OPC Registration Duration

Jasper

Today, my Kia Motor SE told me my OPC (Picanto) COE is secured. Paper document will be done tomorrow. But the car collection can only be done at least 12 working days later. Is this the norm? 12 days sounds long to me.

Should be around there. Cos when my sis-in-law got her COE for Picanto, they also said about 10-12 days to collect car. Congrats on your new ride [thumbsup]

10-12 days is about right. My OPC Lancer also waited quite long. It might be bcos they need to inspect and install a seal on the car plate. All OPC car have it both front and back car plate. Just make sure the seal dont get broken....

Wow!!! Another OPC...

The time's about right as they have to install the seal on the license plates...

Remember to get the OPC decal from your Kia SE.

It's really useful and it looks nicer than those on sale.

CONGRATS!!!

hee thanks guys :)

i felt better now. today's COE Cat A same as previous month.

also sounds funny. COE end at 4pm. my sales exe call me at 2.30pm say coe secure liao.

anybody to look for for original picanto parts? fog lamp, boot cover, spoiler, skirting etc? kia giving the .... can't remember what 3rd party one.....

Bro,

One thing, try to get your SE to fix one line licence plate instead of 2 line if possible.

My Kia OPC back plate one line, front, freaking two line big red plate #$#@.

Saw quite a few opc cars with single small front plate. Looks nicer lah.

Unlike those normal plates, we cannot change our plates when fixed..

hee thanks guys :)

i felt better now. today's COE Cat A same as previous month.

also sounds funny. COE end at 4pm. my sales exe call me at 2.30pm say coe secure liao.

anybody to look for for original picanto parts? fog lamp, boot cover, spoiler, skirting etc? kia giving the .... can't remember what 3rd party one.....

COE end at 4pm and they already secure for you at 2.30??? Maybe they already roughly know how much the COE will end.

I don't think they guess and take the estimate COE and tell you, during the 'peak" period where everyone is bidding for the COE,it can be like 3:30pm= $500 and 3:49pm=$15000!!! Becaues now is open to bid by everyone, it is difficult to predict. what I believe is they have some left over COE from last round(they just bid but without buyer), and they just give you. If the COE price is lower that their old bidding price, then they will give you the current one, if the bidding price is higher this round, then they will give you the former, this is to ensure they give the better deal to their customer who bought better car from them (ususally non OPC buyer).

anyway, i am an OPC owner too, driving an Lancer.

oic. COE can bid, secure, but dun register and wait few mths?

but anyway, A cat same price as previous round....

Today, my Kia Motor SE told me my OPC (Picanto) COE is secured. Paper document will be done tomorrow. But the car collection can only be done at least 12 working days later. Is this the norm? 12 days sounds long to me.

I don't know about OPC. But I always manage to collect my cars a day after registration. Your car starts depreciating the moment it's registered. It's unimaginable that anyone need 12 days to put the security nut on the red plate. Anything that's needed to prepare the car for delivery should be done before the registration. If they need 12 days to do it, tell them to register the car 12 days later then.

In Reply To
I don't know about OPC. But I always manage to collect my cars a day after registration. Your car starts depreciating the moment it's registered. It's unimaginable that anyone need 12 days to put the security nut on the red plate. Anything that's needed to prepare the car for delivery should be done before the registration. If they need 12 days to do it, tell them to register the car 12 days later then.

To: Jasper

Having 12 days to process for OPC is norm. Registration is usually done just few days before actual delivery, not 12 days advancenod.gif.

You would need some days to clear cheque/payment, prepare paperwork for LTA registration and OPC inspection, while the car is also concurrently prepare for deliverywink.gif.

In any case, OPC need to worry too much on wasting a few days on road tax as if I am not wrong, your (Picanto) one year road tax is $50/-smile.gif.

Congrats on your new ridethumbsup.gif!

Edited by Caaa

The assembly of the security nut is not only for 1 car. As OPC cars r now getting more popular & on the rising demand, they do mass installation of the seals. Thus, it takes abt 2 - 3 days to assemble the seal, go for inspection then back to the dealership [:)] 12 days is roughly the norm but I agree with u tat it's abit too long.

Edited by Atlantis_boi