We're having an all-Corona meetup tonite. sms me at 9-873-8475 if you wanna join us, most welcome. Cheerio! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...